Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good overview of post-war buildings
A very personal and idiosyncratic book about Britain's post-war building boom.

Having been born in a new town, I moved to another one after a few years in London, and have visited a few others, so I found some chapters absolutely fascinating. They were not actually about either of the towns I lived in, but I'm pretty sure the issues were the same...
Published 3 months ago by A. Skudder

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read.
A snapshot throughout the country, of the rush, scandal and corruption to clear the slums, after WW2 and re-house 'en mass'. Some chapters better than others. (Probably, depends where you live or personal connections, making certain parts of the book, more engaging). Very well researched and excellent references for further reading.
Published 10 months ago by Mrs. K. C. Rutherford


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good overview of post-war buildings, 21 Feb. 2015
By 
A. Skudder (Crawley, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concretopia: A Journey around the Rebuilding of Postwar Britain (Kindle Edition)
A very personal and idiosyncratic book about Britain's post-war building boom.

Having been born in a new town, I moved to another one after a few years in London, and have visited a few others, so I found some chapters absolutely fascinating. They were not actually about either of the towns I lived in, but I'm pretty sure the issues were the same.

But the book isn't just about the new towns. Much as it would have increased the chances of me getting to read about Crawley or Basildon, it would have just been the same story over and over again. Instead, there are also sections about the precursors to the new towns (Letchworth), the inner city redevelopment of Newcastle, Sheffield and Glasgow, the Festival of Britain and the National Theatre, Coventry cathedral, the Barbican and the Elephant & Castle. Oh, and Milton Keynes, New Addington/Croydon and some places I had never heard of.

I liked the objective approach to the book. It seems that commentators on architecture or planning are either completely dismissive of anything made from concrete or completely brutalist, but this is a lot more nuanced, admiring what is admirable about, say the Cumbernauld town centre or Sheffield's Park Hill estate while not ignoring what was wrong with them

While this is essential for anybody living in a new town who wants to understand a bit more about how they came about I think it will interest just about anybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tales from a Clockwork Jerusalem, 16 Nov. 2014
By 
Rough Diamond (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Concretopia is a cleverly-structured and highly personal account of Britain's postwar redevelopment, from the breezy make-do optimism of the first prefabs to the squalor, hubris and corruption of the John Poulson era. It's a genuinely tragic story. It's hard to believe now that today's gang-ridden inner-city high-rise no-go zones were the product of an idealistic attempt to build a new socialist Jerusalem amidst the rubble of Britain's postwar devastation. John Grindrod does an excellent job of piecing together how and where it all went wrong - and, occasionally, where it all went right.

Grindrod has travelled the UK to visit many of the grand (and less grand) residential and commercial developments of the '40s, '50s, '60s and '70s. Many of the most striking moments of his book are his interviews with the people of who live and work there. This is grass-roots social history at its best, and really brings home the successes and failures of the mid-century generation of architects and town planners that so profoundly shaped today's urban and suburban environment. Grindrod's affection and enthusiasm for some of Britain's more unloved corners is such that it will make you start planning day trips to Coventry, Croydon and Cumbernauld. If you've enjoyed John Kynaston's histories of postwar Britain, and if your heart beats a little faster in the presence of immense slabs of pre-cast concrete, then this will be right up your street.

A big thumbs-up to Old Street Publishing for an excellent job on the paperback edition: nice crisp type, lots of well-chosen photographs and some really groovy cover art. Warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 8 Feb. 2014
By 
This review is from: Concretopia: A Journey around the Rebuilding of Postwar Britain (Kindle Edition)
A fascinating review of post war 'modernism' in architecture and its failure and successes (though fewer of the later). Having worked for Milton Keynes development corporation for 20 years I see that it has factual short coming but never the less it is highly interesting and a thoroughly.
good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Building a Dream?, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concretopia: A Journey around the Rebuilding of Postwar Britain (Kindle Edition)
A pretty good history of British building development from those heady post war days to now. The easy style makes it easy to see what went wrong and indeed what went right. As usual, the dreams turn into nightmares simply through those two human frailties - greed and apathy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars incredibly readable, 26 April 2014
By 
tallmanbaby (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concretopia: A Journey around the Rebuilding of Postwar Britain (Kindle Edition)
Concretopia on Kindle

I was reading this, sitting in my garden, over the recent sunny Easter weekend, and there was something very apt about the uplifting story of Britain rebuilding itself after the second world war and the austerity of rationing, with nature coming into flower all around me.

The story is about buildings, both the big and famous like the Barbican and the small and everyday like housing estates. The basic message of the book is that there was a great deal more that was positive and good about what was done after the war, than was bad. The author is clearly one of the growing number of fans of Brutalist architecture, but this is often put in context by interviews with people who actually lived in some of these modernist monstrosities, and loved them.

The style of writing is very personal, interviews, reminiscences, research and personal opinions all just come tumbling out. Better to take it as what it is, than to try and treat it as an overly informal academic tome.

I found the book hard to put down, a long book, but packed with stories and incident. On Kindle there are a good selection of functional black and white photos and an index with hotlinks. A very well put together title for the Kindle and well worth the money.

I would only offer a few quibbles, first off the title is off-putting, the book is vastly more appealing than the title, I was a bit confused about the various developments on the London South Bank, the author seems to assume that we all know London well enough that these buildings need little introduction, and finally, the chapters seem to have been written, then plonked down. A bit more signposting that something came up in an earlier chapter, or would come up again in a later one, would have made in a bit slicker.

Having said all that, if you have any interest in urbanism, architecture, housing, or the history of the postwar period, then this book comes highly recommended, and will whet your appetite to find out more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read, 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concretopia: A Journey around the Rebuilding of Postwar Britain (Kindle Edition)
As a review of the post-war fascination with modern building methods, this seems very good. It takes the reader from the post-war need for speedy building of homes through the brutalist architecture fashionable in the sixties and seventies to more recent developments. It does not include everything (no mention of Thamesmead, even in passing), but it would probably have had to be twice as long to do so. It is a personal journey round the country visiting places as diverse as Cumbernauld, Coventry Cathedral, and Milton Keynes, meeting those. An enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making sense of why Britain looks the way it does, 21 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Concretopia: A Journey around the Rebuilding of Postwar Britain (Kindle Edition)
As someone born at the start of the 70's I grew up in a time when new-build was all backward looking Barratt boxes. The modernism of post war Britain was already in place and was generally derided - I never understood how this far more inspirational phase of British development had come about. This tells the story in an accessible, engaging and entertaining way. Fascinating from start to end and full of wonderful stories and anecdotes from both residents and builders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good read. The interviews by the author are excellent ..., 28 April 2015
This review is from: Concretopia: A Journey around the Rebuilding of Postwar Britain (Kindle Edition)
A really good read. The interviews by the author are excellent and illuminating of the detail of the major shifts of design and construction in the post war years, while there is a good overview of what happened generally in the UK. This book rekindled my memories of these events at the time, and reminded me about my holiday job as a labourer at New Ash Green just as work was starting there - I must go back and see it now. A well written book that's informative, entertaining and more gripping than some good novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The shape of things to come, 17 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concretopia: A Journey around the Rebuilding of Postwar Britain (Kindle Edition)
I was brought up in Crawley New Town in the 1950s. After reading Concretopia I understand just how radically this post war environment shaped its children. Grindrod (is that a nom de plume?) presents a fascinating, insightful and engagingly written account of how the built environment creates our aspirations. Now I know why I yearned for a thatched cottage with roses round the door.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A humourous and informative romp through modernist planning and architecture, 7 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concretopia: A Journey around the Rebuilding of Postwar Britain (Kindle Edition)
As one who grew up during the period covered by most of this book, it's interesting to look again at this intense period of re-building of our landscape. At the time much of this development seemed exciting and progressive but, in hind sight, a lot of beautiful and interesting Victorian buildings were simply disregarded and flattened in the process....along with their distinctive communities.
This book revisits some of these old battlegrounds and examines them with an open mind and a wry affectionate humour.
I read it in a couple of sittings - it is really well written and moves along at a good pace although there is plenty of detail and thoughtful comment.
Nostalgic without being dewy eyed, this is great book for all those who are interested in why our towns and cities look as they do today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews