Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent.
A suspenseful debut. The author created a real feeling of jeopardy for the lead character, Abby. You're thrown straight into the story right from the beginning, with the back story filled in on the way. You could understand her fears and frustration at not knowing whether someone was a good guy or a bad guy.

Quite a few characters are introduced in the first...
Published 17 months ago by DarkAngel

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars formulaic and far too pat..
Bought based on previous reviews but found the story following an ABC guide on how to write a novel.
All the "goodies" were wholesome people all carrying a bit of emotional baggage and all the "Baddies" were thoroughly wicked.
everyone from the same ilk got on with everyone else and everything tied neatly together in the end, just like real live...
Published 10 months ago by David taylor


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Green Line (Kindle Edition)
A suspenseful debut. The author created a real feeling of jeopardy for the lead character, Abby. You're thrown straight into the story right from the beginning, with the back story filled in on the way. You could understand her fears and frustration at not knowing whether someone was a good guy or a bad guy.

Quite a few characters are introduced in the first chapters, and sometimes you're kept guessing for a while as to which side they're on. But once you know who's who the story flows well.

There are 3 main characters, each narrating their thread of the story. But it is mainly told from Abbys' viewpoint. And she makes a real personal journey and seems more likeable/balanced at the end.

If Abby has further adventures, I'd certainly be interested in reading them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars formulaic and far too pat.., 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Green Line (Kindle Edition)
Bought based on previous reviews but found the story following an ABC guide on how to write a novel.
All the "goodies" were wholesome people all carrying a bit of emotional baggage and all the "Baddies" were thoroughly wicked.
everyone from the same ilk got on with everyone else and everything tied neatly together in the end, just like real live really...not!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The green line didn't really hold my interest, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Green Line (Kindle Edition)
I thought this book was a bit tedious. Only I hate to give up on a book, I would probably not have finished it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Green Line (Kindle Edition)
Wasn't sure when I first started reading but eventually had me gripped, a good story but I thought it would end differently , can't say why as would give it away, would recommend .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grisham watch out, 25 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Green Line (Kindle Edition)
Not a bad first novel at all. Great characters you can care about _ shame grand finale hangs on such a coincidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Green Line (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading a thriller without the usual gore from the victims point of view rather than the detectives view
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant First Novel, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Green Line (Kindle Edition)
I have never written a review before, but I enjoyed this so much I felt compelled to add my view. Great characters and exciting storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Started and finished in 3 hours without a break, 10 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Green Line (Kindle Edition)
Good use of language / great pace / well defined characters / story developed well and quickly / would translate well onto screen. Hope it doesn't take another 8 years for another novel by E. C Diskin I'll certainly buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Green Line (Kindle Edition)
Quite hard work to get into this, reasonable story, but...... really would people actually behave like this.... Yes most of us have fallen asleep on the tube, train, etc... but really....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor read, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Green Line (Kindle Edition)
Slow and predictive. Not a good read because you know what is coming next. Very poor literation. Not to be recommend .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Green Line
The Green Line by E.C. Diskin
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews