Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive achievement
I very much enjoyed Heretic (and I'm an aficionado of horror). I found it suspenseful and creepy, depending on good old suspense and atmosphere for its shocks rather than CGI and other special effects. It's got a few jump out of your seat moments and a shock ending that i didn't see coming and is a solid story with some good performances and an intelligent script...
Published 9 months ago by Hattie

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A brave attempt!
Considering the non-existent budget the director has achieved a great deal - but not enough to make this film a success. An understandable apparent lack of rehearsal, and an imaginative but repetitive plot, don't help the young and clearly talented cast to really showcase their abilities. Andrew Squires, in the lead role, has considerable ability and eventually, given the...
Published 4 months ago by Adrian Drew


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A brave attempt!, 17 Jun 2014
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heretic [DVD] (DVD)
Considering the non-existent budget the director has achieved a great deal - but not enough to make this film a success. An understandable apparent lack of rehearsal, and an imaginative but repetitive plot, don't help the young and clearly talented cast to really showcase their abilities. Andrew Squires, in the lead role, has considerable ability and eventually, given the right project, should gain the recognition he deserves - this however was not the right project! Still he makes a darn good try to give coherence to the under-developed script. At the end to he day with virtually no money a group of committed young actors and an new production team have actually made a full length feature which is better than many similar British Film Council enterprises and for that they should be congratulated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars why all the positive reviews?, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heretic [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I cannot understand for the life of me why there are all these positive reviews for this movie. I purchased this blu ray off the back of those reviews and I was left really disappointed.
I found this film to be boring and really slow, I was really wanting to turn it off but I thought, I have paid for it and so I am going to watch it the whole way through. It seemed like forever but I finished the film and was still none the wiser as to what had happened. I just found it tedious.
Also I found the blu ray transfer to be appalling, the film looked soft and blurred.
This is just my humble opinion, but I did not enjoy this movie at all, I was expecting great things and if just failed to deliver on every level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive achievement, 27 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Heretic [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I very much enjoyed Heretic (and I'm an aficionado of horror). I found it suspenseful and creepy, depending on good old suspense and atmosphere for its shocks rather than CGI and other special effects. It's got a few jump out of your seat moments and a shock ending that i didn't see coming and is a solid story with some good performances and an intelligent script. Proof that you don't need millions of dollars to turn in a good scary movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended British horror film., 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heretic [DVD] (DVD)
After a muddling start ,though intriguing and not confusing,i'm so glad the film straightened out and kept us watching as each stage of the film became more and more unsettling with a great sense of macabre and chilling tension. Very impressed with Andrew Squires troubled priest .....SPOILER ALERT...eventually coming face to face with his deranged other self in a Golum?Smeagol battle for one mind scenario.
Also what made me give this the full 5 stars instead of 4 is that because ot the twist it didn't turn out to be just another ghost story. Also ,i'm also a fan of horror films without music,relying on big bangs and clashes to back up the visual shocks to startle you, this being a film that definately works in that context without music, silence being more unnerving than loud scary music.
Highly enjoyable British horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting low budget horror, 4 Feb 2014
By 
Joanne Sheppard (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heretic [DVD] (DVD)
This film appears to have been made on a pretty low budget, which means you won't find showy set-piece shocks or fancy effects. It's a low-key chiller about a Catholic priest who is haunted by the ghosts of a family he failed to help when they called upon him for advice and guidance.

Most of the performances are good and it's an interesting premise that focuses heavily on the age-old Catholic theme of confession, guilt and penance. However, the plot does become quite episodic and plodding during the middle section and ultimately, I simply didn't find it particularly frightening. The end section is interesting but could have, I think, been a little better executed and perhaps more subtly portrayed. Definitely worth watching though, and I'd like to see more films from those behind it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars True heresy committed to film, 20 Mar 2014
This review is from: Heretic (DVD)
Normally, I try to find something positive to say about a film. Plus, I like to give ‘home-grown’ (British) films a chance. They don’t often have the budgets or stars that their Hollywood counterparts often do. But, if the quality of a film was based on its budget, then Michael Bay would have won every Oscar ever.

Unfortunately, ‘Heretic’ is basically only slightly better than your average student film. It was made for a mere (in film terms) £30,000 and it shows.

I watch a lot of horror films and I don’t expect Oscar-worthy performances, but the acting here is terrible. No, it’s worse than terrible. It really is some of the worst performances ever committed to film. It’s like no one here is an actor and everyone is just a friend who offered to ‘help out’ by ‘starring’ in this low budget flick.

Basically, if it was simply not scary that would be one thing. However, seeing as it’s not scary AND pathetically acted then you really want to steer well clear of this abomination. There really isn’t anything good to say about it. If you read any ‘Five star’ reviews then I’ll put money on them being written by friends of the film-makers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heretic [DVD] (DVD)
Decent enough horror good story line
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Low budget horror, 20 Dec 2013
This review is from: Heretic [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film at the Leeds international film festival in a cinema in Hyde Park. Loved the slow burn element to the story and was gripped all the way through. Very intelligent horror in a old school style, its what you don't see that makes this film very fighting. Great cast and some truly terrifying moments. Good to see it out on DVD to buy.

Highly recommended if you like old school religious horror, like "Omen" or "Don't look now"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heretic [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this at a packed out Hyde park cinema at the International film festival in Leeds last year, thrilled it's come out on DVD!

A creative plot that does indeed slow burn from a perplexing unease to a hand over the mouth horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chilling, 20 Dec 2013
This review is from: Heretic [DVD] (DVD)
This film took me by surprise. The atmosphere set is one that pulls you in, and despite this not being a Hollywood blockbuster, it has all the ingredients of one. Fantastic acting by the guy in the lead, Andrew Squires, really powerful. A great film, a good sign that the underbelly of British cinema is alive and kicking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heretic [DVD]
Heretic [DVD] by Peter Handford (DVD - 2014)
£4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews