Customer Reviews


401 Reviews
5 star:
 (220)
4 star:
 (71)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (42)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


205 of 230 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My review - by Morrissey
Train, heave on to Euston. Awaiting the launch of my Autobiography, Penguin Books have incarcerated me in a tawdry penthouse flat at 6 Grosvenor Square. The harsh London light through the floor-to-ceiling windows peels my eyeballs, my feet wince at the coarse touch of the cashmere and angora carpet, and as I numb the pain with a third Grey Goose, my mind drifts back to...
Published 8 months ago by Rough Diamond

versus
106 of 122 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't put it down. But for all the wrong reasons..
There is a moment in his autobiography where Morrissey complains about the disappointment of his lunches with surviving members of the New York Dolls. They aren't at all interested in him, don't want to talk about the things that fascinate him about the Dolls and are just not the people that existed in his mind; a perfect allegory for this hugely disappointing and...
Published 8 months ago by i wrote this


‹ Previous | 138 39 40 41 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autobiography (Paperback)
The long awaited autobiography. Would definately recommend to all Morrissey fans. Also thought it was very good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nine Things we learned of Morrissey, 21 Oct 2013
By 
KatyScott "Katy Scott" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Autobiography (Paperback)
WHO DEEMED IT A CLASSIC?
========================
Morrissey. "I'd like it to go to Penguin," he said in 2011, "but only if they published it as a Classic."

IS IT ANY GOOD?
===============
Yes it is. with some omissions.

SCHOOLDAYS
==========
Schooldays, "By accident I am enlisted to represent the school in track events for the 100 metres and the 400 metres for which, unthinkably, I receive schoolboy medals."

CORONATION STREET
=================
On being on Coronation Street, "We need a boy for Saturday. It's a 7am start, no dialogue."
We are suppossed to believe that he stumbled upon the set...

Later he is offered roles on Emmerdale and EastEnders, "I would arrive unexpectedly in Albert Square and cause births, deaths and factory fires every time I opened my mouth".

SPECIAL BRANCH QUESTIONED HIM
=============================
Special Branch summoned Morrissey after his album Viva Hate, "so that they might gauge whether or not I pose a security threat to Margaret Thatcher".

THE KRAYS
=========
The convicted murderers The Krays were, "unfairly locked away for the rest of their lives".

HIS TREATMENT OVER THE YEARS
============================
He was wronged in court,record companies robbed him, he is not a homosexual.

NOT A HOMOSEXUAL
================
Yes, he's a... wait for it.. He's a Humasexual

AFTER READING IT
================
I was reminded of the quote of the judge in the litigation between the Smiths, describing Morrissey as "devious, truculent and unreliable," after assessing his testimony in court. Some aspects were eloquently written about whilst some had the ring of fiction.

Katy Scott
==========
Author of Ten Thousand Questions Ten Thousand Pub Quiz Questions and Answers (10000 Trivia Questions)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!, 17 Oct 2013
This review is from: Autobiography (Paperback)
At last - after a lifetime in the public eye, this reclusive son of an Irish family reveals all.

This immediate classic casts a new light over the early years of his career, especially the close - almost destructive - hard drinking relationship with his co-star and their meteoric rise to fame. Inevitably, after seven releases, their partnership floundered.

Undeterred, Morrissey embarked on a new chapter moving from the North to London and to continued success and new partners in crime. This period in his life, whilst successful, was dogged with 'geezerish' controversy as he started to attract followers from the 'wrong crowd'.

In latter years, Morrissey has faded from the public eye with only occasional appearances.

This autobiography tells untold tales, and he bares his soul about relationships that were hitherto just rumours and ensuing feuds, including the whole Les Dennis/Amanda Holden furore in his own words.

A must for ANY fan of Boon.

(I can't wait for it to be delivered.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Was not a fan until I read Autobiography, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
A human story spoken honestly from the heart. Autobiography has been a page turning read.
Don't know how I missed Morrissey and the Smiths in the 80s but I did so the book and YouTube concerts are a revelation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morrissey, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autobiography (Paperback)
An interesting story told by an oddball. That makes it not only quirky but exceedingly fresh and really current.(I think)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And when did you last see your father?, 5 Nov 2013
By 
Ian D. Smith "Ian D. Smith" (Westbury) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Brilliantly Gothic and Romantic. Life Writing at its very best. A classic. Watch out Blake Morrison, Morrissey is coming at you. Absolute genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
A surprisingly mean-spirited and humourless rant from a talented musician and poet.
A terble shame. A classic it is not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 114 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretentious Poser in Print, 19 Oct 2013
This review is from: Autobiography (Paperback)
It's pretty simple really. The book's exactly what you'd expect... and it shouldn't be considered a "Classic"
That's for the likes of Brontė, Swift, Hardy, Shelley, Dickens, Stoker, and Keats etc...
He only cares about his image, not his life. A terrible book. The prose isn't too bad on occasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 103 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Narcisisstic Overkill, 19 Oct 2013
This review is from: Autobiography (Paperback)
This is one of the most loathsome and overrated books I have ever had the misfortune to read. Modestly penned it has a grating smartass narrative and crassness that is not worthy of the accolades bestowed upon it. At best the idle ramblings of a has been keen to grab the headlines once again at worst : uncertain, floundering muddled and desperate . If you're looking for a classic go with Hemingway, Capote et al leave Morrissey on the stage confined to three minute segments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bored., 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Dull.if ever he had a point he certainly didn't make it in this pretentious nonsense.couldn't even finish the book .zzzzz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 138 39 40 41 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Autobiography
Autobiography by Morrissey
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews