Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant budget compilation
Complied from tracks recorded for Warner and the labels it owns, this contains a fair number of tracks that I didn't previously own, including several songs I don't remember hearing before.

Taking it in track list order, the set starts of with a series of famous classics that it's difficult to avoid hearing if you spend December in Britain. Here, we get...
Published 12 months ago by Peter Durward Harris

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed, when I bought it the songs looked good
Very disappointed, when I bought it the songs looked good, but the artists singing some of them needed muting or moving on!
Published 22 hours ago by HP Devon


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant budget compilation, 15 Nov 2013
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christmas: The Collection (Audio CD)
Complied from tracks recorded for Warner and the labels it owns, this contains a fair number of tracks that I didn't previously own, including several songs I don't remember hearing before.

Taking it in track list order, the set starts of with a series of famous classics that it's difficult to avoid hearing if you spend December in Britain. Here, we get Gabrielle Aplin's version of The Power of Love instead of Frankie Goes To Hollywood's original, but I think that's on a different label. On this CD, you'll fond tracks by Jethhro Tull, Steeleye Span and Tori Amos that I was already familiar with, but which are worth hearing and which don't appear too often on multi-artist compilations.

CD2 begins with Kylie's cover of Santa baby - as good a cover as any of Eartha Kitt's classic. Next up is Brenda Lee's 1991 re-recording of her own classic Rockin' around the Christmas tree. She was still on a major label at the time and this re-recording is good. It's not a rip-off re-tread job, and it's the only re-recording here. You might not notice the difference from the original unless you're listening for it. Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons perform Santa Claus is coming to town in their distinctive style.

Tracks 4 to 15 feature a selection of tracks by soul singers, mostly from the sixties and seventies, but also including Clyde McPhatter's Drifters as well as Natalie Cole. Those two cover famous classics, but some of the others are original songs. The version of White Christmas by Clyde McPhatter's Drifters is a classic in its own right and almost counts as an original. There's nothing wrong with Bing Crosby's version, but the Drifters showed us a very different way to sing the song. Of the other tracks in this sequence, my favorite is Solomon Burke (Presents for Christmas), but there's plenty of great music among the rest. CD2 ends with familiar classics covered by Linda Ronstadt (I'll Be Home For Christmas) and the Pretenders (Have yourself a merry little Christmas).

CD3 provides a further selection that I find particularly interesting. The opening track is a cover of a great Motown song. I may have heard some of the next seven tracks before, but not often as I gave up music radio long ago. The lyrics for Is this Christmas? (The Wombats) are downbeat, even asking Whatever happened to our festive cheer? Perhaps it's not what everybody wants to hear, but it's a song that all too many people will relate to in some way. The track that took me completely by surprise is En Vogue's Silent Night (Happy Holiday Mix). I have heard plenty of versions of this carol, but apart from the basic variations in style from one genre to another, I hadn't heard anything dramatically different from the norm - until I heard this. Some people may call it butchery, but I love it.

The next five tracks are covers of songs familiar to me, although A winter's tale (a cover of a David Essex UK hit) is less well known than the others. Next is Lonely pup in a Christmas shop (Adam Faith), which should be familiar to British listeners. The final two tracks also appeal to me although I'm not sure if I've heard them before.

This is one of the best budget Christmas compilations that I've heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The good, the bad and the slightly weird, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas: The Collection (Audio CD)
Forrest Gump once famously said that life is like a box of chocolates - you never know what you're going to get next. That just about sums up my opinion of this triple CD collection. It's a real eclectic mix, which admittedly many Christmas compilations are with their blend of pop, classical and ratpack crooning that share little or nothing in common besides their yuletide theme. But you should be aware of what this offering is, and what it isn't.

It isn't, for example, your standard rundown of UK pop classics, even though it starts off very much that way. If you just scan the first few tracks on CD1 you'll see the Pogues, Wizzard, Chris Rea, Mud, Cliff Richard - but don't be fooled because that isn't typical of most of the rest of the collection. For example you won't find Slade (gasp!), Band Aid, Shakin Stevens, John Lennon or many other classic Christmas pop songs. So if you're after the definitive, complete seasonal party CD, you should probably look elsewhere. Even less is it a carol or crooner collection, though there are examples of the latter in particular (and there is a rather interesting take on Hark the Herald Angels Sing).

However, if you already own most of the above then this collection might be worth a look for the other things it has - some different, original stuff, much of which you may never have heard before. And the slightly eccentric nature of the selection made me smile at times. One moment you're listening to East 17, then next to someone warbling away in Latin.

But I have to say the quality is uneven at times. CD1 is pretty good, starting on a high with Fairytale of New York, and much of what follows are well-known songs usually by the original artists. Though towards the end some hysterical woman just about murders Last Christmas; why this version was chosen over the Wham original, I can't imagine.

CD2 starts well with a good version of Santa Baby by the ever-reliable Kylie Minogue, but quickly goes downhill after that, and for me this is easily the weakest of the three discs. This is kind of the crooner section (along with a bit of rock-n-roll) but you won't find Crosby, Sinatra or Martin here. Some of the covers of classic songs are pretty good; others make you yearn for the original. Many of the tracks are less well known, and frankly some of them fully deserve their obscurity.

Things pick up a lot in CD3, however. Again, many of the tracks I'd never heard before and most of the better-known ones are covers, but there are some nice surprises. I was pleased to hear a rousing effort by the Pet Shop Boys (It Doesn't Often Snow at Christmas - how true). Then there's an excellent soulful take on Silent Night that you might enjoy if you don't expect anything like the original, and a decent cover of A Winter's Tale. But then near the end is the awful Lonely Pup, just to remind you that obscure pap is never far away in this collection.

In conclusion, if you're looking for the failsafe, definitive Christmas classics collection, this probably isn't for you. But if you want to take the risk and are prepared to skip a few (or on CD2, quite a lot) of naff filler tracks, I think you'll find enough gems to make it worth a punt for a fiver. I was originally going to give this three stars, but decided to give it the benefit of the doubt with four. The first and third CDs just about deserve it; the second I could have done without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for all ages, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas: The Collection (Audio CD)
great xmas cd for all ages will be fantastic on Christmas morning when cooking the dinner and opening presents cant wait
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas: The Collection (Audio CD)
great collection of Christmas music for the price - a little out of date there isn't much recent stuff on here but I don't have a Christmas CD so it's perfect to begin my collection. Most of the songs on here are slower and more relaxing so perfect for the car or having friends over for drinks. I am not a big fan of the pop music Christmas songs so if you are looking for something a bit more relaxing this is it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas CD, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas: The Collection (Audio CD)
Fantastic mix of old classics and more modern Christmas songs. Came when expected just in time for Christmas. Had a lovely Christmas day playing the cd in the background with the family around. Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what you see is what you get, 27 Jan 2014
By 
A. P. Good (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas: The Collection (Audio CD)
Good value for money. Obviously some songs better than others, but overall good Christmas CD and added to the Christmas enjoyment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas: The Collection (Audio CD)
Lorry-driver partner was facing a dull Christmas away in his truck, so I got this for him to play while he drives. He loved singing along to the songs and there's a great range of hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice range of Christmas songs, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas: The Collection (Audio CD)
I reckon that there will be something for everyone on these cds - I know I enjoyed the range !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good overall song choices, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas: The Collection (Audio CD)
Mostly goods songs including some classics there is a few dodgy ones. Did have promblems getting it but amazon were really helpful in sending a replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sing-a-long Christmas, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas: The Collection (Audio CD)
Good choice of music
Caters for all tastes. Really enjoyed singing along with the rest of my family. Will be a favourite for years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christmas: The Collection
Christmas: The Collection by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews