Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read
An unusual plot with a couple of twists and a happy ending. Good characters and I enjoyed the way the plot switched between the two 'teams'. An easy and enjoyable read with descriptions that really put me in the scene.
Published 9 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good plot needs more editing....
I loved many aspects of this story despite the fact that it could do with re-editing and some characters developed or fleshed out more. I thought it was a great plot that kept me turning the page to see how the author would resolve things but nevertheless there were sadly several jarring moments suggesting the story would really benefit from a little more development and...
Published 8 months ago by Tweedledum


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jurassic Flight (Kindle Edition)
An unusual plot with a couple of twists and a happy ending. Good characters and I enjoyed the way the plot switched between the two 'teams'. An easy and enjoyable read with descriptions that really put me in the scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good plot needs more editing...., 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jurassic Flight (Kindle Edition)
I loved many aspects of this story despite the fact that it could do with re-editing and some characters developed or fleshed out more. I thought it was a great plot that kept me turning the page to see how the author would resolve things but nevertheless there were sadly several jarring moments suggesting the story would really benefit from a little more development and a good proof reader to sort out mistakes. Why did the passengers not know about the dinosaurs when they had clearly been told about them the day before? Why did one whole day pass in the crashed plane with nothing at all happening? Why did we suddenly learn about some survivors in the jungle in the middle of a paragraph about people on the plane? And when did a lunar month change from 4 to 6 weeks

There were several weaknesses in the story which in part may have been due to insufficient research. For example to have someone die peacefully when they have developed gangrene did not really ring true nor to have someone sitting peacefully beside this dying individual reading a chick lit novel! She did at least complain once about the smell! It was also a wee bit too convenient that a passenger happened to have a supply of morphine pills on him because he "was recovering from spinal surgery" yet was able to trek out into virgin forest inhabiting by dinosaurs. It was also stretching belief that the passengers just happened to discover some spades in the cargo of a routine passenger flight and that the passenger with the morphine had 3 handy hunting knives secreted in his luggage. . Is that likely?

I note the author has already done one rewrite and changed the title. I think the new title is excellent but please please do consider another good edit. It has the potential to be a really great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story until the end, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jurassic Flight (Kindle Edition)
What is wrong with authors these days? Good story and swift unsatisfying ending. What happend to David, Sandra and tony? We're they Adam and eve? Why were there no stars 65 million years ago?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant time-slip story, 20 Oct 2013
By 
Chris (Shropshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jurassic Flight (Kindle Edition)
I happen to enjoy stories that are reminiscent of The Lost World by A.Conan Doyle but there seem to me few that satisfy. If this is also your view, you must read this thrilling story which involves a time slip into Jurassic times. This is no corny tale; it has a chilling realism which brings home to you the incompatibility of man living in those times and the dreadful consequences should anyone find themselves there.Being helplessly isolated, relentlessly pursued and inexorably worn down mentally and physically are only parts of this story which contain powerful characterization coupled with compelling dialogue which switches from the contemporaneous present and past theme. Then comes the mind-grappling twist at the end. All reviews are naturally grounded in the reader's subject preference. All I can say is that if you're one of those people who wonder what your survival odds would really be like in those times and how you would cope - have a try at this book and be grateful it's only entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy flight, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jurassic Flight (Kindle Edition)
A well thought out and written story, the switch betwen now and then worked very well the only niggle I found was that I thought the ending was a bit weak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars It needs some work but it's worth a read., 17 Feb 2014
By 
Shel (North East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jurassic Flight (Kindle Edition)
It's an OK, quick read. The characters are all a bit 2D and none of which really stand out.

I know you're dealing with a book about dinosaurs so you have to suspend your disbelief a bit but there's some truly WTF moments in here like one paleontologist identifies a raptor must have attacked by looking at rips on a nylon sheet. That's some detective skills!

Usual quibbles that there's dinosaurs from the Cretaceous area walking about with Jurassic period applies too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars grammar, 6 Dec 2013
By 
G. Wright - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jurassic Flight (Kindle Edition)
A potentially good story ruined by not having been proofread. Spoiled my enjoyment of it. Send it to me to correct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars page turner, 20 Nov 2013
This review is from: Jurassic Flight (Kindle Edition)
This was a totally new genre and author for me and was unsure whether it would be 'my kind of thing'!
I was very pleasantly surprised.
It is a relatively short book, ideal for journeys or holidays but the story keeps you reading 'just one more chapter'. Easy to follow, despite the story being set in two time zones and the ending was more than satisfying.
i believe this was the very first book that this author has written, so with that in mind, it is excellent. i would certainly like to read more from him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good story well told, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jurassic Flight (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable light read, a good fun story well told with good pace. This is not a book that demands a lot from the reader and to be honnest it is all the better for it, I liked the charictors and they were written with skill and economy very enjoyable.
Best regards
Mike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jurassic Flight
Jurassic Flight by Martyn Ellington
1.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews