Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wildly Entertaining!
In a time where rock and roll was reined exclusively by heady testosterone, when the vast majority of female singers were either popstrels or folksy songbirds, Grace Slick was the first female rocker whose flamboyant style and notorious countenance equalled that of any of her male counterparts. Somebody to Love recounts Slick's long journey from posh socialite to...
Published on 7 July 2004 by absintherocker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ... and the point is?
Grace Slick will always be the epitomy of the sixties for me, an icon almost. I still love the drug / booze sound of the Airplane, so different to any band at the time and the lady led from the front. So, once I'd realised Grace had written a book it was full steam ahead to get my hands on it. The cover didn't disappoint, very classy with it's matt / gloss appearance but...
Published on 12 Oct 2011 by Rufus


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wildly Entertaining!, 7 July 2004
In a time where rock and roll was reined exclusively by heady testosterone, when the vast majority of female singers were either popstrels or folksy songbirds, Grace Slick was the first female rocker whose flamboyant style and notorious countenance equalled that of any of her male counterparts. Somebody to Love recounts Slick's long journey from posh socialite to counterculture goddess. With unabashed candour and a tremendous sense of humour, Grace flashes back to the halcyon days of the late 60's when her unique talents soared Jefferson Airplane to the top of the charts.
The beautiful, extrovert Slick was invited to join Jefferson Airplane after replacing the band's original lead singer. Grace brought both "White Rabbit" and "Somebody to Love" to the already popular group's hit list and the rest is history. She recalls her drug-dazed and alcoholic-soaked performances, as well as her relationships with rock and roll royalty such as Janis Joplin, Jerry Garcia, Jimi Hendrix and Crosby Stills & Nash. She provides an intimate time capsule into the Triple Crown of rock and roll festivals -- Woodstock, Monterey Pop and Altamont (Airplane is the only rock band to play at all three).
Fear not, her autobiography also chronicles her many lovers, including the sexual escapades with her bandmates (she bedded all except one); her long-term relationship with Paul Kantner and the legendary one nighter with Jim Morrison ("It was like making love to a floating art form with eyes.").
Grace, who has had nearly as many arrests as paramours, discusses her penchant for sassing cops, and her aborted visit to the Nixon White House with Abbie Hoffman (they intended to spike the President's tea with LSD). Fans of the Airplane's music will learn of the behind-the-scenes rivalries and friendships, and of their eventual transformation from rebellious rockers to mainstream pop stars when they evolved into the '80s hit group Jefferson Starship.
A compelling, very entertaining and at times hilarious read. I warmly recommended this book to rock and roll fans everywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best rock 'n' roll reads you'll find., 20 July 2006
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What is it with me? Hetero as I am and always will be, there are very few female rock stars whom I admire enough to buy their albums, let alone their autobiography. But I've always had a soft spot for Grace Slick's 'White Rabbit' song right since 1960-whatever-it-was when it was released, and a friend bought the Jefferson Airplane album with it on there. Grace's voice is so crystal clear, almost sonic, breathing those fantasy lyrics with a mind so fucussed she makes them sound so real. A sucker for fantasy lyrics like this, and that the song has gone around and around in my head for decades, I decided this book might get me closer to the mind that wrote them. And it does. It's one of the best AB's I've read, and even though that figure might be somewhere around ten, this one grabs you right from the start and doesn't let you go until the final page. Okay, she humped Jim Morrison on a bed scattered with squashed strawberries long before 'Nine-And-A-Half-Weeks,' but this is by no means a highlight, Grace's whole life has been interesting, and important for the rock fan, be they casual or living and breathing it every moment of their lives. Yep, quite a book, grab it, read it, and be enriched when you close it for the last time, quite some lady!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grace Slick from the inside, 5 April 2009
By 
Mark Shackelford "mark shackelford" (Worthing, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somebody To Love (Hardcover)
The life story of Rock's greatest singer - Grace Slick's voice is the sound of 60's and 70's American Rock, along with the thunder of the Airplane (in all its guises).
This book is a gentle retelling of her life - in her own words, from the early "posh" middle-class well-behaved young lady, through the turbulent years of the 60's, to the 1990s when she has retired and is more concerned with the welfare of rabbits than singing about them...
Lots of detail of lovers and arrests and friends and tours and lunatic behaviour.
But... what about the music? There is very little about how she felt singing and playing on stage (or in rehersal) with the Airplane. Surely one of the most accomplished bands on the planet, with an astonishing sound (just listen to Casady's megalithic bass-lines, or Kaukonen startling lead guitar - and what about the telepathic harmony sound between Kantner and Slick) - would generate some kind of comment? As some one who has played in a band, and who knows that when it clicks, the music transcends simple playing along and becomes something bigger than the sum of its parts - and takes on a life of its own... I would have loved to know how it felt like to be with the Airplane.
But 5 stars anyway - this IS Grace Slick after all. I hope she is still able to "feed her head" now and again... even if only with glorious memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a girl, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somebody to Love?: A Rock-and-Roll Memoir (Kindle Edition)
I read this book to add my knowledge after reading the Graham Nash biography. It is a quicj and easy read. It not only gives you a true flavour of the period of the bands but also the lifestyle of a well to do middle class american youngster growing up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT TRIP..., 30 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somebody To Love (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this book immensely. Grace Slick holds nothing back and it is an interesting insight into the exciting 1960s. This is a real page turner and I would recommend it to anyone who wasn't of an age, or even around, to experience that fabulous decade. There are plenty of laughs along the way and I respected her generosity of spirit. She is one remarkable Lady and is one of the best female singers of that period. A very well written book and a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ... and the point is?, 12 Oct 2011
This review is from: Somebody To Love (Hardcover)
Grace Slick will always be the epitomy of the sixties for me, an icon almost. I still love the drug / booze sound of the Airplane, so different to any band at the time and the lady led from the front. So, once I'd realised Grace had written a book it was full steam ahead to get my hands on it. The cover didn't disappoint, very classy with it's matt / gloss appearance but once you turn the pages... hmm.
It's an easy book to read, maybe too easy as the pages flick over quickly. In one sense that's because the subject matter is over simplified, I craved for a bit of 'nitty gritty' - "tell me more Grace!" - but I was left wanting.
Jefferson Airplane were largely ignored as an entity except that we found out - but again, not in much detail - which members (no pun intended) she slept with. The chapters are too small, making you think 'is that it already?' and as each chapter covers a topic nothing digs deep enough. The chapter covering police busts was over in a flash although at least eight seperate incidents are mentioned.
I didn't really want to read about racoons in the garden, and a single mention would have been sufficent but Grace seems fixated by the critters and this maybe was the one topic delved into at lenght, her animal welfare work. Full marks, but I didn't buy a Grace Slick bio to read about racoons.
Nevertheless, an amazing lady. Try Jim McDonaugh next time, Grace - 'Shakey' - Jims book about Neil Young shows how this type of thing should be done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somebody to Love?, 19 Oct 2010
By 
Pauline Allaway "Woph19" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Somebody To Love (Hardcover)
The book had no cover sleeve and as a result I was left with an unattractive blank front cover. This was not in the description and I would not have made this purchase otherwise.
However it was an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews