Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So that's the Chinese dealt with but now the Jerries are playing up!
It is the sign of a great book series when each new episode is better than the last and for me "Invasion: New York" is the best yet. Whether Mr Heppner can keep it up, well I guess we will just have to wait and see. In this book the Chinese take a back seat following the events of the previous book and now, the Germans or rather the German Dominion (GD) take centre stage...
Published 7 months ago by Flipflop

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Invasion books x 4
The world versus the US. Highly unlikely. Pure fantasy and disappointing scenario. UK joins Germany against the special relationship and fighting Canada. No no no. Then the Chinese gets shafted by the Germans! Alternative history maybe but way off line - the yanks are too smart ice age or no ice age. Wasted money on the books. Sorry but too many extreme concepts. I was...
Published 5 months ago by Dai Harrhy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So that's the Chinese dealt with but now the Jerries are playing up!, 21 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invasion: New York (Invasion America Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
It is the sign of a great book series when each new episode is better than the last and for me "Invasion: New York" is the best yet. Whether Mr Heppner can keep it up, well I guess we will just have to wait and see. In this book the Chinese take a back seat following the events of the previous book and now, the Germans or rather the German Dominion (GD) take centre stage. Once again the action is relentless and things are looking grim for the Yanks. This time though the Americans are facing an enemy who is superior not in numbers of men and materiel but in terms of quality, primarily via advanced technology. I personally felt the main characters had more depth but that may of course be simply due to the fact that we are several books into the series now. In terms of negatives, I personally found the idea of the British being part of the GD unrealistic given our stance in two world wars and long standing "special relationship" with our trans-Atlantic cousins but then again, as a Brit, I am of course biased in that regard. In the same vein, the sub plot featuring a Brit character seemed a tad pointless, led nowhere and detracted from the main story line. Mr Heppner - please ensure us Brits are portrayed in a more realistic light in future e.g where plucky Brit characters aren't in league with the Hun and where we come to the rescue of the Americans as we have done many times previously:-) Also, where are the Russians in all this? I may have missed it but I don't think they get so much as a mention. I agree with the other reviewer that you have to suspend disbelief but you usually do with this type of storyline. These points aside I thought this was a rollicking good read and am looking forward to the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not an ugly American, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invasion: New York (Invasion America Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Having read this and the previous books in this series, I obviously have found them a worthwhile read. The writer tells a yarn well, we are brought into the characters world and interested in their fate.
This all requires a big suspension of belief on our part though--there are many very large improbabilities in this scenario.
The biggest one is the decline in American military might over 30 years, and the rise in Chinese (and to a lesser extent German) capabilities. Its just not feasible over such a short timescale. Even now, Chinese military spending is estimated to be no more than one sixth of the US military budget, and they have a lot of catching up to do. European spending is a lot further behind, and the South Americans arent at the races at all. I suspect the author was motivated by the need to keep the US forces equipment sounding familiar.
The other huge improbability is the metamorphosis of the European Union into a new German Reich. This could happen, but not in this timespan, and the sight of brits merrily seving away attacking Canada under the German leadership is just too improbable for words.
Top marks for the writing and characterisation, and I for one will suspend disbelief and read it to the end of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very action oriented, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invasion: New York (Invasion America Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Full of tight action and grand strategy, great to pass a few hours reading about big wars and bigger explosions, and a half decent cast of characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Alt History/Future, 28 Mar 2014
By 
Alan Greening - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invasion: New York (Invasion America Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I really like the alt-history/future genre, but unfortunately many of them are just too unbelievable/naff. This is not the case with the Invasion series, I want more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars yep still enjoying the series....., 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invasion: New York (Invasion America Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
just waiting for the grossly outnumbered United States to somehow win..... its obvious that they will in the end....just how is the question - an enjoyable read nevertheless....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Invasion books x 4, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invasion: New York (Invasion America Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
The world versus the US. Highly unlikely. Pure fantasy and disappointing scenario. UK joins Germany against the special relationship and fighting Canada. No no no. Then the Chinese gets shafted by the Germans! Alternative history maybe but way off line - the yanks are too smart ice age or no ice age. Wasted money on the books. Sorry but too many extreme concepts. I was bored by book 2. Verbiage of the military men was out of Billy Bunter - "gosh look at all those tanks" or words to that effect....weak! He'll they were dying in droves and not a swear word to be heard. Nah not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the latest in an excellent series, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invasion: New York (Invasion America Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Started the first in this series and couldn't stop until I had read them all. The author is an excellent story teller in an inventive world of technological marvel. Waiting anxiously for the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invasion: New York (Invasion America Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
To both Vaughan Hepner and all of his readers

I love this series. I love the characters and I am deeply engrossed in their development throughout the series. This Invasion New York episode is the best of the lot (as long as you have read Alaska,California and Colorado. Vaughan, Please continue to write this series. Don't give up and do anything new.....I won't be happy until the Russian States have engaged with India and the New Gernmany Alliance to invade China.....With the British breaking away brokering a peace deal between China, the USA to rescue a totally subjugated Asia.....Plot twist....plot twist.....Only you can write it Vaughan.

So love this series......... Where are the Africans & Indians by the way? PLEASE KEEP WRITING!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars another good read, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invasion: New York (Invasion America Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Read the first book greatly enjoyed it, second was just as good would love to know more about the background of the dominion. Cannot wait for the next instalment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love of books, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invasion: New York (Invasion America Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Just like his other three books full of action. Brilliant and engrossing reads. I usually have to be prised from my reader to do some work at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews