Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny but not hilarious
My expectations were pretty high for this film. I loved the trailers and I'm particularly a fan of Will Ferrell so my anticipation was piqued when I put this in the player. Did it meet my expectations? Sort of, I suppose.

The good parts first; if nothing else this film is a top notch send up of politicians. Meaningless and woolly answers to questions were spot...
Published 8 months ago by R. Forse

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Campaign FUNding
After watching ‘Anchorman’ I became one of the biggest Will Ferrell supporters around, no matter what he released I would always find something in it, knowing that ‘Anchorman’ was just so good. However, after mediocre affair after mediocre affair, the shine has finally worn off. ‘The Campaign’ is a classic example of his more recent...
Published 2 months ago by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny but not hilarious, 23 July 2013
By 
R. Forse (Taunton, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
My expectations were pretty high for this film. I loved the trailers and I'm particularly a fan of Will Ferrell so my anticipation was piqued when I put this in the player. Did it meet my expectations? Sort of, I suppose.

The good parts first; if nothing else this film is a top notch send up of politicians. Meaningless and woolly answers to questions were spot on and showed the art of diversion that so many campaigns (both sides of the Atlantic) are unfortunately built on. There were some genuinely funny, and cringeworthy, moments peppered throughout that will live in the memory, and ultimately there was a satisfying conclusion that offered the kind of integrity thatthis viewer would certainly welcome in real life.

There were some let downs in the film though, mainly the unnecessary "shock" jokes and lines that I could personally have done without. I also felt that it tried too hard to emulate, and perhaps imitate, the off the wall Anchorman style humour and, while this in itself is not necessarily a bad thing, it does leave you comparing the films and unfortunately The Campaign is just a notch below.

Ultimately it's a really good comedy, but its not among Farrells best and subsequently not worthy of a 5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..TOP COMEDY..", 4 July 2013
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Brilliant comedy hilarious from beginning to end which is exactly what any good comedy needs!! Great cast both top of their game leading a very funny story full of over the top crude yet side-splitting humour, certainly don't miss this if you're a big Will Ferrell fan, a few good funny extras too, all round money well spent!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best and funniest film in ages - a must see even if your not a big Ferrell or Zak fan., 16 Feb 2014
I wasn't expecting much from this when I watched it at the cinema as I'm not a huge Will Ferrell or Zak Galifianakis fan.. but there wasn't much on at the time so I thought - why not.

The film is just hilarious!.. perfectly cast and perfectly paced and directed, I just roared all the way through! All the supporting cast are fantastic as well - with great (over)acting from John Lithgow, Jason Sudeikis, Brian Cox, Dylan McDermott and of course the dog from 'the artist' !

A great comedy about American politics and politicians and the depths they will go to win an election - at ANY cost!!

This was the best film of 2013 by a mile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love anchorman....., 4 Jan 2014
By 
mummy spoon (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a big fan of Will Ferrell and have loved pretty much every film I've seen him in but this is one of his best in my opinion, yes there are some silly jokes, but I have honestly never laughed so much at a film, my sides hurt when it was over.
Since watching it, I have bought it for several family members who have all enjoyed it too so if you like Will Ferrell's style, particularly in Anchorman then I am sure this will be a hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lmao, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Campaign [DVD] (DVD)
be prepared to laugh will ferrell super funny as per i still love step brothers however this is defo worth a watch !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great cast, great laughs (mostly), 15 Mar 2014
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This film is an outrageous political satire , with Will Ferrell playing a variation of his George Bush ,You're Welcome America , character in a movie with his unique style of comedy alongside current hot property, The Hangover's Zach Galifianakis.

Ferrell is carefree congressman Cam Brady, who enjoys the stature & luxuries of his title rather then caring about the job & what it entails itself. Up for what he thinks will be yet another easy re-election campaign. However he doesn't bargain on Marty Huggins (Galifianakis, reminiscent of Ned Flanders) a genuine yet simple man who wants to give something back to his community. The pair face off across a series of hilarious heated political question time meetings, bizarre ad campaigns & meeting totally bizarre people etc...trying to destroy each others credibility as they're crazy stunts relate to the election poll going up or down in they're favor. While outside influences in the shape of slimy, big businessmen played superbly by Dan Aykroyd (Ghostbusters) & John Lithgow (Cliffhanger), who try to use the candidate that is most willing, to help them sell land in the contested district to the Chinese for billions.

The odd characters we meet along the way & the set pieces are very funny indeed, i particularly loved Marty's family meeting to put their dirty laundry/sins on the table before he runs for congress & Cam Brady making up the words reciting the Lord's Prayer with the help of Jason Sudeikis miming hints. Dylan McDermott (Olympus Has Fallen) is funny as the political fixer whose trademark is to appear & disappear into thin air (where did he come from in the shower scene ?). As is Karen Maruyama as an Asian maid who does African American & Spanish accents. Also co-stars Jason Sudeikis (We're The Millers) as Cam's campaign manager & Brian Cox (Braveheart) as Marty's father.

In conclusion, The Campaign doesn't always hit the mark with the funnies & may take a few viewings to get into, but, is still an hilarious satire that scarily is probably closer to reality than we might think. If you enjoy Ferrell's style of comedy in such films as Step Brothers or Anchorman, you'll like this a lot. Contains strong language, violence & mature themes. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Campaign FUNding, 10 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: The Campaign [DVD] (DVD)
After watching ‘Anchorman’ I became one of the biggest Will Ferrell supporters around, no matter what he released I would always find something in it, knowing that ‘Anchorman’ was just so good. However, after mediocre affair after mediocre affair, the shine has finally worn off. ‘The Campaign’ is a classic example of his more recent output; ok, but he is no longer the outstanding comedian of his generation.

Ferrell plays Congressman Brady, a lazy politician whose guaranteed re-election has made him incredibly lazy and disrespectful. Enter the dweeby Marty Huggins (Zach Galifianakis), a put upon softy who decides to run against Brady. The film is ripe for political satire and at times it plays it well. However, this is a knockabout comedy starring Ferrell and Galifianakis, so it is more about stupid antics than intelligent debate. Some of the daft scenes are good fun and the way that the dirty tricks spiral out of control is well written. The issue is that some of the scenes just fall flat.

Like so many recent R rated comedies, ‘The Campaign’ is filled with unlikable characters. Neither Brady nor Marty is particularly sympathetic and they had to add some shady lobbyists to make them look even vaguely like decent people. Towards the end, when the inevitable clash of characters leads to a mutual respect they do grow on you. I would actually like to see a sequel where the two characters get to play off one another as allies; their incompetency would make them as bad a set of friends as they were enemies. An amusing comedy that is standard for America at the moment, but not exceptional in any way.

Not much in terms of extras on the version I saw, just some deleted scenes that you don’t really need to see. In terms of whether HD is needed, like so many comedies, it is perfectly serviceable on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny funny funny!!, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You can't go Wrong with these two but this film is hilarious!! Highlights include punching a baby and a jack Russell :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aloe vera by name..., 28 Jan 2014
The thing with Will Ferral is the fact that he is very hit and miss. More miss lately.

For every Anchorman and Elf, we get a Talledega Nights and Land of the lost. Of late, he has excelled more in bitter sweet dramas, but here, we lie somewhere in between funny and average.

It's a topical movie, especially being released in a presidential race year, and here lies the main fault, it could have been so more risqué and really lambasted the US government, but instead, it goes for the usual Ferrall shtick and Galafianakas kookiness.

The latter has never been better in a movie, he really is great in this, and doesn't overdo his persona, like he does in the awful Hangover movies.

The set pieces are funny, and what makes films like this funny, isn't the stars, it's the random characters they bump into, or punch, through out their journey.

Even though the film is a very dark streak running down it for the most part, it loses points at the end for falling into the schmaltz pot and going all sickly sweet for a happy ending.

If I stayed dark all the way through, like other rival comedies, it could have been something.

Instead, it's a mildly amusing comedy, with Ferrell being better than he has for a while, but it appears that the makers have not took many risks in order to offend anyone.

Which it should have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'POLITICS AS WE KNOW IT ?, 25 Feb 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
a send-up look at a u.s congress campaign in which 'cam brady' who has
served 'north carolina' unapposed for four terms, suddenly finds unlikely
candidate 'marty huggins' standing against him.
the campaign spirals out of control each candidate launching a scathing
assault on the other.
much tongue-in-cheek and often crude humour as the character of each is
publicly torn appart, each seeking to humilliate the other.
( another day in the office ? )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb58696a8)

This product

The Campaign [DVD]
The Campaign [DVD] by Jay Roach (DVD - 2013)
4.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews