Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great strategy Game
First civ game I've ever bought, totally worth 5 pounds I paid, I would recommend to anyone who enjoys strategy.
Published 2 months ago by Nick

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Civ5 playable
Sorry but the basic civ5 has nothing on civ4.all the promises,they have made a diplomatic victory but you nneed to be a total polotic animal to use it because its complicated.the one unit to a hex HAS made it more interesting butn also much more difficult especially in settler settings.It takes a while to get used to it.I dont know what the expansions are like but i hope...
Published 2 months ago by Lee.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great strategy Game, 16 Feb 2014
This review is from: Civilization V (PC DVD) (Video Game)
First civ game I've ever bought, totally worth 5 pounds I paid, I would recommend to anyone who enjoys strategy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun for new players, lacking for Civ IV users, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. James Russell "Grim_Russell" (Macedonia / Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Civilization V (PC DVD) (Video Game)
First of all, as a few have said: THE DVD ISN'T THE GAME! All the DVD will do is install Steam, on which you have to set up a user account, then enter the verification code from inside the DVD case. You have to be connected to the internet throughout. There doesn't seem to be a way around this. Oh, and you don't even get a manual inside the DVD case – which is a HUGE let-down after Civ IV's massive, readable manual.

FOR NEW PLAYERS
Civilization has always been engaging, fun, interesting, and addictive in a good way. Strategy bods like me will love it especially. Civ V is a great entry into the franchise, and can be expanded with two separately purchased packs, Gods & Kings and Brave New World.

FOR EXISTING CIV PLAYERS
If you're used to Civ IV and Civ IV Beyond The Sword, Civ V will be a bit underwhelming. There's a big improvement in the quality of gameplay –you can't stack military units, for example, and the Social Policy choices make a nice change from the 'this one or this one' approach to Civics in Civ IV. Units can 'embark' once you've researched optics, and you don't even need to load them into a boat. And most importantly, as they've tried to implement in every Civ game since III, bigger is not better. You're significantly punished for raising a large empire. Oh, and city states are a great idea, filling the map out with pawns to help you accomplish your goals

But, there's not much to it. Players of even the original (vanilla) Civ IV may be disappointed in the lack of things to do. Diplomacy is very simple, but not straightforward. You may miss the detailed + and - ratings for leaders' opinions about you, and the AI is still not exactly rational. I recently had someone ask me to go to war together against another player, and after I accepted, my ally now calls me 'a warmongering menace to the world'.

I recommend anyone well-versed in Civ IV to upgrade to Gods & Kings or Brave New World immediately. The gameplay would be improved but not so simple it becomes boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mothers day present, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Civilization V (PC DVD) (Video Game)
bought this for my mam for mothers day and i must admit we have not played a civilization game since the ps1 days and my god how its changed... we cant figure it out how to work it :) but still a great game and great value of money :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 13 April 2014
This review is from: Civilization V (PC DVD) (Video Game)
1st civ game ever got i think the hexagonal interface is amazing it runs really fast and on my computer u don't get any ads I recommend u get this game totally worth paying 7 pounds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Decent Civ, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Civilization V (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I have missed the last few evolutions of Civilisation but this one plays well and has some nice new features. I like units with experience and hit-points. I like conquest victories only having to take the capitol cities. On the minus side, performance is a bit sluggish (particularly at startup) and I find resources (Iron, Coal, etc) hard to see amongst all the other map icons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Civ5 playable, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Civilization V (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Sorry but the basic civ5 has nothing on civ4.all the promises,they have made a diplomatic victory but you nneed to be a total polotic animal to use it because its complicated.the one unit to a hex HAS made it more interesting butn also much more difficult especially in settler settings.It takes a while to get used to it.I dont know what the expansions are like but i hope they are better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Civ Five, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Civilization V (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Disappointed that the chosen character/Race has a random starting point. Otherwise a massive visual improvement & all other changes are positive. Like it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good role playing game, 14 Dec 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Civilization V (PC DVD) (Video Game)
A role playing game about world domination and that is just as good as the previous four versions prior to this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 11 Dec 2013
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Civilization V (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Even before he watched the kettle boil James Watt knew a thing or two about steam. Alas, after trying in vain to load this version of Sid Meier's iconic game I still know nothing about Steam -- the platform that takes over installation and sets alarm bells ringing in Windows Defender.There is nothing in the Amazon blurb to warn the unwary of this intrusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars way less functional than civ 4, 14 Dec 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Civilization V (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This is just so clunky!! It looks better than 4 and has some new features that force you into more balanced game play, but it constantly struggles to catch up with itself at almost every turn. My PC is above the spec required, but playing this and waiting for it to process other players moves, waiting for it to move across the map, and waiting while it slooowly remembers which units you have that are waiting instructions is just torturous.
Glad it was extra cheap as I'll probably revert to Civ 4 and hope they sort things out for later releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7e7f48c)

This product

Civilization V (PC DVD)
Civilization V (PC DVD) by Mastertronic (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
7.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews