Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Donkey Kong is back on true form with his best game since the good old SNES days!
I had Donkey Kong 64 which was a 3d platformer made by Rare and it wasn't as enjoyable as Mario 64 or Banjo-Kazooie. Donkey Kong Jungle Beat (Wii) and Donkey Kong: Jungle Climber (Nintendo DS) went back to 2d platforming but some of the old SNES magic was missing still. We now have Retro Studios who did a most excellent job with the Metroid Prime: Trilogy (Nintendo Wii)...
Published 16 months ago by Dragonlord

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Donkey Kong
Bought as a stocking filler. Donkey Kong is a good game. I played it when i was young and my 8yr old son enjoys the challenge now.
Published 13 months ago by leacha


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Donkey Kong is back on true form with his best game since the good old SNES days!, 2 Nov. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo Selects: Donkey Kong Country Returns (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
I had Donkey Kong 64 which was a 3d platformer made by Rare and it wasn't as enjoyable as Mario 64 or Banjo-Kazooie. Donkey Kong Jungle Beat (Wii) and Donkey Kong: Jungle Climber (Nintendo DS) went back to 2d platforming but some of the old SNES magic was missing still. We now have Retro Studios who did a most excellent job with the Metroid Prime: Trilogy (Nintendo Wii) and they have shown their great powers again and given us the best Donkey Kong game since the SNES glory days. Diddy Kong is here to help DK find his missing banana hoard and I must say the varied environments look most impressive indeed. You can play through the game in a fun two player cooperative mode and the excellent barrel cannons are back which can now shoot you way back into the background. Having DK being able to explore the levels in the background gives the game a very rich and detailed look. I also use to love the Mine Cart levels in the old SNES games and they are now back better then ever. Rambi the rhinoceros is back to help our heros on their quest by smashing through walls and finding hidden areas. There is also the mad Rocket Barrel which is a real blast to ride. Each level has the four letters that spell KONG for you to find but if think you are a real pro then try finding all the puzzle pieces. Cranky Kong has his own shop where can buy extra lives or even hire Squawks who will help you locate puzzle pieces. The best item to buy off Cranky is the Map Key which opens the locked path on the map selection screen for a new level. The boss fights are varied and they look awesome too. As I'm a old gamer I find it easier playing Donkey Kong Country Returns by using the Wii Remote by it's self. All we need now is for Nintendo to give us updates of F-Zero and Star Fox and maybe Retro Studios could be given the ropes for their great comebacks too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, Challenging and Charming. This is a real treat for platformer fans., 1 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Nintendo Selects: Donkey Kong Country Returns (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
The original Donkey Kong Country games are very popular games, the disappeared for quite a while, when they came back in the form of Donkey Kong Country Returns, it was an immediate joy to behold. Having played many platform games such as the New Super Mario Bros. series, Kirby's Return to Dreamland, the Sonic the Hedgehog series, I noticed that many developers can't find the line between difficult level design, and cheap level design, especially in the case of New Super Mario Bros. on the DS and games like Sonic the Hedgehog 2006, they then just decide to go for way too easy level design in the case of Kirby's Return to Dreamland, the reason I'm going so deep into this is because Donkey Kong Country Returns, finds the perfect balance between all of this for every level, making level design that will cause you to die many times on your first try, but every death is your fault, and not the game's, and although this can be frustrating at times, there's nothing better than the feeling that you've mastered a stage that you found very difficult on your first try. Graphically, this game is fantastic, it runs at a rock solid 60FPS, and just looks visually stunning, the music is great, and the Boss Fights are just brilliant, this is very much worth the money, and even though it may start out a bit slow, in no time at all you'll be completely hooked to this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased, genuine Wii product, 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Selects: Donkey Kong Country Returns (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
This product is £6 to £7 cheaper than the best selling version, really not sure why the more expensive version is the best selling apart from the number of reviews, this product just needs the reviews, this seems to be a genuine Wii product, we could not work out why this one was cheaper but thought we would give it a go, the boys love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Selects: Donkey Kong Country Returns (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
Bought as a Christmas present and has been thoroughly enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Selects: Donkey Kong Country Returns (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
Good game but keep dying !!! I need to persevere ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Selects: Donkey Kong Country Returns (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
GREAT PRODUCT SUPER FAST DELEVEREY THX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My 12 year old is loving this., 3 Jan. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "Rob" (Buckinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Selects: Donkey Kong Country Returns (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
Good colourful fun. Fast, cheery, challenging, and addictive. I enjoy watching my daughter play this title. It's classic Nintendo, a real throwback to what they do best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nintendo donkey kong for Wii, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Selects: Donkey Kong Country Returns (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
quick on delivery, but i cannot comment on the game as it was for my grandaughter, and she loves it..So it must be good,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Selects: Donkey Kong Country Returns (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
Such fun! Swift delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Selects: Donkey Kong Country Returns (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
Grand son loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nintendo Selects: Donkey Kong Country Returns (Nintendo Wii)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews