Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Celebration Of Streisand Magic
This magical live performance, recorded six months after her 70th birthday, shows why Barbra Streisand has been a global superstar for 50 years.

The occasion was the first two nights of her world tour beginning in Brooklyn, the place where she was born. She was performing with a 65 piece orchestra conducted by Bill Ross that provided such sparkling arrangements...
Published 17 months ago by Angel Delta

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Love Barbra Streisand but a little disappointed with this CD
Love Barbra Streisand but a little disappointed with this CD. My fault, hadn't realised it was from a live concert. I don't like live perfomances as a rule. Too much talking, and trying to sing their well known songs differently.
Published 5 months ago by do wolfenden


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Celebration Of Streisand Magic, 25 Nov. 2013
By 
Angel Delta (Southsea Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To Brooklyn (Audio CD)
This magical live performance, recorded six months after her 70th birthday, shows why Barbra Streisand has been a global superstar for 50 years.

The occasion was the first two nights of her world tour beginning in Brooklyn, the place where she was born. She was performing with a 65 piece orchestra conducted by Bill Ross that provided such sparkling arrangements to all the Streisand favourites. From the gorgeous opener "As If We Never Said Goodbye" to the closing anthem "Some Other Time", this is a masterclass in demonstrating the range, sweetness and power of her voice and the total control that she has over it.

In her own words it is a celebration of music that she loves and written by people that she loves. This is the perfect cue for her to deliver stunning performances of the late Marvin Hamlisch's Oscar winning songs "Through The Eyes Of Love" and "The Way We Were" followed by a dramatic reading of Jule Styne's "Being Good Isn't Good Enough".

Of course, no Streisand performance would be complete without another Oscar winner, "Evergreen", from the movie "A Star Is Born" and another Styne classic, a spine tingling "People" from "Funny Girl". Among my own favourites is an enchanting reading of the Jimmy Webb classic, "Didn't We" and a gently swinging Cole Porter delight, "You're The Top".

Other standards include a duet with her gifted son, Jason Gould, singing Irving Berlin's "How Deep Is The Ocean" and "What'll I Do/My Funny Valentine, a Berlin/Rodgers & Hart medley, featuring some superb trumpet from Chris Botti.

These performances are magnificent and, in all senses, this album is a triumph for Barbra Streisand. For the rest of us, it's a celebration of half a century of Streisand magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Barbra...., 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To Brooklyn (Audio CD)
Love this one...as a confirmed Streisand fan....I am duty bound to say its good, but besides that, its BRILLIANT anyway....and the one that has you listening even more closely than before is the duet Barbra does with her son Jason... a definate must for all fans of REAL music anyway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Babe, 13 April 2014
By 
Howard J. Coleman (London England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To Brooklyn (Audio CD)
Barbara is back voice and appearance just wonderful to hear hear voice and she looks just beautiful it's a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to Brooklyn - Barbra Streisand, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To Brooklyn (Audio CD)
It's a great CD which I will listen to and enjoy hearing very often. I highly recommend it to any Barbra fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To Brooklyn (Audio CD)
Bought this for my ladyfriend and the comments coming back from her are 100% enjoyable, I sneaked a listen of It before I posted It and It has to be said I've heard 90% of the tracks before, but the overriding message Is quality from 1st to last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To Brooklyn (Audio CD)
What an absolute joy to listen to. Captivating and thrilling throughout! A must buy for any fan most definitely. One of her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of her Best !, 15 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To Brooklyn (Audio CD)
This is one of her best and captures her style of music. Easy Listening and very powerful. She really makes the songs her own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars back to brooklyn, 20 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To Brooklyn (Audio CD)
as usual Barbra excels with her records I have been a fan for more years than I care to admit. I have many of her recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To Brooklyn (Audio CD)
Would let other people to buy this item. This was well put together, we enjoyed every minute of it. Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Barbra's latest., 29 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To Brooklyn (Audio CD)
I have enjoyed her music since forever so am thrilled with this cd.Not much else to say except I wish she'd play an affordable concert over here for the likes of me that can't afford the astronomical seat prices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Back To Brooklyn
Back To Brooklyn by Barbra Streisand (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews