Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cautionary tale
This book comes as a welcome antidote to the recent splurge of "celebrity" managers' accounts. It's not a hagiography, equally it's not one of those books that describes the roister doistering high jinks of a third division hard man. It is a tale of a young man who had it all, lost it, regrets it and is trying to get his life back on track. He's actually one of us, and...
Published 11 months ago by Big Jim

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great, best bits were in the newspaper.
Easy read. Not enough about his gambling, bit repetitive at times.
Similar theme throughout , he annoys all his managers, likes a drink, falls for a girl at the bar x 3 or 4 times, very confrontational and buries his head in the sand.
To summarise an average player who never won anything but thought he was top class because he played for man u.
Published 3 days ago by Mr.Singh


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cautionary tale, 23 Oct 2013
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How NOT to be a Football Millionaire - Keith Gillespie My Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
This book comes as a welcome antidote to the recent splurge of "celebrity" managers' accounts. It's not a hagiography, equally it's not one of those books that describes the roister doistering high jinks of a third division hard man. It is a tale of a young man who had it all, lost it, regrets it and is trying to get his life back on track. He's actually one of us, and perhaps the problems he faced at the height of his fame was this very fact. How many of us could cope with the riches and adulation that are thrust upon a young man away from home? This book goes some way to showing how it might go as Gillespie comes across as a very decent, if some times misled, young man. I'd happily buy him a pint becuase as he says himself early on, he can't afford a round himself.
One last point, whilst this is a 5 star story I'm afraid for me the "voice" of the ghost writer is all too apparent and some passages just don't flow as I'd like. Phrases such as "...raiding the left flank" reek too much of a Red Top's back pages but I appreciate this is a matter of personal taste so don't let this foible of mine put you off buying and enjoying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truest biography, 14 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. K. L. Coxon (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How NOT to be a Football Millionaire - Keith Gillespie My Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Keith was my hero as an 8 year old boy after watching him train at Durham, and here 20 years later I'm reading about his "fall from grace" as they call it. But I think it's and excellent book and so refreshing to hear a story that isn't all self promotion and "oh look at me, look how well I did"

All you get here is the truth and despite all his faults and mistakes he's still my hero, for being himself and telling it how it is, when he could have hid like most people would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars honest, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How NOT to be a Football Millionaire - Keith Gillespie My Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Very honest and sometimes very serious while amusing too,would recommend this book.
Hope everything works out for Keith. Good luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warts and all, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How NOT to be a Football Millionaire - Keith Gillespie My Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read. Very open and honest insight into the highs and lows of a pro footballer. Some great stories and his love of playing for N.Ireland is obvious. Hope it works out well for Keith in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gambling is for mugs...., 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How NOT to be a Football Millionaire - Keith Gillespie My Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
A well written book. A fair amount is given to football, a balanced account of his family and of the women in his life and his children.He has no self pity but realises that a god given gift and the financial rewards it brings can be negated by an addictive personality. A sad,but certainly not maudlin, book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming, funny and shocking., 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How NOT to be a Football Millionaire - Keith Gillespie My Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book, you get a real feel of what Keith is all about and has been during his footballing career and beyond. It covers the early years right through to the troubled relationships, Newcastle, Blackburn and the latter years in NI. It has laugh out loud moments, ridiculous stories and crazy bookie anecdotes. It reads like a thriller, novel and autobiography all rolled up in one. Having read both this and Alex Ferguson's recent biography, whilst it's unfair to compare both books, Keith seems to have bared all in a cathartic manner, and Alex just gives shallow glimpses into his psyche and life story.

There's something heartwarming about this book, and sometimes you can almost compare some of his 'faults' with our own or people we know. A must read, for and about a seemingly top bloke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brutally honest account, 21 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How NOT to be a Football Millionaire - Keith Gillespie My Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
This is a real football book not the ghost written sugar coated nonsense most of them churn out.

I saw many of Keith's games as a Sheffield United player and have great respect for him as a wonderful player who never hit the heights he should have. This book goes a long way to explaining why...the drinking culture is a real eye opener. Of course Keith's biggest problem was the gambling and the vast amounts of money he squandered is truly shocking. Hard for an ordinary working bloke to feel sorry for someone who could throw away 60000 on a single days gambling but hopefully he will get his life back on track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tough times, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How NOT to be a Football Millionaire - Keith Gillespie My Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
I been lucky to see the man play but to read how he wasted money and good advice seems tragic but at least he seems on the right track now without the trappings of a top footballer. Good luck Keith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What A Read, 31 Oct 2013
This review is from: How NOT to be a Football Millionaire - Keith Gillespie My Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
This is an insight into the world of a former footballer and the inner demons that surround him, fascinating stuff, could not stop reading this autobiography
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bible for the young footballer, 19 Oct 2013
This review is from: How NOT to be a Football Millionaire - Keith Gillespie My Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
All young footballers should read this before they buy their first baby Bentley. A honest read of a fallen star . For me it is a sad story. Read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews