Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb Monitor - well amost
This is a super monitor. Crisp display, good looks, and easy to install and configure. I have tried it on a desktop machine with Windows 8 and on several laptops under Windows 7 and 8. Here's what I found.

On the desktop machine as the primary monitor, it works effectively but it doesn't bring the 'entirely new dimension' to Windows that the Microsoft...
Published 11 months ago by Blue Catman

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor touchscreen performance
Don't touch it! the touchscreen only works if the screen is spotlessly clean of any dust whatsoever. So, unless you want it in a cleanroom forget it.
Published 8 months ago by Rhubarb Gifts LTD


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb Monitor - well amost, 28 April 2014
This review is from: Dell E2014T 20 inch E-Series Widescreen Touchscreen LED Backlit Monitor (Accessory)
This is a super monitor. Crisp display, good looks, and easy to install and configure. I have tried it on a desktop machine with Windows 8 and on several laptops under Windows 7 and 8. Here's what I found.

On the desktop machine as the primary monitor, it works effectively but it doesn't bring the 'entirely new dimension' to Windows that the Microsoft advertising would have you believe and because its at arms length, the onscreen keyboard is not as easy to use as it would be on say a tablet or smartphone. As a result you are still reliant on the keyboard, and because its there the mouse. Hey, whatever, it does make some of the Windows 8 apps easier to use.

On any laptop, be it with Windows 7 or 8, you have to configure it as the primary monitor and use only it. You cannot use both the inbuilt display and the monitor and expect the touchscreen to work. There are issues with differing resolutions if you try to use both (resulting in weird 'I didn't touch that' effects), and also even though you use the monitor for touch, the 'effect' of your action shows up on the laptop display, which is somewhat disconcerting.

As expected using it with Windows 7 is just like using a mouse.

Note that the screen is optical rather than capacitative/resistive (like most tablet). The device has 6 cameras - and one assumes several light sources to detect your digits moving around the screen. Works just fine most of the time, but there are some times when it doesn't.

= Don't put a desk light near the monitor, it will interfere and you will either get no response, or weird side-effects. Position the desk light away from the monitor.
= This effect is especially marked in low-light situations, it seems to really mess of the display.
= Watch out for unexpected things happening, Reflected light from other things in the room, or from loose sleeves on your shirt can have odd impacts.
= Don't let the cat sit on the desk by the monitor. Mine did, and when it shook its head so its ears were near the screen, chaos ensued.

On the plus side, I have an app that I use for Theatre lighting, which was the main reason I acquired the unit. It works perfectly, and even though the version of the software I use is pretty old, it still functions as expected. Much easier than using a mouse and keyboard, I can now tap buttons and slide sliders like a native.

My summary would be, a good monitor, but be aware of the limitations and observe that there are times when the environment may restrict its effectiveness.

I hope this is useful to prospective buyers.

D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor touchscreen performance, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dell E2014T 20 inch E-Series Widescreen Touchscreen LED Backlit Monitor (Accessory)
Don't touch it! the touchscreen only works if the screen is spotlessly clean of any dust whatsoever. So, unless you want it in a cleanroom forget it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars There's a reason why it's cheap for a Dell., 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dell E2014T 20 inch E-Series Widescreen Touchscreen LED Backlit Monitor (Accessory)
Took out box, screen flickered from as soon as it was plugged in, followed the useless Dell diagnostics and troubleshooting guide. No replacement available after lengthy search for the replacement option.
Dont get me wrong, the very few times it had a stable image it was brilliant, but you cant measure how good a screen is from the time between good pictures.
Not happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Low price, Quality Build - Questionable Touch, 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dell E2014T 20 inch E-Series Widescreen Touchscreen LED Backlit Monitor (Accessory)
I bought this to help relieve pain from over use of the screen and mouse. Repetitive strain injury.
It was priced affordably yet built with good quality. It does not feel low priced in any way.

I was getting wrist strain from using the mouse so much. The touch screen meant that I do some task with the screen giving my hand and wrist a break without having to stop working.

I was also having neck pain from constantly looking slightly up at the monitor. So I needed to be able to put the screen flat to relieve this pain. I did this by flipping the image and turning the screen upside down and laying it flat. The supplied stand, by chance, has the correct angle for this use. There are monitor which adjust from upright to flat but they cost 3 times the price.

However, the stand only allows one use of the monitor. That is the normal flat straight ahead view. It would have been nice to be able to turn the screen from landscape to portrait. Even without an expensive swivel added it could have been done if Dell had put in two extra quick release notches and lock on one side or both.

The screen does tilt by about 30 degrees but this is limited for my purpose, hence I tried several things before settling on what worked for me. Laying it flat normally the screen tilts away from you and the foot of the stand is in the way. Removing the stand it still tilts away from you and the cables become a problem. so flipping it upside down and flipping the image in windows solved that.
It is Windows 8 compliant in that your fingers can come from the outside edge of the screen. However it still has an extra large bezel around the border. While it give the monitor a solid feel I am not sure why it is so big an edge. If your using it for some touch screen games it will get in the way of fast swipes

I had some other problem with multiple displays but I've decide that they may be to do with the video card and Windows 8. I am still reviewing them. When you connect more than one monitor with this and possibly any touch screen, you must have windows identify the touch on the screen. Also I recently switched from the analogue cable to the digital port. Now when I turn on the computer the touch screen doesn't work unless I unplug the USB and plug it back in. That too may be a windows problem but still checking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dell E2014T 20 inch E-Series Widescreen Touchscreen LED Backlit Monitor (Accessory)
We bought this for a training room, it worked very well and made training easier for people. Very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dell E2014T 20 inch E-Series Widescreen Touchscreen LED Backlit Monitor (Accessory)
excellent screen though I do find I still use the mouse a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dell E2014T 20 inch E-Series Widescreen Touchscreen LED Backlit Monitor (Accessory)
perfect, touch monitor.
Works fine long time now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews