Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars21
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 27 September 2007
Preston & Child have put out some memorable books in the past (Relic, Reliquary, IceLimit were all excellent!). However, they managed to fail miserably in their last 3 books - even though they had a very interesting character, Pendergast, to work with.

BRIMSTONE only barely managed to hold my interest: the plot was stretched-out (the price of sequelization), the villains were obvious and all style, no substance. The side stories were but page-stuffing, they added nothing to the story or the characters' development - whereas, (the partial) catharsis came in the most predictable way possible!!

This is another example of a story diluted to blandness, in order to milk the cash-cow until it bleeds...Disappointed. Again.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2007
Have not long been into Preston & Childs books as they are hard to aquire here for some reason, Brimstone is my latest purchase and I found it an enthralling read, I just hopr the next 2 Ive ordered are as good.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 August 2004
Emmy and Tony nominee Rene Auberjonois gives a suave, sophisticated, suspenseful reading of this over-the-top thoroughly diverting thriller by the team of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child.
Protagonist FBI agent Aloysius Pendergast solves puzzles with finesse. He's been raised in privilege, yet, if necessary, he can fight like a street wise tough. He's a bit of a contradiction, and one of the most charismatic detectives to pop from the pages of a book.
With "Brimstone" he's teamed with former NYPD cop Vincent D'Agosta - a perfect foil for the urbane Pendergast to try to discover why art critic Jeremy Grove is found dead, toasted to a blackened mass. After all, this is the Hamptons, where such grisly crimes don't occur. Further, quite clearly next to the late Grove is the imprint of a cloven hoof burned into the floor. What the devil could that mean? Exactly.
As more bodies are found and secrets revealed many wonder if the Devil actually has landed on planet Earth. Seems that these crimes can only be explained by the supernatural. Fortunately for listeners who enjoy scenic locations, Pendergast and D'Agosta's probing takes them to Italy, to an old castle in the countryside. Some two decades ago the unthinkable was summoned forth in this place.
Vivid in detail "Brimstone" is terror both horrific and terrific.
- Gail Cooke
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2015
So so read. First came across Pendegast in "Relic"which is a fantastic book. D'agosta from Relic appears here and he is an interesting character. Somehow I felt that it was all too convoluted a plot which started off well but ended up disappointingly- the "Mcguffin" as Hitchcock would have called it was so crazy and the plot details in order to get us there appeared contrived. Found myself skipping a lot pages far too much unnecessary background information (think Linda Fairstein on a bad day)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Another great book by Preston and Child I hope someone in Hollywood decides to turn their novels into a film I can see David Hyde Pierce Niles Crane in Frasier playing Prendergast. Briangallagher950@ntlworld.com
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
I have several paperback copies of the titles in the Agent Pendergast Series which I have enjoyed so have purchased them and this title in Kindle book format
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
I love these books definatley worth a read have been hooked on these ever since I read Relic. Brill Brill Brill!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2008
After reading Thunderhead, Cabinet of Curiosities and Still Life With Crows, I was really looking forward to reading Brimstone and i thoroughly enjoyed it. That said, it's not anywhere near as good as those previous novels.

Vincent D'agosta returns to help agent Pendergast investigate a series of unusual deaths that appear to be the work of Lucifer, where the victims seem to have traded their soul's for fortune and glory.

The story is interesting and takes a few unexpected turns while Pendergast has his usual unpredictability and strange ways of understanding and solving problems. In this book the writers use science as well as the usual mystery to keep you guessing.

This is the first of the 'Diogenes' trilogy and the series does get better and better, 3 stars for this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
Another great read Preston and Child great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
I cant get enough of Pendergast!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.