Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
38
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2014
I loved this book and I'm not finished it yet. Susskind does what true zen masters do, makes the difficult and incomprehensible accessible. This is not to say that he treats his readers as children, far from it, you are expected to think and work. But not having a phD in applied physics this book has opened up Quantum physics to me in a way that really has me hankering to go back to school.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
Susskind is one of the most brilliant and intelligent theoretical physicists of our age and battles one of the most well known physicists, Stephen Hawking. In his book he describes Hawkings theory of black holes and how his theory that information falls into black holes and evaporates away through Hawking radiation, could shake the very foundations of physics.
If no one was to challenge this, a fundamental law of conservation of energy would be violated.
Susskind in this book walks you through step by step through the illogical conclusions to Hawkings theory. He uses little mathematics for none physicists except for a few necessary equations which are easy to grasp like calculating the entropy of a black hole.
He also proposes the three theories that would prove Hawkings theory wrong, these are:
Black hole complimentarity
Alice's aeroplane
Holographic principle
These may seem complicated but Susskind does a brilliant job in explaining these difficult concepts in the most simple terms along with string theory, quantum mechanics and general theory of relativity.
I recommend reading this book for an insight into one of the great physics debates of the last 30 years and for an in depth and simple explanation of some of the basic and necessary concepts in physics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2010
A great read. Susskind has quite a relaxed style of writing and is able to breeze through some of the most complex and controversial theories of the universe with ease carrying the reader with him.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
Excellent! Very simple analogies, progressive exposure to this very difficult science - I enjoyed the learning. I'm going back to read it again as I will obviously have missed something. Where can I get more of this wonderful man's writing?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2008
Leonard Susskind is not only a co-father of string theory, the holographic principle, and many other key concepts of physics but also one of the most original physicists of our era.

He's been fighting against some superficially plausible but fundamentally wrong ideas for decades. During this ferocious fight, he had to discover many fascinating things about quantum gravity.

The battle was about the preservation of the information by black holes. Using revolutionary but approximate results, Stephen Hawking has argued since the 1970s that the information is lost after a black hole evaporates. Leonard Susskind claimed that it was preserved: this preservation, also called unitarity, is one of the postulates of quantum mechanics and these postulates are and have to be completely universal.

Susskind was right. We know many reasons why it is so, including recent results in string theory, and many of them are explained in the book. We also know loopholes that show that Hawking's old qualitative arguments are not quite correct even though his numerical results are numerically almost accurate.

It took many years for Hawking to understand and admit that the information was preserved in the full theory and that physics makes sense. During those years, Susskind was a new "Ahab" waiting for Hawking's elusive concession. However, the book offers a lot of personal stories and emotions, too. Susskind talks about several well-known names of science such as Stephen Hawking, Gerard 't Hooft, Roger Penrose, and Richard Feynman. All of them, and others, have been players in this fascinating story.

Although Susskind is arguably the least known to the general public among these fives names, every real physicist would tell you that he is indisputably the most qualified person among the five to explain how black holes actually work in this quantum world.

Because as an outspoken son of a plumber, he is also close to the middle and working class and an articulate peer of Brian Greene and other great and charismatic science communicators, everyone who is interested in black holes, gravity, and quantum mechanics should read this book.

The physics book market was recently flooded by a lot of trash written by crackpots similar to Peter Woit and Lee Smolin and it is time for the most intelligent readers to pull their heads out of the sand and see one of the great things that cutting-edge theoretical physics has actually achieved by 2008.
55 comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
A very egocentrically written book about the physical concept of entropy (Newton's Second Law of Thermodynamics) and whether stuff that falls into a black hole over the course of trillions of years survives as some form of information. Hawking said "No". Susskind says Hawking was *wrong* because entropy cannot decrease. Anything that falls in beyond the event horizon of a black hole can't come back out the way it went in although a microscopically small black hole (if such a thing really exists) may radiate away its mass quite quickly. Black Holes as we understand them are very massive and they only can radiate away over a near infinity of time when our universe will have cooled to around absolute zero. The relevance of the argument to the world is also around absolute zero, with the exception of Dr Susskind's Talmudic ego. Quantum Mechanics is quite safe and may one day even enable a recovery of lost information (or would that confound the law of entropy?)
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
Susskind's Black Hole War is primarily a clear, simple explanation about black holes and the relevance of string theory. His description of the historical discussions - not only with Stephen Hawking - is written with humour and respect. Everyone interested in popular science should read this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2010
It's weight worth in gould. You are taken by the hand and lead through the facinating world of physics with Susskind as a most compotent guide. In order to get an insight in the mathematics you should get your hands on 'An Introduction to Black Holes, Information and the String Theory Revolution: The Holographic Universe' also by Sisskind. Simply spectacular!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
good book , very interesting , but gets a little hard to follow nearer the end , quite nice writing tho some very interesting concepts if not a little nuts !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A real eye opener. Some of the concepts were unbelievable but were presented in an understandable and fun way.
I'm looking forward to his next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)