Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mixed bag of tracks, but bonus MP3s
Bit of a mixed bag this one. The title track is very a strong dance number, featuring the vocal talents of Example alongside Neil's distinctive clipped tones. The Tensnake Remix, personally doesn't feel as strong as the single, it's a bit too pure dance for me. The surprise though comes with the 2 "b-sides", as both of these are ballads which jar slightly for me with the...
Published 8 months ago by DEATH (Leics Branch)

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars thursday (reviewed on a tuesday)
I was looking forward to the b-sides as they're usually awesome but the two on this single are a bit dull and dreary and both sound quite similar. The remix is nowhere near as good as the usual disco remixes associated with the Pet Shop Boys. Finally, I was looking forward to listening to the "No-Rap Radio Edit" only to find it contained the rap anyway! strange.... If...
Published 8 months ago by M. Cavill


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mixed bag of tracks, but bonus MP3s, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thursday (Audio CD)
Bit of a mixed bag this one. The title track is very a strong dance number, featuring the vocal talents of Example alongside Neil's distinctive clipped tones. The Tensnake Remix, personally doesn't feel as strong as the single, it's a bit too pure dance for me. The surprise though comes with the 2 "b-sides", as both of these are ballads which jar slightly for me with the whole "electric" vibe. Pretty much all of the material released so far has been pure dance tracks. Not that I'm averse to PSB ballads (Do I Have To?, and Rent immediately spring to mind as greats), but I don't think either of these are up there with those. Of the two, No More Ballads is definitely the stronger, with Odd Man Out being a bit simplistic for me.

Also, a strange thing happened with the Free Auto-Rip "MP3" version of the CD that I received yesterday. This was the "Remix" version of the single, which meant I got 2 extra remixes for virtually nowt (albeit in 256Mb/s MP3 format). Nice treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD Single by one of Pop's best Duos, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thursday (Audio CD)
This is a very good cd single from one of the best cuts on their latest release. The bonus tracks really make this a must buy for any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thursday (Audio CD)
In there recent Graeme Norton radio interview it looks like this could be there last single release from the fantastic Electric album which would be a crying shame.Nontheless Thursday although not my favourite track on the album is still a good catchy PSB tune which will appeal to the mainstream aswell as Pet Heads!The collaboration with Example works really well.
No more ballads and Odd Man Out are more slower paced affairs (possibly from the Elysium era)and grow on you after a few listens,i especially enjoy the spoken part in Odd Man Out.The tensnake remix of Thursday does not anything at all,bland and uninspiring.
Finally it comes wrapped in another gatefold sleeve similar to there other recent releases,very nice indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE BIGGEST ELECTRONIC GROUP!!, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thursday (Audio CD)
I HAVE NO WORDS TO SAY FOR PET SHOP BOYS. MAYBE THE BIGGEST GROUP IN POP MUSIC.THIS SINGLE IS THE BEST SONG FROM ALBUM "ELECTRIC"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The 80s in the 10s, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thursday [VINYL] (Vinyl)
PSB at their best. Lovely "modern 80s" sounding song, including a rap by British mega star, Example.
Another TOP 10 caliber song, not accompanied by decent promotion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Love this song but the single in itself isn't as great as the others, 26 Nov 2013
By 
dneaeade (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thursday (Audio CD)
First I want to say that I really love the song Thursday very much. It's very reminescent of West end girls : one of their first singles and I just love the sound the Pet Shop Boys use to have in the 80's. This brings back memories and it's very refreshing today to hear this song.

But when you're a fan you buy the singles for other things than the main song (and the Pet Shop Boys know that and have played with that for a very long time now). So usually when you buy a Pet Shop Boys single, you buy it, not for the main song but the (often) unavailable b-sides or extra-tracks that won't be found on a PSB album for a decade at least (since now they release b-sides or extra-tracks album compilations every 10 years or so).

And this is what disappointed me here. The 2 extra-tracks here are very weak and No more ballads even has very embarassing lyrics. Especially when you're used to Neil Tennant's astute and sarcastic lyrics (well most of the time but certainly not here). Even the single version of Thursday has the original album version butchered to make room for Example's rap and still make it under 4 minutes.

So there really is not much to save in this single release. Yes, the song Thursday (in its album form) is very good and the glossy cover is always a nice touch but the songs and remix in here are really forgettable. It's maybe time for the boys to make a break and come back in 3 years when a brand new album with fresh new and interresting material will be available. Personnally, I can't wait for that. But if you haven't bought this single already, you can forget about this one and buy the album instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars thursday (reviewed on a tuesday), 12 Nov 2013
By 
M. Cavill "Dr.PoP" (cornwall, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thursday (MP3 Download)
I was looking forward to the b-sides as they're usually awesome but the two on this single are a bit dull and dreary and both sound quite similar. The remix is nowhere near as good as the usual disco remixes associated with the Pet Shop Boys. Finally, I was looking forward to listening to the "No-Rap Radio Edit" only to find it contained the rap anyway! strange.... If that was Thursday, Roll on Friday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of their best singles in years, 6 Nov 2013
This review is from: Thursday (Audio CD)
You know, one might think that the Boys "sold out" to a "rap featuring" to gain some places in the charts, but the result doesn't sound not even a little bit corny!
Neil and Example's voices are both where they should be.
As for the track, it's a clever blend of Please-era tracks, Human League and modern RnB.
Actually, the track is so good that I think that the boys, all-time champions of the charts, don't bother if they don't hit the Top 20.
And, as always, the band is generous with the bonus tracks: a single-exclusive edit, a remix and b-sides.
No, the single format is not dead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thursday's child was mediocre, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thursday (Audio CD)
I agree that this is a little disappointing - the title track is not the best thing on the parent album, however it remains a solid if unspectacular generic PSB dance track. The comment about the boys 'selling out' by incorporating a rap on the track makes no sense to anyone who knows anything about Pet Shop Boys at all. I have to say that I am not keen on either of the two slower tracks: No More Ballads and Odd Man Out - both are instantly forgettable, while the Tensnake Remix of Thursday is decent but adds little to the original. After the outstanding CD single releases of Love is a Bourgeois Construct and Vocal this is a bit of a let-down really, but I have no doubt that the boys will bounce back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Star., 4 Nov 2013
This review is from: Thursday (Audio CD)
This is the best single Pet Shop Boys have put out since Love etc. in 2009. A must buy for any PSB fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thursday
Thursday by Pet Shop Boys (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews