Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Charlotte's Shoulders
I couldn't stop reading it.

It should be depressing because of the poverty and deprivation in every chapter. Ireland sounds like a third world country. There are many who become casualties of the times but it glows with hope and I want to know what happens to her next.
Published 10 months ago by V C Clark

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Long Read - 74 Chapters
I have just finished the book. The story concerns the happenings in the life of a married couple in Ireland and the raising of their 10 children. There live in a run-down tenement with no basic facilities. It is a constant struggle to feed themselves. The language in the book is not for the faint hearted. Something kept me reading this story but now that it is...
Published 3 months ago by super trouper


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Charlotte's Shoulders, 3 Nov 2013
This review is from: On Charlotte's Shoulders: A memoir of a tough Irish childhood and a mother's love (Kindle Edition)
I couldn't stop reading it.

It should be depressing because of the poverty and deprivation in every chapter. Ireland sounds like a third world country. There are many who become casualties of the times but it glows with hope and I want to know what happens to her next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Irish story, 10 Nov 2013
By 
Mrs. M. Spotswood "Maggie bookworm" (Oundle, Northants UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Charlotte's Shoulders: A memoir of a tough Irish childhood and a mother's love (Kindle Edition)
A well written account of life in Ireland full of yearning and nostalgia and innocence and deprivation, yet full of family feeling and unspoken love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly honest!, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Charlotte's Shoulders: A memoir of a tough Irish childhood and a mother's love (Kindle Edition)
couldn't put the book down! loved the honesty in the writing, and actually shed a tear by the end!

highly recommended for a good random read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner!, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm still reading the book but wanted to leave a review as soon as I could as I'm enjoying the book so much! Julie delightfully captures childhood and adolescent memories as we all do: a series of vignettes of remembered episodes placed in context by the people and places in them. The series of episodes weaves together a story of some sadness, loss and deprivation but a strong theme of love and family loyalty pervades all of the characters and the way they behave.

At times I have laughed out loud and at other have had a lump in my throat like few books manage to provoke. I've not enjoyed a book so much in a long time. I almost can't wait until my next commute to read a few more chapters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 28 Nov 2013
By 
Mrs. Mary Grant "Mary" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Charlotte's Shoulders: A memoir of a tough Irish childhood and a mother's love (Kindle Edition)
I am so absorbed with this book -so easy to read - absolutely fascinating. I haven't finished it yet but could quite easily down tools to do so. The characters come to life on each page. Was this really true? Julie, a similar age to me -did she really endure such pain and love all muddled in together. Written with a natural easy flow - God Bless the child who came out of such a poor deprived childhood to accomplish such excellent writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Charlottes shoulders, 15 Dec 2013
This review is from: On Charlotte's Shoulders: A memoir of a tough Irish childhood and a mother's love (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting read could not put it down so good from beginning to end if you like books from the past I would recommend this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy to read, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Charlotte's Shoulders: A memoir of a tough Irish childhood and a mother's love (Kindle Edition)
I like to read of life in days gone by , how people survived difficult conditions and improved their lifestyle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Before you go, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Charlotte's Shoulders: A memoir of a tough Irish childhood and a mother's love (Kindle Edition)
Really tough times for the family. True historical background and settings. With lots of family dynamics and great character s recommend this book to all readers who enjoy learning about how things were so hard in the not so distant past.
Lindasmouton@Gmail
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars on charlottes shoulders, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Charlotte's Shoulders: A memoir of a tough Irish childhood and a mother's love (Kindle Edition)
A very interesting read about what is now a well known story of Irish poverty and hard upbringing. Incorrect idea about the English I thought.We often had the same situation here though there was more work here. Poverty is poverty. It is what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 28 Nov 2013
This review is from: On Charlotte's Shoulders: A memoir of a tough Irish childhood and a mother's love (Kindle Edition)
I like true book .this was an interesting book on the life of a Catholic family ,how life can work .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews