Customer Reviews


474 Reviews
5 star:
 (350)
4 star:
 (71)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice piece of kit
great 1tb storage
compact and portable
only need one usb port
works like a charm
fast speed due to the USB 3 connection
Published 13 months ago by stewart

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unresolved issues with Dashboard software
Seagate's Slim portable drive is nicely designed and is certainly slim and light, making it easy to carry around. It's also a smooth shape so fits nicely into pockets etc. It's about the thickness of a smart phone and a little wider. It's not the largest capacity but not long ago, this would have seemed like ample storage for most needs.

It works fine as a drag...
Published on 23 April 2013 by Ripple


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice piece of kit, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate Backup Plus Slim 1TB USB 3.0 Portable 2.5 Inch External Hard Drive for PC and Mac - Blue (Personal Computers)
great 1tb storage
compact and portable
only need one usb port
works like a charm
fast speed due to the USB 3 connection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality drive, 20 Feb. 2014
By 
Bluey1976 (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have owned a few of these drives and they never fail to impress. They are nearly silent and come with some pretty useful software which will show you in great detail, how to use this drive, making the most of its features. Like the fact that the drive enters a sleep mode after a certain period to conserve electricity, this does not affect performance though as it quickly spins back to life once it is needed. I guess its hard to stand out in the world of hard drive production although this works fantastically well and has not given me a single problem, very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compact, quiet, good speed, 21 Feb. 2014
By 
Neil - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've used this HDD on both Windows and Mac computers, it's preformatted to be used on both which is good:
- nice design, plastic body with a metallic appearance
- works with USB 2 and USB 3, the cable is included; the HDD is plug and play
- note that the cable is the same as supplied with WD drives, USB at one end and what looks like SATA at the other (not micro-USB)
- the device is powered by the USB cable therefore no additional power cables needed
- very small and quiet unit, easily transportable and build quality feels good
- there's an LED on top which indicates it's powered, but nothing to show it's being accessed (read/write), which I feel is a major let down
- it's slimmer than other drives (e.g. WD) of the same size
- at it's current price of 56GBP, I think it's a bargain
- it does come with software already installed on the HDD (for backing up, etc.) but you don't need to install it which is a huge benefit in my view.

I use this HDD as a backup drive but it'll work just as well as a portable storage unit. Overall I'm really pleased with it and would definitely recommend it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 'No Nonsense' review of the Seagate 500gb USB 3.0 HDD., 22 May 2014
By 
J. "Jay" (Worcestershire. UK) - See all my reviews
I am very impressed with this portable hard drive.
It has MORE than enough storage for ALL of My family movies and pictures.
(I have over 128gb's of family movies, pictures, and other media)

These slim drives can come in two storage sizes that I know of.
500gb and 1TB sizes, depending on your needs and preferences.

It is very quiet/silent whilst in use, with no clicking or whirring sounds.
The read and write speeds are very fast and efficient, which comes down to it's fast USB 3.0 connector cable, which is supplied in the box, with the hard drive and instruction manual/s.
It is backwards-compatible with older computers and Mac's with USB 2.0 ports.

This hard drive comes with pre-loaded software, to enable you to back up files on your PC, via Seagate's own 'dashboard' software.
I didn't have to use this, as I've always been one to simply 'drag and drop' or 'highlight and move' files to the hard drive itself.

The product is well packaged, so it doesn't suffer any bumps, knocks or shocks.
It's well-built, solid, and has a brushed, smooth metal surface, with a smooth, plastic underside in black.
There are no sharp edges or screw holes that I have seen.

This is a super-portable drive, that fits snuggly and comfortably into a breast pocket, jacket pocket, or trouser pocket, without causing discomfort.

The hard drive that I bought, came with 2 years manufacturer's warranty, which I am very pleased about.

Overall, I HIGHLY recommend this to you all.
You won't be disappointed.

Thanks for reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great price for a 2tb PS4 hard disc swap- and a 500gb portable hard drive included as well!, 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seems to work flawlessly in the PS4.

Carefully prize the drive case open (I started at one corner with a small screwdriver, there are three clips down either side and two at the bottom) and you can get it open with only minor damage along the join. You can then simply slot your old 500gb PS4 drive in here, so the added bonus of another portable drive- all at much less cost than buying the Samsung drive that is in here as a stand alone drive (around a £25 saving).

Make sure your PS4 is updated to the latest firmware before you start.

Go to Sony's website and download the firmware, put it on a USB stick making sure you follow the instructions in terms of putting it in 2 folders (correctly named in capitals) on the USB.

Back up all your saved game data either to a separate USB or PSN if you are a member.

Slide the shiny top off the PS4. Unscrew the device caddy and the drive (easy). Take the drive from the Seagate, remove the silver foil and pull off the clip on device interface on the end of the drive and screw in the caddy. Slide back into PS4.

Start up PS4. I got a screen saying Safe mode, simply make sure the PS4 controller is connected to PS4 via USB lead and plug in USB. Click OK to reinstall firmware. All starts up on its own.

Then sign into PSN using usual settings, and your profile is back on the PS4. You can re download all software previously paid for no problem just click download. Install all disc games.

Then go into application data management in menu, and either copy your saved game data from your USB stick, or from PSN.

All done, now nearly 1800GB of space on the disc, for a very good price and if you were careful pulling the case apart, a 500gb portable HD to boot. The PS4 hard disc, simply clip on the interface, wrap the silver foil back around and push into the external HD case, it clicks in, and click the top back on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for XB1, 11 Oct. 2014
By 
Ibrahim (London, North London, Tottenham) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great hard drive so far it's used for my Xbox one. Increases load times and is small so not too noticeable beside my console. Usb powered which is a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unresolved issues with Dashboard software, 23 April 2013
By 
Ripple (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Seagate's Slim portable drive is nicely designed and is certainly slim and light, making it easy to carry around. It's also a smooth shape so fits nicely into pockets etc. It's about the thickness of a smart phone and a little wider. It's not the largest capacity but not long ago, this would have seemed like ample storage for most needs.

It works fine as a drag and drop store for files, BUT critically for me, I have not managed to get the on board software to work. Let me stress that this isn't essential and you can still use it as a drag and drop drive, but I was specifically looking for the benefits of the on board software to allow computer back up and to explore some of the social media back up options.

The software is there but when I try to install it, it says "unable to locate probably due to download interruption". And yet no download is involved. I'm running Win 7 and also turned off AV software before attempting this. So, onto the Seagate web site. There are several other posts with the same problem, several of them three or more months old, with no response from the Seagate moderators. There is an option to download the software though, so I tried that with exactly the same result. So the main reason I wanted this drive is completely ineffective. Clearly for some, the software works fine, so it must be something with my set up, although I have never had an issue with drive software installations prior to this. What irks most is the lack of response from Seagate to what is clearly an issue for more than a few. All the troubleshooting assumes you have loaded the software - no mention of when it fails to install at all.

Although I'm disappointed and annoyed enough to grade this as a 2 star review, the fact is that it still has functionality albeit just not what I wanted it for and which it claims it's capable of. So in fairness I've given it 3 stars but would caution buyers that while some have got the on board software to work, I still have been unable to resolve this and Seagate have not responded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice USB HDD, 23 Dec. 2013
By 
L. W. Newton "lwn83" (Nottingham, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seagate Backup Plus Slim 1TB USB 3.0 Portable 2.5 Inch External Hard Drive for PC and Mac - Blue (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Seagate have come up with a very attractive USB 3.0 HDD, I love the metallic blue anodized aluminum of the top of the drive, the underside is black plastic, it's very sleek in design.

This drive has a capacity of 1TB, which lets face it is big enough for most purposes, being USB 3 it is also quick and also very quiet in operation.

With the drive you get a USB 3.0 lead which is also backwards compatible with USB 2 but transfer speeds will be slower, a white LED fades on and off slowly during file transfers, I'd prefer it if it flashed like other drives I have.

This drive comes with back-up software installed on it, however you don't have to install it to your laptop/PC if you don't wish to use it.

Build quality looks good, but this is not a 'tough' drive so may not withstand being dropped or bashed about that much, the USB socket seems firm and solid.

A good, compact drive that easily slips into a pockets and looks attractive too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big capacity, small hard drive..., 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly portable and not that much bigger than the Samsung M9T 2TB hard drive inside and no external power supply!

It is USB 3, but don't expect particularly fast transfers. I dragged over 1TB of mixed files from different drives, including internal spindle drives (hitachi 500gb), a hybrid internal drive (momentus xt 500gb) and a Crucial M500. The fastest I could manage was around 100mb/sec sustained writes and about 150mb/sec reads. All this was done via an 18 month old XPS 17.

Build quality is pretty good, nothing to complain about. It looks to be a plastic tray with an anodised aluminium top. Feels reasonably solid.

If you plan on removing the drive for internal usage, be aware that getting the aluminium top off the casing isn't that difficult, but getting it off without damaging it is!

Heat doesn't seem to be an issue, it has been used continuously for several hours transferring and sorting files and it was warm to the touch, but nothing to worry about.

One minor gripe and this seems to be true for many PC acessories nowadays and that is the stupidly short cable. Less than a foot long is most certainly going to save on bulk and weight, but does make things a little awkward.

Overall, very happy with it so far, would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great product, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have mac book pro so easy just plug in and back up ! This product is very light !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews