Customer Reviews


23 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facinating insight, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had previously read J Taraborrelli's book Jackie Ethel & Joan on several occassions & found that very compelling reading & this book carries on from where the previous one left off & is equally as good. I find the Kennedy's absolutely facinating and have read countless books about all of them but i have to admit that J. Taraborrelli's are up there as the best the most insightful both books make you feel that you know each & every Kennedy personally and that you must find out how they all lived their eventful lives and how they coped with the many tragedies.

If you love reading about the Kennedy's i would heartily recommend both and i can promise you that you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth it if you like the Kennedys, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Kennedys are an intriguing family. I love their energy and enthusiasm for life and their incredible familial bonds. Yet, one can't help but realize that this is in someway quite a dis-functional family. They've certainly been involved with more than their share of problems. Whereas most books on the Kennedys focus on JFK, RFK, and the years before 1968, "After Camelot" actually looks at the much lesser known Kennedys of the third generation. With the exception of Jacki, it also focuses on the much less talked about second generation of women and men, like Sarge, Steven Smith, Eunice, Ethel, and Joan. Plus, Ted Kennedy has a starring role here and author Taraborrelli shows him with much more complexity. Unfortunately, not much is written about his work in the Senate, which would have given even more depth to Ted's portrait.

In fact, the portraits of the second generation are pretty superficial altogether. The women have been better written about in other books, like The Kennedy Women: The Saga of an American Family and the men could have been examined more closely, especially Sarge, probably one of the nicest of the Kennedy clan. Taraborrelli does a much better job on the third generation, but the book definitely leaves you wanting more. Plus, he wants us to believe how successful most of the Kennedys have been and still are, despite the tragedies that have befallen them. Yet, many of them have had and still have drug and alcohol problems, not to mention their infidelities. A more evenhanded look would have been better.

My biggest pet peeve, however, would be the author's infatuation with Jacki and her clan. To him, it seems, they can do no wrong. I know that America has a special soft spot for her, but she was human just like the rest of us, and she had her issues, as did her children. In truth, the author has an altogether glowing description of anything JFK related, which I think takes a way from the objectivity of the book.

That said, it is still interesting if you like reading about the Kennedys, and I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for Kennedy fans, 18 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After Camelot: A Personal History of the Kennedy Family--1968 to the Present (Kindle Edition)
Didn't really expect that much from this book, there are so many copy and paste biographies of the Kennedy's but I'm glad I bought this one as it's absolutely fascinating. Eunice, Ted and the other siblings get as much, possibly much more, coverage than JFK and Jackie, which is great. I knew little about the Shrivers and only a bit more about Ted, so this was a fascinating read. It's also a very easy read, you'll breeze through it like a good novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting look at the Kennedys - post "Camelot"., 31 May 2012
By 
Jill Meyer (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I've read most of Randy Taraborelli's biographies - about the Kennedy Wives, Marilyn Monroe, and Grace Kelly, among other subjects - and I have to say he's not a particularly great writer. Most of his books have errors in the text and repeat mundane catch-phrases like "finding herself in..." over and over. BUT, and this is a compliment, he writes gossipy but not particularly venal biographies. You don't wake up the next morning after having read his books, feeling "dirty" and hating yourself for succumbing to a National Enquirer-type bio. No, Taraborelli is more "People", than "Globe", which makes him vaguely respectable...

His latest book is a group bio of the Kennedy family, post-Camelot. He's covered some of this territory in another book, his book about Jackie, Ethel, and Joan, so there's some overlap in text. Also, any long-time, compulsive reader of "People" - like me - already knows a lot of what he's written. But he puts the bits and pieces together in book form. There aren't too many "surprises" in what he writes - maybe for me the main surprise was the general Kennedy family disdain felt for Sarge Shriver, a genuine "good guy" if I ever saw one. He wasn't "tough" enough for his in-laws - wife Eunice was the "tough" one of the couple - but he seems to have lived a life of conscious positive contributions to the world for his 95 years on earth. Plus, he was Maria Shriver's father, and I've always liked Maria Shriver. So there, Kennedy family!

"So there", indeed. Randy Taraborelli has written a fun, gossipy book about a family both blessed and burdened by fate and fame. It's a not-too-guilty way to spend a few days this summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read for people wanting to know more about the kennedy family after jfk's assasination, 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After Camelot: A Personal History of the Kennedy Family--1968 to the Present (Kindle Edition)
Informative about people you know little about. The expectations placed on the next generation. And how they have moved forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed !!, 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After Camelot: A Personal History of the Kennedy Family--1968 to the Present (Kindle Edition)
Brings the Kennedy story up to the present day, so was interesting to hear a little about the next generation instead of dwelling on just the events of 1963
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Enjoyed!, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After Camelot: A Personal History of the Kennedy Family--1968 to the Present (Kindle Edition)
Have read many things about the Kennedy's and their lives. This one featured as one of the best. I was hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable and excellent book., 17 Jan. 2014
By 
Mrs. S. Morgan-davies (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After Camelot: A Personal History of the Kennedy Family--1968 to the Present (Kindle Edition)
Fascinating and well written. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It flows and is very easy to read. I learned a great deal about this family whose lives the good and the bad was always dogged by publicity, and they. seemed to have been denied the privacy we all need occasionally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars After Camelot, a personal history of the Kennedy Family, 7 Jan. 2014
This review is from: After Camelot: A Personal History of the Kennedy Family--1968 to the Present (Kindle Edition)
A fascinating read, well researched and well written. At last a book which tells the truth about the Kennedy Family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After Camelot: A Personal History of the Kennedy Family--1968 to the Present (Kindle Edition)
What a book. I am very interested in this period in American history - warts and all. I found this book riveting, couldn't put it down and would recommend it to anyone interested in this area of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews