Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too
The second book I've read by Julie Anne Peters, KEEPING YOU A SECRET is another sure-fire winner about the highs and lows of first love, the terror and joy of "coming out", and the good and the bad that is the thing called family.

Holland Jaeger is the "It" girl everyone envies--she has great friends, she's President of the Student Body, she's the girlfriend of...
Published on 14 Oct 2006 by TeensReadToo

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Massive letdown
This book was a huge disappointment, I stayed up for ages trying to read this, desperate to claw an ounce of enthusiasm or excitement that I thought eventually it may muster! How wrong was I? Well, in fact, very.

If you're just coming out and freaked out by lesbian sex, then this is the book for you, because there isn't any! Expect lots of hand-holding and...
Published 2 months ago by Robogirl


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 14 Oct 2006
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Keeping You A Secret (Paperback)
The second book I've read by Julie Anne Peters, KEEPING YOU A SECRET is another sure-fire winner about the highs and lows of first love, the terror and joy of "coming out", and the good and the bad that is the thing called family.

Holland Jaeger is the "It" girl everyone envies--she has great friends, she's President of the Student Body, she's the girlfriend of Seth, she's the popular girl who can be counted on to always get along with everyone. That is, until Cece Goddard transfers in, and Holland's once-perfect life no longer seems so great.

The first time she sees Cece, Holland feels something that she's never felt before. Although sexually active with her boyfriend, Seth, having sex is more like a chore--she'd much rather sit around talking, the way they used to do when they were friends rather than lovers. As Cece flaunts her homosexuality, wearing shirts proclaiming herself out and proud, Holland wonders what it means when her attraction to Cece becomes almost an obsession.

College looms on the horizon and no one, especially her mother, will quit asking her where she's going. They have big plans for her, you see, both her mother, who became a single parent way too young, Seth, and the career counselor at her school. Forced into a role she doesn't want, Holland escapes into her art class, drawing away from her former friends as feelings and emotions she can't control rush to the surface.

As Holland realizes that she is, in fact, a lesbian, her perfect life is suddenly out of control. She's shunned by her former friends at school, her mother kicks her out of the house, she's forced to live in a run-down motel that's now a shelter, and she's not sure she'll be able to attend college at all.

Holland must learn what's really important in life, that it's not about being popular but about being true to yourself. As she loses old friends she gains new ones in the gay and lesbian community, and forms a bond with Cece that is beyond her wildest expectations.

KEEPING YOU A SECRET is a great, emotional read, pefect for anyone questioning their sexuality or their place in the world. A truly recommended read.

Reviewed by: Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant story about coming out and love!, 12 Aug 2009
By 
This is one of the first books I have read concerning questioning sexuality and it is excellent! Holland is a character that you can really relate to. The story has sad parts about being accepted for who are and standing up for yourself. Although it also gives a thrill when reading about how the two girls fall in love and support each other. A must read if you've in question yourself or just enjoy a good love story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Massive letdown, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keeping You a Secret (Kindle Edition)
This book was a huge disappointment, I stayed up for ages trying to read this, desperate to claw an ounce of enthusiasm or excitement that I thought eventually it may muster! How wrong was I? Well, in fact, very.

If you're just coming out and freaked out by lesbian sex, then this is the book for you, because there isn't any! Expect lots of hand-holding and sweetness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A winner for all teens, 17 Oct 2008
This review is from: Keeping You A Secret (Paperback)
I've just finished this book, and I believe this book would appeal to anyone who is struggling with who they are or their sexuality, it brings many topics and views to the front of your mind while you are reading and gives you a good few things to think about once you've finished!

Im not American and I do find that most books like this make me think that most American High Schools are filled with very bigoted, prejudiced people, I went to a C of E School and I didnt receive this sort of stigma in my school. I do understand, however, that many places are different in their stance on gay/bi/lesbian sexuality and can probably relate to many young peoples experiences and situations around the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars And..?!, 8 Dec 2013
This review is from: Keeping You a Secret (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the beginning of this book but then, it lost its way. When I realised I'd read the last page I felt I'd wasted a day of my holiday by reading it. It just ends! Not much of a story at all, I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeping You a Secret, 17 Jun 2007
This review is from: Keeping You A Secret (Paperback)
A wonderful book, not knowing what the plot was about at all I began reading with no expectations, i was plesently suprised. The novela shows a young woman discovering herself and her first true love. A brilliant insight into a difficult and sometimes controversial subject. A good read and very thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping you a secret by Julie Anne Peters, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keeping You a Secret (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant read it in one sitting whilst in bed with flu. Going to download another. Ali Broughty Ferry x x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nicely written, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keeping You a Secret (Kindle Edition)
Well written and contained gentle desire between two women, that grew into a lovely relationship. But as in life many things don't last forever.

But a lovely read and one I would as a hetro-sexual male reccomend, even if it shows other males how a woman deserves to be treated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kindle, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keeping You a Secret (Kindle Edition)
Amazing love story! I can't get this outta my mind since I finished this book. Highly recommended for people who struggles of coming out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Faye_Bell (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keeping You a Secret (Kindle Edition)
This book was one of those I didn't want to put down.
It gave me an insight into coming out to parents that are not so accepting.
I really felt how the characters were feeling, especially Holland. The love her and CeCE had was clearly made out through the story.
I would recommend this book to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa82ea2e8)

This product

Keeping You a Secret
Keeping You a Secret by Julie Anne Peters
3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews