Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strap a Seatbelt on your Sofa
This is a fairly low budget but very well executed ghost story. Ted Levine (a first rate actor, probably best known as Buffalo Bill in The Silence of The Lambs), plays a dipsomaniac writer who has been involved in experimental governmental research into mind-altering drugs. The effect of the drugs is to give people psychic powers so that, like mediums, they can be in...
Published 1 month ago by Bill Mason

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Banish it Chapter, more like
I usually watch any film to the end despite how bad it is. But with this Banshee Chapter, I had to turn it off after 20 minutes as it was so bad. I am not a fan of these new style hand cam movies and The Blair Witch has a lot to answer for. That besides, the cover and the trailer make it look so good, but it should be done under the trades description act. If I could have...
Published 1 month ago by I. Pm Phillips


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Banish it Chapter, more like, 19 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banshee Chapter [DVD] (DVD)
I usually watch any film to the end despite how bad it is. But with this Banshee Chapter, I had to turn it off after 20 minutes as it was so bad. I am not a fan of these new style hand cam movies and The Blair Witch has a lot to answer for. That besides, the cover and the trailer make it look so good, but it should be done under the trades description act. If I could have given it a zero score, then I would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A few good jumps but sadly underwhelming, 4 Aug 2014
This review is from: Banshee Chapter [DVD] (DVD)
Banshee Chapter didn't really do it for me unfortunately, there's some intriguing ideas at play here but the film didnt hit enough of the right beatsto be a memorable horror.

The premise is basic but enticing - a drug developed by a shadowy part of the US government has some pretty alarming side effects. A good friend of our heroine, Anne, goes missing after taking the drug, then his camera carrying buddy who filmed him taking the drug also vanishes. Anne decides to investigate further with the help/hindrance of a Hunter S Thompson style novelist (played by Ted Levine).

I wont say much more about the plot but it all gets a bit strange from there. The opening scene is a cracker but I didn't think the film built enough real tension from then on. There's a few jumps along the way but these are mainly from the usual tool of dark quiet scenes being interrupted by sudden loud noises or the sudden appearance of characters from the gloom.

The films had an awful lot of praise so maybe its just me, it wouldn't be the first time. I came away disappointed though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strap a Seatbelt on your Sofa, 30 Jun 2014
By 
Bill Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Banshee Chapter [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fairly low budget but very well executed ghost story. Ted Levine (a first rate actor, probably best known as Buffalo Bill in The Silence of The Lambs), plays a dipsomaniac writer who has been involved in experimental governmental research into mind-altering drugs. The effect of the drugs is to give people psychic powers so that, like mediums, they can be in touch with the spirit world. Predictably enough, when this happens it opens the door to a particularly malevolent spirit wreaking havoc with test patients. The film is slightly slow paced, but this doesn't hurt its effectiveness, it is genuinely scarey with several moments which will have you jumping out of your skin. The scenes of patients being strapped down on a chair and suffering the aftermath of the drugs, are far from gorey, but quite disturbing. The lead actress, who I've never seen before, is a thinking man's eye candy, and plays a journalist for an internet newspaper, whose closest male friend goes missing. She starts to investigate the disappearance of her friend, which leads her to Ted Levine's character, and the two of them then go off on a quest to solve the mystery. There is a twist in the tale right at the end, which you may or may not be able to predict. If you like the Rec movie - the Spanish version of the first one - this is in a similar style but with a lot less blood and guts. Well worth viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banshee Chapter [DVD] (DVD)
Service was 1st class but the film was utter rubbish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy the ticket, take the ride, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banshee Chapter [DVD] (DVD)
This film is supposedly based around facts gathered from the american experiments into the mind-control drug MK Ultra during the 70's.

A young woman's male friend has disappeared after experimenting with the said substance. She decides to try and find out what happened to him - with weird consequences...

To sum up, Ted Livine suits his role perfectly. He pretty much carries this film, taking it beyond it's meagre roots. This is a well-made quirky horror for people who are adverse to gory 18 certificate films. It also serves as a good antidote for anyone tired of the usual dross. A commendable 4.5 stars.

Extras/Special Features:

Behind the scenes and trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the jumpiest films I've ever seen., 15 Jan 2014
This review is from: Banshee Chapter [DVD] (DVD)
Honestly, this is one of the jumpiest horror films I've ever seen! The opening sequence sets the film up really well, mixing conspiracy theory with truth to create one hell of a creepy introduction. I liked the sudden gore too which I wasn't expecting. Todd Levine is great playing horror's Hunter S. Thompson! One of my absolute favourites from last year's FrightFest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frightfest, 13 Dec 2013
This review is from: Banshee Chapter [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this at Frightfest in August 2013 and it got my vote for the scariest film I saw that year...it's a great story with strong cast and it keeps you guessing as it isn't the same old possession story.
It looks great, sounds great and is genuinely very scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MK-Ultra - one hell of a drug, 25 Jan 2014
By 
S. Millman (Penarth, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Banshee Chapter [DVD] (DVD)
Films have used technology as a conduit for creepiness for a long time. Ringu, Shutter, Videodrome, One Missed Call - all varying in quality, but the list goes on and on. There's just something very disturbing about staring into static and suddenly finding someone staring back.
Banshee Chapter explores the idea of number stations - shortwave radio stations that emit random sequences of numbers for no apparent reason - which are actually real and pretty creepy in themselves. Our heroine investigates the disappearance of a friend who recently took a secret drug developed by the government, documented on a tape that was interrupted by one of these stations. She uses her skills as a journalist to investigate the drug further, following the pathway of this station's range. She discovers that whoever takes this drug usually disappears, stating something along the lines of "they're here" and triggering the number station to play on any nearby radios. (This will be familiar fare to any fans of recent internet urban legend. I would be shocked if the writer or crew weren't inspired by SCP or Slenderman, or any of their spinoffs.)
The film has an interesting tone, and didn't fall into the trap of making their characters unlikeable or underdeveloped. I cared about the main character, and found that she acted fairly logically and understandably for the situation (or, as much as the situation allowed). The story was well paced, well timed, and the scares were ok, if a little predictable.
I think that is my main criticism for Banshee. While the idea of it is very scary - number stations, a mystery drug, government testing, Lovecraftian themes - it never really lives up to it's themes. It is scary in parts, but there's so much you could do with those ideas that doesn't lead down the usual jump scare and handheld, grainy found footage roads. It's not as predictable as, say, a slasher like Scream, but a seasoned horror fan could see some of the scares coming a mile off. And those scares were usually, oh look, there's a person there that wasn't before or oh, that guy has no eyes. It could have been so, so inventive and great but it was just - decent.
Banshee also suffers from quite hokey special effects - the scary reveals are always fairly brief to combat this - but that doesn't really detract from the scares or enjoyment of the film. It seems to be a pretty low budget production so it's understandable, and personally, I'd prefer to see a story and script up to standard than excellent SFX.
Aside from the excellent number station motif, the sound design is also quite lame. Heart beats, soaring strings, occasionally a random synth... It's all usual horror film fare, and I would have liked to have heard something a bit more subtle or original to match the interesting subject matter.
Aside from all that, Banshee is still quite an interesting and entertaining horror movie. There are some genuine jump scares and an overall creepiness that you won't forget for a while. With a bit of polishing, it could have been excellent, but as it stands it's an ok film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Banscream Chapter!, 14 Jan 2014
This review is from: Banshee Chapter [DVD] (DVD)
Such a unique suspense filled, heart pounding horror! I had to sleep with the light on for week after watching this at Frightfest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need to watch this again!, 13 Jan 2014
This review is from: Banshee Chapter [DVD] (DVD)
I first watched Banshee Chapter at last year's Film4 FrightFest in London and was blown away by it! I had read very little about it beforehand so I went in with a friend as she was dying to watch it. I can honestly say that it freaked me the hell out. It plays around with fact and a supernatural fiction that had everyone in the cinema on the edge of their seats! The cast were excellent too - massive props to Ted Levine (from Silence of the Lambs) who rocks this awesome Hunter S Thompson-type vibe throughout. Anyway, after telling a lot of my friends about this I've just found out that it's coming to DVD this month. Desperate to watch this again - but not alone that's for sure! Best horror I've seen in ages. 5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Banshee Chapter [DVD]
Banshee Chapter [DVD] by Blair Erickson (DVD - 2014)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews