Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
18
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£29.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2013
Bit of a mixed bag this one. The title track is very a strong dance number, featuring the vocal talents of Example alongside Neil's distinctive clipped tones. The Tensnake Remix, personally doesn't feel as strong as the single, it's a bit too pure dance for me. The surprise though comes with the 2 "b-sides", as both of these are ballads which jar slightly for me with the whole "electric" vibe. Pretty much all of the material released so far has been pure dance tracks. Not that I'm averse to PSB ballads (Do I Have To?, and Rent immediately spring to mind as greats), but I don't think either of these are up there with those. Of the two, No More Ballads is definitely the stronger, with Odd Man Out being a bit simplistic for me.

Also, a strange thing happened with the Free Auto-Rip "MP3" version of the CD that I received yesterday. This was the "Remix" version of the single, which meant I got 2 extra remixes for virtually nowt (albeit in 256Mb/s MP3 format). Nice treat.
33 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 January 2015
The final single from PSB's Electric album finds Neil pleading with a friend on a Thursday night to stay for the weekend. The Stuart Price production glitters as usual, but it's the presence of a ubiquitous rap by Example that causes most divide. Copying a device used in much of today's music, some love it, some don't - it's the Marmite moment. A remix byTensnake adds a dance groove to pproceedings, but the whole point of PSB singles are really the b sides. Here we find two that clearly didn't fit with the album's dance theme, the astounding No More Ballads and Odd Man Out. NMB features the sweetest tune - but dig into the lyrics and you'll find a quite astonishing outpouring of disgust, an excellent juxtaposition. OMO includes a sample towards the end taken from the 1961 film Victim, and could easily be a rejected track from A Man From The Future, their current project in waiting. The topic is blackmail of a homosexual from a time when it was illegal, told from a bitter perspective. On paper that might not sound a promising premise for a song, but it is - as usual PSB manage to incorporate a stance in a song and make it stand on its own feet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
In there recent Graeme Norton radio interview it looks like this could be there last single release from the fantastic Electric album which would be a crying shame.Nontheless Thursday although not my favourite track on the album is still a good catchy PSB tune which will appeal to the mainstream aswell as Pet Heads!The collaboration with Example works really well.
No more ballads and Odd Man Out are more slower paced affairs (possibly from the Elysium era)and grow on you after a few listens,i especially enjoy the spoken part in Odd Man Out.The tensnake remix of Thursday does not anything at all,bland and uninspiring.
Finally it comes wrapped in another gatefold sleeve similar to there other recent releases,very nice indeed!
33 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
First I want to say that I really love the song Thursday very much. It's very reminescent of West end girls : one of their first singles and I just love the sound the Pet Shop Boys use to have in the 80's. This brings back memories and it's very refreshing today to hear this song.

But when you're a fan you buy the singles for other things than the main song (and the Pet Shop Boys know that and have played with that for a very long time now). So usually when you buy a Pet Shop Boys single, you buy it, not for the main song but the (often) unavailable b-sides or extra-tracks that won't be found on a PSB album for a decade at least (since now they release b-sides or extra-tracks album compilations every 10 years or so).

And this is what disappointed me here. The 2 extra-tracks here are very weak and No more ballads even has very embarassing lyrics. Especially when you're used to Neil Tennant's astute and sarcastic lyrics (well most of the time but certainly not here). Even the single version of Thursday has the original album version butchered to make room for Example's rap and still make it under 4 minutes.

So there really is not much to save in this single release. Yes, the song Thursday (in its album form) is very good and the glossy cover is always a nice touch but the songs and remix in here are really forgettable. It's maybe time for the boys to make a break and come back in 3 years when a brand new album with fresh new and interresting material will be available. Personnally, I can't wait for that. But if you haven't bought this single already, you can forget about this one and buy the album instead.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
I was looking forward to the b-sides as they're usually awesome but the two on this single are a bit dull and dreary and both sound quite similar. The remix is nowhere near as good as the usual disco remixes associated with the Pet Shop Boys. Finally, I was looking forward to listening to the "No-Rap Radio Edit" only to find it contained the rap anyway! strange.... If that was Thursday, Roll on Friday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
I agree that this is a little disappointing - the title track is not the best thing on the parent album, however it remains a solid if unspectacular generic PSB dance track. The comment about the boys 'selling out' by incorporating a rap on the track makes no sense to anyone who knows anything about Pet Shop Boys at all. I have to say that I am not keen on either of the two slower tracks: No More Ballads and Odd Man Out - both are instantly forgettable, while the Tensnake Remix of Thursday is decent but adds little to the original. After the outstanding CD single releases of Love is a Bourgeois Construct and Vocal this is a bit of a let-down really, but I have no doubt that the boys will bounce back.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
You know, one might think that the Boys "sold out" to a "rap featuring" to gain some places in the charts, but the result doesn't sound not even a little bit corny!
Neil and Example's voices are both where they should be.
As for the track, it's a clever blend of Please-era tracks, Human League and modern RnB.
Actually, the track is so good that I think that the boys, all-time champions of the charts, don't bother if they don't hit the Top 20.
And, as always, the band is generous with the bonus tracks: a single-exclusive edit, a remix and b-sides.
No, the single format is not dead!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
This is a very good cd single from one of the best cuts on their latest release. The bonus tracks really make this a must buy for any fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
Item received in god condition but does smell of cigarette smoke, which wasn't mentioned in the listing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
Hard to fault this. 'Electric' did not have a poor track on it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.73

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)