Customer Reviews


179 Reviews
5 star:
 (116)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something New from Paul McCartney
It's been a while since Paul McCartney released an album of new material - Memory Almost Full came out in 2007 and The Fireman's Electric Arguments in 2008. New has been well worth the wait though, as not only is it full of classic McCartney tunes, it also, like most of his output over the last decade or so, shows a willingness both lyrically and sonically to be...
Published 9 months ago by Mr. D. K. Smith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Disappointing songs
Published 13 days ago by E WILSON


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Good., 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New (Audio CD)
For a guy of his age he still does what he does well a fine album.My favorite song is Appreciate.

I.J.Waxley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul McCartney is Back!, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Paul McCartney is well and truly back in style with this latest album. Absolutely love it and haven't stopped playing it for the past two weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 1 Nov 2013
By 
D. Fenton (Lancashire. UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NEW [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
This album is a brilliant return to form for Paul, I had heard a couple of tracks and seen the BBC 2 show on iplayer, so I thought it well worth the risk of downloading, its right up there with anything he's done in the last 15 years, his last 3 albums have been 'so so' in my opinion, but this blows them all away. My 3 favourite albums of the year have been released since Sept 23. Well done Macca, really great album. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NATIONAL TREASURE, 1 Nov 2013
By 
D. V. Lawson (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New (Audio CD)
Yes it's an over used expression to call someone a national treasure but if like me you have been a fan of The Beatles since 1962 you should rejoice in the fact that Paul McCartney is still able to make an album in 2013 that contains songs of this quality and that he is willing to put himself out there promoting it on TV and Radio and appearing for us to see and here. I love the tracks New, Scared, Save Us and Queenie Eye but there isn't a poor track on this album. Just some that are outstanding and others that are good.
It is right up there amongst the best of his solo work as a rock/pop musician and along with his other composing work shows us why it is our good fortune that he is still active. Buy the deluxe version because you cannot have enough of a good thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something New From Macca, 1 Nov 2013
This review is from: New (Audio CD)
Sir Paul McCartney's new album continues in the line of the great albums he has been releasing since 1997s Flaming Pie. While his voice is not as strong as it used to be, he uses this to his advantage (Early Days, Scared)
It opens with Save Us, a great rocker already a live favourite. Produced by Paul Epworth, it was made up on the spot in the studio and Macca plays all instruments bar drums.
Next is Alligator, produced by Mark Ronson. This one contains some fantastic lyrics such as 'I need somebody who's a sweet communicator I can give my alligator to'.
After Alligator comes On My Way To Work. At first I wasn't so keen on this Giles Martin produced track, but it is definitely a grower.
This is followed by Queenie Eye, the great second single. The song is based on a street game Liverpudlians used to play and is classic Macca.
Next comes Early Days, a mostly acoustic number that reminisces Paul's pre-fame days with John that was produced by Ethan Johns.
What follows is the title track and lead single New. Very easy to listen to, this Ronson produced track could easily nestle in amongst the songs of Revolver or Abbey Road.
Appreciate follows and is the most forward thinking thing on the album. It was produced by Giles Martin.
Everybody Out There was born to be a crowd pleaser.
Hosanna is the second acoustic song on the album, again produced by Ethan Johns.
This is followed by I Can Bet, a modern version of Get Back. 'What I'm gonna do next I'll leave entirely to your imagination'
Looking At Her is a simple love song by Macca, probably written about Nancy, who was a large part of the inspiration for this album.
The final track on the standard album, Road, is a fantastically atmospheric track produced by Paul Epworth, and like Save Us, it was made up in the studio.
The first of the deluxe tracks, Turned Out is a fun little number, very easy to listen to.
This is followed by Get Me Out Of Here ('I'm a celebrity, someone get me out of here') a depart from the rest of the album with some unusual instruments featuring.
The final track is hidden track Scared. It only features piano and vocals, and Paul's voice is wonderfully frail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent NEW album from Paul McCartney, 25 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NEW [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
back to the good old Beatles songs. Great lyrics, superb music. Recommended, specially the mp3 download for only 4.50. NEW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New, 25 Oct 2013
By 
Ken (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NEW [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
A great mix of tunes from Paul McCartney, there is not a bad song on the album. Hope to get the vinyl when it is released in November. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB ALBUM!, 24 Oct 2013
This review is from: New (Audio CD)
A couple of listens and i'm hooked big time, best album since flaming pie from macca. This one gets better and better with each listen, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new cd, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New (Audio CD)
macca what can i say he's the man been there done it,is best for sometime buy it give it a couple of play it will grow on you trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Comeback, 22 Oct 2013
By 
This review is from: New (Audio CD)
A great comeback after the horrible "kisses on the bottom".
I admire the way he can when he turns his mind to it still produce an album of great original songs even at the age of 71.
Long may he continue.
Now if only Billy Joel could do the same......................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NEW [+digital booklet]
NEW [+digital booklet] by Paul McCartney
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews