Customer Reviews


264 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment
I really enjoyed this. It's typical Alan Partridge. Like Mid Morning Matters, it never really hits the heights of his early stuff, i.e. Knowing Me, Knowing You and I'm Alan Partridge, but nevertheless it's still great fun and there are some moments of Partridge gold in there. I hope there'll be more to come.
Published 3 months ago by K. Smith

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you are a fan then maybe get drunk before watching this
No need for a story synopsis but just let me say that I am sorry this film was ever made.

You would think that by adding a ridiculous story line that hilarious comedy would burst forth. Well that never works in Hollywood and it has not worked here.

Alan Partridge certainly is a finely crafted character and is always shown at its finest when in full...
Published 6 months ago by Voituer


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you are a fan then maybe get drunk before watching this, 22 Jan 2014
No need for a story synopsis but just let me say that I am sorry this film was ever made.

You would think that by adding a ridiculous story line that hilarious comedy would burst forth. Well that never works in Hollywood and it has not worked here.

Alan Partridge certainly is a finely crafted character and is always shown at its finest when in full flow against characters that are, well more normal than he.

Here we get to see less of true Partridge and more slapstick and situation comedy.

I for one could not care less about a story line, a week in the life of AP radio dj would have been far superior. Or even a truck siege at Michaels petrol station.

Watch it hopefully you will get more out of it than me.

In this instance less story would have equaled more film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment, 9 April 2014
By 
K. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really enjoyed this. It's typical Alan Partridge. Like Mid Morning Matters, it never really hits the heights of his early stuff, i.e. Knowing Me, Knowing You and I'm Alan Partridge, but nevertheless it's still great fun and there are some moments of Partridge gold in there. I hope there'll be more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars xray yankee zulu, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
partridge is back on the dangerous, formidable streets of norfolk. some great performances and scenes. i honestly couldn't believe how many laughs there were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Alan, you hero.... really...?, 7 Feb 2014
Jeese..... on what planet was it a good idea to make AP an action hero?

I know, lets loose the central character's personality, and then make him the opposite, in this case a cooler dude.

Make it a "wacky" film, you know, slapstick like, revert to tradition, we all love a good british funny film.

Help!! This is bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kiss Its Face, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Alan Partridge is one of the most quotable characters to have been on TV in the past 20 years, but he is not for everyone. Bearing in mind that `Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa' is a film about the character written by Steve Coogan et al. it would be hoped that those watching it would already be familiar with the characters and is oeuvre. This is exactly how I came to watch the film; as a fan of the man, the legend, the jumpers.

In recent years Alan has fallen slightly lower on the celebrity pecking order and is now working at North Norfolk Digital radio station. When the station is taken over by a larger company, not everyone is happy, especially Pat Farrell who is soon let go. Not one to give up easily, Farrell holds the staff of NND hostage and Alan is made to act as his spokesman - what could possibly go wrong?

`Alpha Papa' is classic Alan Partridge. This means that not only is it amongst some of the best work the character has been in, but very much in the same vein. It is true that there are slight diminishing returns from the character and although the film never hits the heady heights of `Knowing Me, Knowing You' and `I'm Alan Partridge' it is still one of the funniest films to have come out in 2013. A comedy film should be funny and this is exactly what `Alpha Papa' achieves. Coogan was at the forefront of a drier sense of, almost kitchen sink, style comedy in the 90s and 2000s, but unlike the too cool `Sightseers', Coogan et al do not forget to put in some jokes.

There is enough comedy on show to entertain both fans of the characters and non-fans. The setup is a cheesy hostage movie, but this acts as a great structure for non-Alan fans to join in. Even with the simplified structure, it is those people who have enjoyed watching Norwich's favourite son over the years who will gain the most from the film. Coogan is excellent and the supporting cast also add plenty. It is good to see a film that has old fashioned farce, but also intelligent writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Norwich returns to normality after a tense time., 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love an engaging witty film which engrosses. It comes as a major relief from the constant baloney showered upon us on a 24/7 basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good film, but not as amusing as I thought it would be. It's more of a wry smile than a laugh out loud comedy. Nevertheless it is fun and worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 13 July 2014
By 
radar (london, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa (DVD)
watchable, coogan does the character justice, definatley a must for a fan of the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Alan Partridge, it's brilliant, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa Steelbook [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
Get it if you haven't already. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ahaaaaa!!!, 11 July 2014
By 
Mr. S. McNeill (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film, if you're a fan of Partridge then you'll enjoy this but the main criticism may be that it just wasn't Partidge enough in places. However, Alan is a awkward and self centred as usual and doesn't disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa Steelbook [Blu-ray + DVD]
27.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews