Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read
An unusual plot with a couple of twists and a happy ending. Good characters and I enjoyed the way the plot switched between the two 'teams'. An easy and enjoyable read with descriptions that really put me in the scene.
Published 20 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Half finished and rushed to the end. You'll wish you hadn't bothered to read it.
Not bad at all from an author who likes to embellish his own achievements to an extent that beggars belief, much like this book.

Well, I call it a book, it is more like a pamphlet. This is one of those 45 minute short stories which could have been so much more and much, much more gripping had the author put a bit more time into it.

The characters I...
Published 14 days ago by Lucy Lou


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read, 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yesterday's Flight (Kindle Edition)
An unusual plot with a couple of twists and a happy ending. Good characters and I enjoyed the way the plot switched between the two 'teams'. An easy and enjoyable read with descriptions that really put me in the scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Half finished and rushed to the end. You'll wish you hadn't bothered to read it., 18 Jun. 2015
This review is from: Yesterday's Flight (Kindle Edition)
Not bad at all from an author who likes to embellish his own achievements to an extent that beggars belief, much like this book.

Well, I call it a book, it is more like a pamphlet. This is one of those 45 minute short stories which could have been so much more and much, much more gripping had the author put a bit more time into it.

The characters I really could not care less about as he simply gave them to you, gave no feelings, not depth to them, then took them away. The last part of the book, chapter 11 onwards was a disgustingly short wrap simply stating "12 years after the crash everybody is now dead and I am about to take an overdose so the raptors don't get me"

WHAT???

Come on. You could have done more flashbacks, more stories about how they survived for so long, more stories slowly revealed as the diary pages were turned, but no, it just had to end and end it certainly did; with an almighty wallop.

He forgets that the person who wrote the diary stated "I've tried to log this as best I can" which means that there are loads and loads of stories to tell but instead the author tries to close the book by jumping 11 years.

Lazy, very lazy indeed. I would not mind but apart from the spelling and grammar errors the book wasn't too bad and the 2D characters could easily have been made whole by putting more onto the page.

As such this is a half a book and as such gets half the score it would have got if it were finished properly.

And what about Tony and Sandra? Completely forgotten about! Are they the Adam and Eve or was it the intention to drop them off? We'll never know.

The other bit that really grates is the dinosaur part; creatures that are presented with absolutely no indication that the author did any kind of research whatsoever.

The Velociraptor is spelt incorrectly at one point and has absolutely no means in which to take on a human, they are quite small animals in reality, once separated from the Jurrasic Park franchise. They are also separated from the T Rex by 20 million years so would not have appeared in the same jungle at the same time but even if they were around during the same period the T Rex was running around Canada and the USA whilst the Velociraptor was sneaking about in Mongolia!!

The Edmontonia would also have missed the party as they were separated from both the T-Rex and the Raptor by 10 million years!!

Come on, if you're going to write a book, at least get your facts right!!!!

Very lazy book, but an entertaining afternoon laughing at the ridiculousness of it all, so I gave two stars anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good plot needs more editing...., 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yesterday's Flight (Kindle Edition)
I loved many aspects of this story despite the fact that it could do with re-editing and some characters developed or fleshed out more. I thought it was a great plot that kept me turning the page to see how the author would resolve things but nevertheless there were sadly several jarring moments suggesting the story would really benefit from a little more development and a good proof reader to sort out mistakes. Why did the passengers not know about the dinosaurs when they had clearly been told about them the day before? Why did one whole day pass in the crashed plane with nothing at all happening? Why did we suddenly learn about some survivors in the jungle in the middle of a paragraph about people on the plane? And when did a lunar month change from 4 to 6 weeks

There were several weaknesses in the story which in part may have been due to insufficient research. For example to have someone die peacefully when they have developed gangrene did not really ring true nor to have someone sitting peacefully beside this dying individual reading a chick lit novel! She did at least complain once about the smell! It was also a wee bit too convenient that a passenger happened to have a supply of morphine pills on him because he "was recovering from spinal surgery" yet was able to trek out into virgin forest inhabiting by dinosaurs. It was also stretching belief that the passengers just happened to discover some spades in the cargo of a routine passenger flight and that the passenger with the morphine had 3 handy hunting knives secreted in his luggage. . Is that likely?

I note the author has already done one rewrite and changed the title. I think the new title is excellent but please please do consider another good edit. It has the potential to be a really great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story until the end, 30 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yesterday's Flight (Kindle Edition)
What is wrong with authors these days? Good story and swift unsatisfying ending. What happend to David, Sandra and tony? We're they Adam and eve? Why were there no stars 65 million years ago?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant time-slip story, 20 Oct. 2013
By 
Chris (Shropshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yesterday's Flight (Kindle Edition)
I happen to enjoy stories that are reminiscent of The Lost World by A.Conan Doyle but there seem to me few that satisfy. If this is also your view, you must read this thrilling story which involves a time slip into Jurassic times. This is no corny tale; it has a chilling realism which brings home to you the incompatibility of man living in those times and the dreadful consequences should anyone find themselves there.Being helplessly isolated, relentlessly pursued and inexorably worn down mentally and physically are only parts of this story which contain powerful characterization coupled with compelling dialogue which switches from the contemporaneous present and past theme. Then comes the mind-grappling twist at the end. All reviews are naturally grounded in the reader's subject preference. All I can say is that if you're one of those people who wonder what your survival odds would really be like in those times and how you would cope - have a try at this book and be grateful it's only entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy flight, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yesterday's Flight (Kindle Edition)
A well thought out and written story, the switch betwen now and then worked very well the only niggle I found was that I thought the ending was a bit weak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars It needs some work but it's worth a read., 17 Feb. 2014
By 
Shel (North East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yesterday's Flight (Kindle Edition)
It's an OK, quick read. The characters are all a bit 2D and none of which really stand out.

I know you're dealing with a book about dinosaurs so you have to suspend your disbelief a bit but there's some truly WTF moments in here like one paleontologist identifies a raptor must have attacked by looking at rips on a nylon sheet. That's some detective skills!

Usual quibbles that there's dinosaurs from the Cretaceous area walking about with Jurassic period applies too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Great fun and easy to read, 20 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yesterday's Flight (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant! Great fun and easy to read. Lots of gory deaths but I felt that the book was too short, as if the author ran out of steam and wanted to finish it quickly. Interesting idea and a great beach read. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great story but poorly written, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yesterday's Flight (Kindle Edition)
Has the makings of a great short film or an X File type drama and would have got 5 stars but for the really annoying spelling and grammatical errors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jurassic Flight, 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yesterday's Flight (Kindle Edition)
I can recommend this book ...Good twist to the end really enjoyed it I actually cared about some of the characters ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yesterday's Flight
Yesterday's Flight by Martyn Ellington
£2.24
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews