Customer Reviews


186 Reviews
5 star:
 (122)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something New from Paul McCartney
It's been a while since Paul McCartney released an album of new material - Memory Almost Full came out in 2007 and The Fireman's Electric Arguments in 2008. New has been well worth the wait though, as not only is it full of classic McCartney tunes, it also, like most of his output over the last decade or so, shows a willingness both lyrically and sonically to be...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. D. K. Smith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Disappointing songs
Published 1 month ago by E WILSON


‹ Previous | 114 15 1619 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New (Audio CD)
Paul did it again!, he rebirth with every album! Paul can still give us earworms—super-durable pop gems that stick in our brains!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New, 10 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: New (Audio CD)
I have always loved the Beatles music so whenever the remaining Beatles Paul & Ringo release music I automatically buy it. Pauls' "NEW" album is the best one he has done for quite a while
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review on New, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New (Audio CD)
Fantastic new album. Every song grows on you the more you play the CD. 'New' has such a catchy tune it stays in your head all day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great record., 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New (Audio CD)
I absolutely loved this "New" c.d.,it's Paul McCartney at his best, a must buy for all Beatle fans. There isn't one song which I dislike and they are all different. Whilst I was playing the c.d. my son heard one track and he didn't even realise that Paul McCartney was the singer as he sounded so different from his usual songs. The title track New is very catchy and once heard it is not easily forgotten. I would certainly recommend this c.d. to any lovers of innovative songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music to my Dad's ears, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New (Audio CD)
Thank you for the speedy delivery of Paul McCartney's new album. It arrived in plenty of time for my Dad's birthday. He loves listening to it and it made a fab gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Good., 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New (Audio CD)
For a guy of his age he still does what he does well a fine album.My favorite song is Appreciate.

I.J.Waxley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul McCartney is Back!, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Paul McCartney is well and truly back in style with this latest album. Absolutely love it and haven't stopped playing it for the past two weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 1 Nov 2013
By 
D. Fenton (Lancashire. UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NEW [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
This album is a brilliant return to form for Paul, I had heard a couple of tracks and seen the BBC 2 show on iplayer, so I thought it well worth the risk of downloading, its right up there with anything he's done in the last 15 years, his last 3 albums have been 'so so' in my opinion, but this blows them all away. My 3 favourite albums of the year have been released since Sept 23. Well done Macca, really great album. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NATIONAL TREASURE, 1 Nov 2013
By 
D. V. Lawson (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New (Audio CD)
Yes it's an over used expression to call someone a national treasure but if like me you have been a fan of The Beatles since 1962 you should rejoice in the fact that Paul McCartney is still able to make an album in 2013 that contains songs of this quality and that he is willing to put himself out there promoting it on TV and Radio and appearing for us to see and here. I love the tracks New, Scared, Save Us and Queenie Eye but there isn't a poor track on this album. Just some that are outstanding and others that are good.
It is right up there amongst the best of his solo work as a rock/pop musician and along with his other composing work shows us why it is our good fortune that he is still active. Buy the deluxe version because you cannot have enough of a good thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something New From Macca, 1 Nov 2013
This review is from: New (Audio CD)
Sir Paul McCartney's new album continues in the line of the great albums he has been releasing since 1997s Flaming Pie. While his voice is not as strong as it used to be, he uses this to his advantage (Early Days, Scared)
It opens with Save Us, a great rocker already a live favourite. Produced by Paul Epworth, it was made up on the spot in the studio and Macca plays all instruments bar drums.
Next is Alligator, produced by Mark Ronson. This one contains some fantastic lyrics such as 'I need somebody who's a sweet communicator I can give my alligator to'.
After Alligator comes On My Way To Work. At first I wasn't so keen on this Giles Martin produced track, but it is definitely a grower.
This is followed by Queenie Eye, the great second single. The song is based on a street game Liverpudlians used to play and is classic Macca.
Next comes Early Days, a mostly acoustic number that reminisces Paul's pre-fame days with John that was produced by Ethan Johns.
What follows is the title track and lead single New. Very easy to listen to, this Ronson produced track could easily nestle in amongst the songs of Revolver or Abbey Road.
Appreciate follows and is the most forward thinking thing on the album. It was produced by Giles Martin.
Everybody Out There was born to be a crowd pleaser.
Hosanna is the second acoustic song on the album, again produced by Ethan Johns.
This is followed by I Can Bet, a modern version of Get Back. 'What I'm gonna do next I'll leave entirely to your imagination'
Looking At Her is a simple love song by Macca, probably written about Nancy, who was a large part of the inspiration for this album.
The final track on the standard album, Road, is a fantastically atmospheric track produced by Paul Epworth, and like Save Us, it was made up in the studio.
The first of the deluxe tracks, Turned Out is a fun little number, very easy to listen to.
This is followed by Get Me Out Of Here ('I'm a celebrity, someone get me out of here') a depart from the rest of the album with some unusual instruments featuring.
The final track is hidden track Scared. It only features piano and vocals, and Paul's voice is wonderfully frail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 1619 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NEW [+digital booklet]
NEW [+digital booklet] by Paul McCartney
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews