Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..CLASSIC 80'S EROTIC HORROR.."
PLOT...
The Cat People originated way back in time, when humans sacrificed their women to leopards, who mated with them. Cat People look similar to humans, but must mate with other Cat People before they transform into panthers, Irena Gallier was raised by adoptive parents and meets her older brother Paul for the first time since childhood. We follow brother and...
Published 1 month ago by S. Drury

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Me Rambling as Usual
I first have to first admit that to me Nastassia Kinski will always be Tess Durbeyfield, in Roman Polanski's adaptation of Thomas Hardy's "Tess of the D'Urbervilles". So it was with some trepidation that I decided to watch "Cat People", in case my image of her was ruined forever. Fortunately it all turned out okay.

The plot follows the discovery by Nastassia...
Published on 10 Jan. 2010 by Cactus


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..CLASSIC 80'S EROTIC HORROR..", 27 May 2015
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
PLOT...
The Cat People originated way back in time, when humans sacrificed their women to leopards, who mated with them. Cat People look similar to humans, but must mate with other Cat People before they transform into panthers, Irena Gallier was raised by adoptive parents and meets her older brother Paul for the first time since childhood. We follow brother and sister who seem to be the only ones of their kind left. Irena does not want to be like her brother and falls in love with another man, then the animal starts to show,

This is a fantastic 80's cult classic that's really worth picking up, great story that's well paced out with plenty of really blood violent scenes of attacks and graphic female nudity mainly from the beautiful Nastassja Kinski, the cast is great, Nastassja and Malcolm McDowell are both good leads, there are some great looking practical effects in this movie too with the gore and the make-up, the transformation scenes are very cool what we see of them, this is a bizarre but brilliantly entertaining movie, shocking, brutal, sexy, well worth checking out now it has an awesome Blu-ray treatment.

Blu-ray looks great in HD (certainly better than DVD) (MediumRare Entertainment)
You do get a DVD version included also as a bonus (2-Disc duel format set)
Features include interviews with the stars and makers, commentary, trailer, TV spot, galleries, making of featurettes,
(Some features are on the Blu-ray some are on the DVD)
Blu-ray Region B only, DVD region 2 pal, 118-mins, 1982.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nastasia AND Annette O'Toole! What's not to Like!, 17 Oct. 2013
By 
A. W. Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cat People [DVD] (DVD)
Some fascinating and diverse reviews here, so I'll be brief. An excellent print 1.85:1, lovely colour, especially in the fantasy sequences. Terrific Georgio Moroder music (and a Bowie song that really gets in the mood), a surreal feel to many sections, and whilst it bears little or no similarity to the wonderful original, it stands as a work on it's own. You also get, to be a bit salacious for a moment, nude Nastassia and topless Annette (which surprised me, pleasantly). Annete's scene in the swimming pool is a direct reference to the same scene in the original. I enjoyed it a lot tho I can see some of the less enthusiastic points raised by other reviewers.At this price it is defintely worth getting to decide for your self.Recomended (Oh and load of extras).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visually stunning., 5 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Cat People (DVD)
There’s a lot to like about this 80’s cult status, atmospheric ‘horror’ film. Firstly, Natassia Kinski is great as the lead role ‘Irena’ who comes from a long line of people who are ‘Were-cats’ (as opposed to Were-wolves) although she doesn’t really know this to start with. You get to see a lot of her at her gorgeous sexy best, all very tastefully done. She’s perfect in the role and becomes more feline as the story progresses.
The supporting actors are good; John Heard as her lover and curator of the zoo where Irena gets a job, and Annette O’Toole another worker at the Zoo. Malcolm McDowell stays just the right side of hammy, as her ‘brother’ and fellow cat person.
The music is just right as well, with a soundtrack by Giorgio Moroder, as it sets the dreamlike feel to the movie with a back drop of sultry New Orleans.
It’s not all that bloody apart from a few scenes, certainly by today’s standards, and I would call it more of a suspense film, than horror. It’s certainly very original, and the film that I thought of as a comparison was ‘The Hunger’ which has a similar feel to it. Forget the comparisons with the 1942 film of the same name as it shares little with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Me Rambling as Usual, 10 Jan. 2010
By 
Cactus (Reading, Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cat People [DVD] (DVD)
I first have to first admit that to me Nastassia Kinski will always be Tess Durbeyfield, in Roman Polanski's adaptation of Thomas Hardy's "Tess of the D'Urbervilles". So it was with some trepidation that I decided to watch "Cat People", in case my image of her was ruined forever. Fortunately it all turned out okay.

The plot follows the discovery by Nastassia Kinski's character, Irena, that she's one of the Cat People and that when she has sex she'll turn into a Black Leopard. This is a little inconvenient when you think about it. Actually most of the film follows her as she finds out about her family's 'unique selling point' rather than the consequences of it, so there aren't a great many scenes that focus on that post love-making bowl of milk, or raiding the nearest bird's nest for some food.

This is a film that brandishes its style over content and isn't ashamed to do so, despite the opportunities the story offers to make a powerful and erotic movie. There are some bits of horror and when they do come the effects are both excellent and convincing, but there aren't a great many and it's only the last quarter of the film when it seems to get going; but by then you've already curled up comfortably by the warm radiator and nothing much is going to get you to change your position, short of someone pushing the vacuum cleaner too close to you. Nastassia Kinski does seem to drift through many of her scenes just looking suitably dreamy, feline and a bit confused about everything. It's not that she did a bad job (in fact I think she plays the character of Irena very well), but the script doesn't seem to give her a great deal of opportunity to act, outside of being a slightly mysterious girl next door sort of character. Malcolm McDowell stomps about a lot and tries to be suitably menacing, but again it just didn't quite work for me. It's all a bit like looking at a nice painting of an interesting scene; there's clearly a lot going on somewhere but as the artist only painted what's in front of you there's a sense that you're missing out a little.

As with all films that include wild animals in their cast, I did get that slight, nagging feeling that perhaps I shouldn't really be approving of this film at all; it predates computer generated imagery as we know it now and although there were some very convincing and clever mechanical cats used in some of the shots, (about which more can be learnt by looking through the impressive amount of Special Features that come with this DVD), live (or what look like drugged) animals appeared to be used in some scenes. There's no doubting the beauty and power of the Black Leopard though, but these days they're better seen in wildlife documentaries, rather than trapped in prostitutes' bedrooms or tiny zoo cages, as is the case in this film. (Do zoos still have tiny enclosures like the ones shown in this film? Dreadful).

Sadly the most damming indictment of things came from my cat Penny. Despite my best efforts to interest her in the movie and to explain that I had put it on her sake, she sat or slept through most of it without showing the slightest interest in what was happening onscreen.

The sound and picture quality on this DVD are fine, although the dark scenes did seem a tad, well, dark to me. Not a great film for slash and burn horror fans but it is well made and stylish, so if you like your films a little 'smoother' then you may find this an excellent choice. I enjoyed watching it and I'm sure I'll will again, but it just didn't get me purring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE this film!, 21 Aug. 2010
By 
Mr. S. Booth (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cat People [DVD] (DVD)
I dont usually write reviews, but am a serious film lover, and having read all these poor reviews of one of my favourite films, Cat People, it made me wonder, why did I love it so much?? I think it has alot to do with the age i was when i saw it - I was 13. And maybe the problem with the film is that it works best for younger teenagers, who enjoy minor horror, dreamlike fantasy, and mild eroticism. OK, I'll concede, it is slightly dull in places.

But it has alot going for it. First off, the soundtrack, by Giorgio Moroder, is AWESOME. For years after seeing the film i was desperate to find the soundtrack album. I still love the music to Cat People, it really got under my skin. And the theme song, Putting Out Fire by David Bowie, is a killer track, and totally ahead of its time.

Secondly, I adore Nastasja Kinski. I love the dreamlike quality of her acting in this film, she is beautiful, mysterious, detached, alluring, threatening, innocent, all at once. And i loved her journey of dark discovery. The whole film is odd, and frequently dreamlike. Its meant to be an adult erotic fantasy, but really, it works best as a mixed up adolescent dream. Watching it again now, i dont love it quite as much as i did. But I still love it, and will never forget the impression it made on me when i was 13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars EXACT SAME CONTENT AS THE SHOUT FACTORY BLU-RAY, 28 May 2015
U.S. Distributor Shout factory released Cat people on blu-ray about 1-2 years ago now
and now this U.K. Distributor medium rare are releasing this film on blu-ray aswell
the special features are new interviews with
Malcolm McDowall, Natasha Kinski, Lynn Lowry, Annette O'Toole, John Heard & Director Paul schrader
also an interview with Music composer Giorgio moroder
Stills Photo Gallery, plus an audio commentary by Paul schrader
well they're both the exact same blu-ray version only Difference is the region code and the U.K. release also has DVD version to
the HD transfer on this U.K. blu-ray is probably the same transfer as the shout factory version
and so this sound quality, a 2.0 stereo mix & 5.1 Master audio mix
plus exact same extras as the shout factory blu-ray

so the only difference is the region Code, either region A or region B
so either buy the Shout factory version or this medium rare version, if your player is locked to region B buy the medium rare blu-ray
4 stars i gave it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extras packed release!!!, 31 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great release of this underrated 80's sensual reimagining of the 40's RKO classic. Great HD transfer with extras identical to the US release HOWEVER what some people are missing is that the DVD release included features all the old DVD extras as well - commentary, documentaries - so it's a great package!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, great soundtrack, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cat People [DVD] (DVD)
This film is quirky to a fault, and if you like your films completely "off the wall" then this is for you. Nevertheless, the soundtrack is my favourite element of the piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nastassja gorgeous, film a bit naff, 6 Jan. 2013
By 
Terrahurtz (Kidlington, Oxon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cat People [DVD] (DVD)
The main reason for watching this is the ravishing Ms Kinski, who walks around looking like sex on legs even when (as is the case for the first 75% of the film) she is demure and fully clothed.
The film itself is quite dull in places and rather like a 1970s Hammer film, i.e. dodgy script, variable acting, some cheap-looking special effects and a bit of nudity. As a horror film it's a bit silly. McDowell as her brother is particularly risible and not at all creepy. Still, if you want to see Nastassja at the peak of her beauty (not so sure about her dramatic powers) then this is the one to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cat People 2.0, 29 May 2015
Not so much a remake of the brilliant original, as an eroticised re-imagining of it (the plot may be similar, but the tone is way different), Paul Schrader's "Cat People" gained some notoriety on its theatrical release, but turns out to be a killer flick when re-watched today in the lovely Blu-Ray format! Well-acted, sexy, with tons of suspense and slick photography - this is simply a movie we so often yearn for in the age of CGI and idiotic plots, it really is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cat People [Blu-ray] [1982] [US Import]
£13.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews