Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars28
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.89
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 November 2013
This is a beautifully made little book which is ideal for a stocking filler present. It looks good and feels good. The author explains Tudor life in no-nonsense language, including various interesting and relevant illustrations. The book is an ideal pick up at any time and easily carry on reading from where you left off book. It is not highly academic so anyone looking for that in this book will be disappointed. What this book does give the reader is a very interesting and realistic snapshot of life in the Tudor period. The author is completely engaging the whole way through.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
I have so many books relating to the Tudors, it's a bit of a fetish of mine!!! Many of course relate to the totals but with this little nugget, I expected more explanation about life in general and the masses. Now don't get me wrong, we do see more of general unadorned life but it wasn't long before the inevitable royal stories crept in. There are both royal reference & novels covering and recovering this part of history; whilst fascinating, I wanted to learn more social history. I knock one star off because neither aspect is then covered in any great detail, so seems "bitty" .
If you like me are Tudor obsessed, it won't matter too much and you will certainly enjoy this little book. Just don't come to it expecting to learn much more than you already know.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
Loved this book interesting. Very informative about tudor life in general.unsustainable!
Would highly recommend it to all ages .hope to read more books of this calibre
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
I bought this for my partner as a stocking filler. He loves it. Its very informative and
for anyone interested in this era he would thoroughly recommend.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
A little guide to Tudor England, looks at life across all social strands from the nobility to the commoner. Clothing, health and food are all covered along with the monarchs themselves and those who worked for them.
Although I guess this is just an overview on the subject (brought out for the Chrsitmas market) it's a little too brief at times, the black and white illustrations are dull and I really disliked the harsh comments about the Plantagenets. Some of the information was interesting but they are a number of books available that pack more of a punch.
On the positive side, the book is nicely packaged, good cover and the chapters do flow together well, just a shame that the content wasn't a bit more detailed.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
I enjoyed reading this book. It's a perfect sized book, which allows one to finish the book from start to finish without the point of the book becoming convoluted and forgotten.
It's a nice introduction to the history of the Tudors, but not a book for someone studying the period in the detail as I was at the time. But it was still an enjoyable read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
It is very interesting and easy to carry if travelling. I was very pleased with it. I would recommend it others.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
This is a really lovely little book and ideal for anyone interested in Tudor history. It's a small book so ideal for taking it on the train, in the car and in your handbag. Packaged well and good delivery time
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
This is a cracking wee book for a quick overview of the Tudor reign. It takes you through their clothes, their ministers their food etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
This little book gave hints about the Tudors drill reading so can't give a full review. But will give a update when read the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)