Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars105
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2013
My expectations were pretty high for this film. I loved the trailers and I'm particularly a fan of Will Ferrell so my anticipation was piqued when I put this in the player. Did it meet my expectations? Sort of, I suppose.

The good parts first; if nothing else this film is a top notch send up of politicians. Meaningless and woolly answers to questions were spot on and showed the art of diversion that so many campaigns (both sides of the Atlantic) are unfortunately built on. There were some genuinely funny, and cringeworthy, moments peppered throughout that will live in the memory, and ultimately there was a satisfying conclusion that offered the kind of integrity thatthis viewer would certainly welcome in real life.

There were some let downs in the film though, mainly the unnecessary "shock" jokes and lines that I could personally have done without. I also felt that it tried too hard to emulate, and perhaps imitate, the off the wall Anchorman style humour and, while this in itself is not necessarily a bad thing, it does leave you comparing the films and unfortunately The Campaign is just a notch below.

Ultimately it's a really good comedy, but its not among Farrells best and subsequently not worthy of a 5 star rating.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
Cam Brady (Will Ferrell) is a congressman who runs unopposed. After he leaves a graphic obscene phone call at a wrong number, he becomes vulnerable. The rich Motch brothers (Koch brothers) decide they can buy this election and own a congressman in the effeminate Marty Huggins (Zach Galifianakis). The story centers around their over the top, no holds bar campaign against each other.

The film news extras include mostly the MSNBC crowd. The humor is crude and sexual such as when Marty's wife (Sarah Baker) admits "I touch myself to Drew Carey on "The Price is Right." Okay so who doesn't.

It is a satire of the American electorate who relish slogans and sound bites over substance. It makes a statement on how our nation can be bought, but not as good as Steven Colbert. At times the film becomes too over the top and loses sight of the satire.

Parental Guide: F-bombs, sex, brief nudity (Amelia Jackson-Gray)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 15 March 2014
This film is an outrageous political satire , with Will Ferrell playing a variation of his George Bush ,You're Welcome America  , character in a movie with his unique style of comedy alongside current hot property, The Hangover's Zach Galifianakis.

Ferrell is carefree congressman Cam Brady, who enjoys the stature & luxuries of his title rather then caring about the job & what it entails itself. Up for what he thinks will be yet another easy re-election campaign. However he doesn't bargain on Marty Huggins (Galifianakis, reminiscent of Ned Flanders) a genuine yet simple man who wants to give something back to his community. The pair face off across a series of hilarious heated political question time meetings, bizarre ad campaigns & meeting totally bizarre people etc...trying to destroy each others credibility as they're crazy stunts relate to the election poll going up or down in they're favor. While outside influences in the shape of slimy, big businessmen played superbly by Dan Aykroyd (Ghostbusters) & John Lithgow (Cliffhanger), who try to use the candidate that is most willing, to help them sell land in the contested district to the Chinese for billions.

The odd characters we meet along the way & the set pieces are very funny indeed, i particularly loved Marty's family meeting to put their dirty laundry/sins on the table before he runs for congress & Cam Brady making up the words reciting the Lord's Prayer with the help of Jason Sudeikis miming hints. Dylan McDermott (Olympus Has Fallen) is funny as the political fixer whose trademark is to appear & disappear into thin air (where did he come from in the shower scene ?). As is Karen Maruyama as an Asian maid who does African American & Spanish accents. Also co-stars Jason Sudeikis (We're The Millers) as Cam's campaign manager & Brian Cox (Braveheart) as Marty's father.

In conclusion, The Campaign doesn't always hit the mark with the funnies & may take a few viewings to fully get into, but, is still an hilarious satire that scarily is probably closer to reality than we might think. If you enjoy Ferrell's style of comedy in such films as Step Brothers or Anchorman, you'll like this a lot. Contains strong language, violence & mature themes. Recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
My expectations were pretty high for this film. I loved the trailers and I'm particularly a fan of Will Ferrell so my anticipation was piqued when I put this in the player. Did it meet my expectations? Sort of, I suppose.

The good parts first; if nothing else this film is a top notch send up of politicians. Meaningless and woolly answers to questions were spot on and showed the art of diversion that so many campaigns (both sides of the Atlantic) are unfortunately built on. There were some genuinely funny, and cringeworthy, moments peppered throughout that will live in the memory, and ultimately there was a satisfying conclusion that offered the kind of integrity thatthis viewer would certainly welcome in real life.

There were some let downs in the film though, mainly the unnecessary "shock" jokes and lines that I could personally have done without. I also felt that it tried too hard to emulate, and perhaps imitate, the off the wall Anchorman style humour and, while this in itself is not necessarily a bad thing, it does leave you comparing the films and unfortunately The Campaign is just a notch below.

Ultimately it's a really good comedy, but its not among Farrells best and subsequently not worthy of a 5 star rating.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
Cam Brady (Will Ferrell) is a congressman who runs unopposed. After he leaves a graphic obscene phone call at a wrong number, he becomes vulnerable. The rich Motch brothers (Koch brothers) decide they can buy this election and own a congressman in the effeminate Marty Huggins (Zach Galifianakis). The story centers around their over the top, no holds bar campaign against each other.

The film news extras include mostly the MSNBC crowd. The humor is crude and sexual such as when Marty's wife (Sarah Baker) admits "I touch myself to Drew Carey on "The Price is Right." Okay so who doesn't.

It is a satire of the American electorate who relish slogans and sound bites over substance. It makes a statement on how our nation can be bought, but not as good as Steven Colbert. At times the film becomes too over the top and loses sight of the satire.

Parental Guide: F-bombs, sex, brief nudity (Amelia Jackson-Gray)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
WHEN YOU'VE GOT THE MONEY NOTHING IS UNPREDICTABLE HOW TRUE, BUT.....POLITICS AS ENTERTAINMENT?...THATS THE QUESTION I ASKED MYSELF AT THE END OF THE CAMPAIGN. AS WITH ALL THE WILL FERRELL FILMS I LAUGHED,I LOVED....AND ZACH GALIANAKIS AS HIS PATSY OPPO ..JUST BRILLIANT....BUT YOU JUST KNOW THE JOKE IS ON US REALLY....THOSE IN POWER IN AMERICA LIKE ENGLAND WHO WRAP THEMSELVES IN YES MINISTER JUST SIT AND LAUGH AT THE MAYBE TO CLOSE TO THE TRUTH REALITY WHILE COMFORTABLE IN THE SMUG KNOWLEDGE THIS IS WHAT WERE LIKE, THIS IS THE WAY IT IS, WHAT YOU GONNA DO ABOUT IT FOLKS? THAT SAID THE QUALITY OF MR FERRELL IS IN THE DETAIL AND HIS BRAND OF LAUGHTER MEDICINE DOES ME THE WORLD OF GOOD.SO FOR A GREAT ESCAPE FROM TV NEWS,BLOODY RADIO PHONE-INS...SO, TELL US WHAT YOU THINK? ARRRRH !!!!!!!!! DO YOURSELF A BIG FAVOR PEOPLE ....GO FOR SOME LAUGHS. THE CAMPAIGN VIA AMAZON .U.K.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
After watching ‘Anchorman’ I became one of the biggest Will Ferrell supporters around, no matter what he released I would always find something in it, knowing that ‘Anchorman’ was just so good. However, after mediocre affair after mediocre affair, the shine has finally worn off. ‘The Campaign’ is a classic example of his more recent output; ok, but he is no longer the outstanding comedian of his generation.

Ferrell plays Congressman Brady, a lazy politician whose guaranteed re-election has made him incredibly lazy and disrespectful. Enter the dweeby Marty Huggins (Zach Galifianakis), a put upon softy who decides to run against Brady. The film is ripe for political satire and at times it plays it well. However, this is a knockabout comedy starring Ferrell and Galifianakis, so it is more about stupid antics than intelligent debate. Some of the daft scenes are good fun and the way that the dirty tricks spiral out of control is well written. The issue is that some of the scenes just fall flat.

Like so many recent R rated comedies, ‘The Campaign’ is filled with unlikable characters. Neither Brady nor Marty is particularly sympathetic and they had to add some shady lobbyists to make them look even vaguely like decent people. Towards the end, when the inevitable clash of characters leads to a mutual respect they do grow on you. I would actually like to see a sequel where the two characters get to play off one another as allies; their incompetency would make them as bad a set of friends as they were enemies. An amusing comedy that is standard for America at the moment, but not exceptional in any way.

Not much in terms of extras on the version I saw, just some deleted scenes that you don’t really need to see. In terms of whether HD is needed, like so many comedies, it is perfectly serviceable on DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
After watching ‘Anchorman’ I became one of the biggest Will Ferrell supporters around, no matter what he released I would always find something in it, knowing that ‘Anchorman’ was just so good. However, after mediocre affair after mediocre affair, the shine has finally worn off. ‘The Campaign’ is a classic example of his more recent output; ok, but he is no longer the outstanding comedian of his generation.

Ferrell plays Congressman Brady, a lazy politician whose guaranteed re-election has made him incredibly lazy and disrespectful. Enter the dweeby Marty Huggins (Zach Galifianakis), a put upon softy who decides to run against Brady. The film is ripe for political satire and at times it plays it well. However, this is a knockabout comedy starring Ferrell and Galifianakis, so it is more about stupid antics than intelligent debate. Some of the daft scenes are good fun and the way that the dirty tricks spiral out of control is well written. The issue is that some of the scenes just fall flat.

Like so many recent R rated comedies, ‘The Campaign’ is filled with unlikable characters. Neither Brady nor Marty is particularly sympathetic and they had to add some shady lobbyists to make them look even vaguely like decent people. Towards the end, when the inevitable clash of characters leads to a mutual respect they do grow on you. I would actually like to see a sequel where the two characters get to play off one another as allies; their incompetency would make them as bad a set of friends as they were enemies. An amusing comedy that is standard for America at the moment, but not exceptional in any way.

Not much in terms of extras on the version I saw, just some deleted scenes that you don’t really need to see. In terms of whether HD is needed, like so many comedies, it is perfectly serviceable on DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A send-up look at a U.S congress election campaign in which 'Cam Brady' has
served unopposed for four terms, suddenly finding unlikely candidate 'Marty
Huggins' standing against him.
The Campaign spirals out of control, each Candidate launching a scathing
assault on each other,
Much in the way of tongue-in-cheek and often crude humour as the character
of each is publically torn-apart, each seeking to humiliate the other.
Plenty of laughs to be had.
(Politics as we know it ?)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 March 2013
I think that, living in Britain and being brought up on such classics as `Yes, Minister' and `The Thick of It,' the bar has been raised pretty high when it comes to political satire. The Campaign is about two political rivals, vying to be Senator in America. It's not as clever as either of the British TV shows; it's more low-brow and slapstick - definitely not as clever. However, it's still good in its own way.

Will Ferrell is on form as one slimy Senator and Zach Galifianakis is equally amusing as his hapless and dopey rival. It's daft, enjoyable fun that anyone can enjoy with plenty of laugh out loud moments.

It really doesn't matter who wins as the story comes secondary to seeing the two leads send up politicians in general for the lying, patronising, amoral, self-serving cads they are with their polished manufactured image and double-standards (I could go on).

Maybe The Campaign is a sad sign of the times? Once upon a time politicians were respected figures of authority. Now they're so unpopular that they're easy fodder to be sent up - and we enjoy seeing them presented like this.

It may not be a classic, but it has enough `laugh out loud' moments to make it definitely worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.