Customer Reviews


175 Reviews
5 star:
 (143)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a gimmick - but a very musical record with great playing and songs
For me this album would be worth getting just for Joe's wonderful version of "I'll See You in my Dreams" - as performed at the George Harrison Tribute Concert. However, this whole CD is full of great songs given a nice unique ukulele twist by Joe and his band and also the Ukulele Club Of Sonning Common (as taught by Joe's beautiful daughter Sam Brown). Some are...
Published 21 months ago by G. E. Harrison

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What can you do with a ukulele?
Joe Brown demonstrates the versatility of this unlikely instrument, but having enjoyed listening to it once, it may be quite some time before I treat myself again!
Published 13 months ago by Michael Kay


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a gimmick - but a very musical record with great playing and songs, 5 Nov 2012
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ukulele Album (Audio CD)
For me this album would be worth getting just for Joe's wonderful version of "I'll See You in my Dreams" - as performed at the George Harrison Tribute Concert. However, this whole CD is full of great songs given a nice unique ukulele twist by Joe and his band and also the Ukulele Club Of Sonning Common (as taught by Joe's beautiful daughter Sam Brown). Some are traditional music hall-type songs such as "I like bananas" and George Formby's classic "When I'm cleaning windows" or Hawiian-style songs like "Hula girl" and "I like you". Others are acoustic pop songs given a remake like the opener McGuiness Flint's "When I'm dead and gone" and Chas and Dave's plaintive "There's no pleasing you".

As well as these more ukulele-friendly songs there are also more unlikely covers such as the Who's "Pinball wizard" and even Motorhead's heavy metal anthem "Ace of spades", while ELO's "Mr. Blue Sky" sounds like it was specialy written for the ukulele! For people not too keen on the ukulele this is a very musical record that also features nice guitar, banjo and slide playing and Joe is still a good singer, with his engaging, understated Cockney delivery. All-in-all this is a really good record from one of the pioneers of rock and roll in Britain, it's not just a gimmick but is well produced, has some very good musicianship and lots of variety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a plucking good purchase....., 10 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ukulele Album (Audio CD)
In fairness this would have been 5 stars if I hadn't bought Eddie Vedders Ukulele songs a while back and now find that the benchmark by which to judge other uke albums!!
In truth that is a very different album having a more sophisticated neo folk feel to it and as such is maybe a worthy companion to this just for comparison.
This album however does stand up and what Joe Brown brings is experience,dedication and passion,the covers work well on the whole stripped down and bare I think 'I'm not in love' is the highpoint having an emotive feel and rawness that gets lost in the sheen of the original.
The album runs the gauntlet of Brown's originals to music hall favourites and rock standards really showing some thought on song choices and sometimes opening new depths in a song allowing the listener to pay attention to the lyrics.
The Ukulele on it's own can sometimes be a 'thin' sounding instrument but this CD utilises players from Joe's Daughter Sam's ukulele troupe to beef up the sound and other instrumentation too which enhances rather than drowns the uke sound.
All in all it's an album I am glad Joe did I'm not a buyer of his material generally so again this is a nice introduction and shows something of the quality that I am able to salute depite not being a fan per se...or should I say not a fan before now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "PLUCKING"great album., 5 Nov 2012
By 
bill c "bill" (nr. EDINBURGH,SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ukulele Album (Audio CD)
Being a big Joe brown fan since the 60's, just had to comment on this item. He's done it again with an album full of great "covers" etc. I just finished listening to this and i thought as it finished how good it made you feel!!! Thanks for that Joe.I'm also a very big E.L.O.fan and his version of" MR BLUE SKY" is great!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saw Joe in concert performing this album, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very polished performance for an oldy. Even plays ELO on the ukulele.
Saw him sing I'll see you in my dreams on the concert for George DVD and it definitely brings a lump to your throat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly uplifting!, 27 Dec 2013
By 
Michael Cronin (Rickmansworth, Herts. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this on a bit of a whim having heard Joe Brown being interviewed on the radio. Brilliant collection of songs that you cant help but sing along to - and if you play ukulele, can't help being inspired by. Beautifully interpreted diverse collection of covers of old and new songs all played simply (so you can hear the ukulele) but to a great standard of production. Is definitely a "keeper" that I'll play again and again. You can't help but smile - Well done Joe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ukulele Album (MP3 Download)
If you like seeing Joe Brown live, you'll love this.
He's taken the most unlikely of songs, and transformed them, making you still like the original, but also loving his version.
Brilliant instrumentalist, along with the players round him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars proves the oldies survive and get better, 12 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ukulele Album (Deluxe Edition) (MP3 Download)
Went to see Joe live after hearing how good he was, amazing, so decided to buy this album, brilliant just like being back live, every song will have you singing along or tapping your feet, some of the tracks are from heavy rock bands but given Joe's interpretation, Superb a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album!, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ukulele Album (Audio CD)
Not disappointed at all with this album Joe at his best as usual! If you love Joe and ukuleles this album is a must!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Saw Joe Brown in Concert and wanted to hear the tracks he played on Ukele & Mandolin, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ukulele Album (Audio CD)
After seeing Joe Brown in concert recently along with his record producer son Pete Brown, they made a fabulous team of musicians. This album not only shows how versatile Joe Brown is at playing stringed instruments, but is also a testament to his son Pete who is also incredibly talented. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joe Brown Ukelele album, 22 Feb 2013
By 
M J BAZELL (Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ukulele Album (Audio CD)
I have just received this from Amazon and put it on to play straight away.My goodness, if you are anything of a Joe Brown get this Cd, it is brilliant, I know a lot of the songs amd I am singing and foot tapping like mad.Brilliant buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews