Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Darkly Modern Masterpiece
Massive Attack have famously evolved their style throughout their career, from the lush soul/hip-hop notes of Blue Lines to the dubbed-out smoked-out lope of Protection (getting further dubbier on the Mad Professor remix album). This time however, they have really turned things about.
I must admit I was a little apprehensive when I'd heard that they'd gone all...
Published on 10 Jan 2001

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but personally not a fan of many of the remixes
On the up side this collection like the Blue Lines (and to a certain extent Protection) remix albums has a suitable selection of songs from the original album. So at least you're getting a bit of variation, unlike the sparse 100th Window remix album. My main gripe here is a purely personal one of that I don't really like many of the remixes! The Underworld remix of...
Published 18 months ago by J. Shardlow


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Darkly Modern Masterpiece, 10 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mezzanine (Audio CD)
Massive Attack have famously evolved their style throughout their career, from the lush soul/hip-hop notes of Blue Lines to the dubbed-out smoked-out lope of Protection (getting further dubbier on the Mad Professor remix album). This time however, they have really turned things about.
I must admit I was a little apprehensive when I'd heard that they'd gone all "rock" but my first listen to the album in its entirety after hearing the chilling tones of the first single "Rising Son" took all of my (mis)preconceptions, chewed them up and spat them a very long way away. The darker, deeper vibes, briefly visited on Protection's Eurochild are prevelant throughout, with 3D and Daddy G working somber menacing tones, presumably exorcising demons of some kind (the majority of the lyrics being typically cryptic).
Horace Andy, always welcome, is on his usual fine form, his spine-tingling falsetto providing a sublime, haunting edge to "Angel" and "Man Next Door", with new girl Sara Jay showing her rather fine vocal skills on the out and out rocker "Dissolved Girl". Grant (Daddy G) makes a more noticeable appearance than previously, his deep, gruff voice suiting the new vibe perfectly, and it is only after a couple of listens that you notice the absence of Tricky (presumably a result of him having gone "a bit wierd"), though this is no bad thing here.
It is the appearance of Liz Fraser (Cocteau Twins) that truly wins this album though, particularly on the astonishingly beautiful "Teardrop", a true tear inducing masterpiece (despite the lyrics being more or less incoherent!), with its lush strings and heart-beat imitating drum loops. Fraser continues to astound on "Black Milk" and again on her duet with Del Naja, on the apocalyptic penultimate track "Group 4", which is one to be listened to alone, whilst lying down, in the dark, with your stereo volume as loud as it will go.
The whole album, is must be said is rather an introspective one, to be most appreciated whilst alone, and will not appeal to everyone. Even confirmed Massive Attack fans may find its industrial leanings all a little heavy going, although it is all ultimately strangely uplifting, despite the dark, paranoid undertones throughout. One thing this is not, is a party album, but if you do dare to take it on, you will find yourself very well rewarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, dark, dark, 2 Jan 2003
This review is from: Mezzanine (Audio CD)
If ever there was an album to which superlatives apply then this is it. Less soulful and playful then earlier outings this is nonetheless Massive Attack's finest album. From the low throb of opener angel to the last clatter of exchange this is an album to love. Dark, bruising and fractured certainly yet still swelling with a subsumed emotion that is worth a million Will Youngs.
This is an album that can aptly be described as 'difficult' without actually being difficult to listen to. Massive Attack's strange and threatening audio world is so artfully arranged that it never strikes as discordant or awkward. If a first listen beguiles, and I assure you that it will, then repeated attempts will reveal new wonders and finally will render the darkness warm and cozy and the only sane response to life.
Played at a low volume the sounds that ooze from the speakers sit sulkily lurking at the corners of the room, ripe with menace. Played loud the heavy metal thunder of Angel or Dissolved Girl will work its corrosive magic in a way that the nu-metal fraternity can only dream of. The vocalist most associated with this album is Elizabeth Frazer and its easy to see why. The distinctive style of her vocals perfectly offsets the sullen and richly textured sounds in which they are set, like diamonds in black velvet. However personally I find Sarah Jay's only track, Dissolved Girl far more effecting. Her low voice is both sexy and, like Beth Gibbons of Portishead, conveys volumes of stark emotion just veering off desperation. Horace Andy's caramelised voice adds sweetness to every track that he sings on.
Despite the various different styles and plethora of vocalists, five in total, this album still manages more coherence then more straightforwardly structured bands seem capable. There isn't a duff track here and while no two tracks are the same they all share a certain indefinable quality that's unique to Massive Attack.
All in all a massive achievement and if, as seems likely, its their last album then a worthy swansong for one of the finest bands of the nineties. Oh yeah and its quite dark too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Densely textured emotive trip hop, 26 April 2002
By 
md0u9152@liv.ac.uk (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mezzanine (Audio CD)
Get hold of this album. Wait until about 11 in the evening. Sit in your favourite armchair in a room lit sparsely. A couple of candles, perhaps. Turn up your hi fi so the sound fills the room, but doesn't deafen. Press play. Evaporate.
This album can be seen as a logical progression from Blue Lines and Protection as the textures get more complex and the sounds more original. It's certainly my favourite of the three. With some beautiful vocals on tracks like Teardrop, and some amazing energy on tracks such as as Angel this album offers a spectrum of atmospheres to experience. Some great laid back rapping and beats to make you kneel on the floor and thank god you've got a pulse. The addition of crunching guitar in the backgorund alongside organic synths works brilliantly.
This is music you can have as background whilst doing other things, but that's missing the point. Mezzanine is music to breathe to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 20 Feb 2005
This review is from: Mezzanine (Audio CD)
An excellent album, full of tricky melodys and little beats that make you wonder... Slightly darker album, but this adds to what makes the album excellent. What can i say? Massive Attack, one of the greatest bands of my generation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 23 Mar 2004
By 
D. Russell (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mezzanine (Audio CD)
I had heard of Massive Attack before I bought this album, but had never actually heard their music; and was it worth it? Definitely! The opening track 'Angel' is great and really sets the mood for the rest of the album. Some other favourites of mine include 'Teardrop' which is so relaxing and stunning at the same time; and 'Dissolved Girl' which is also sung by the female singer. I really recommend this album to anybody who likes Royksopp, Moby and other electronic/chill artists. In fact, I think you should desperately consider adding this to your music collection as it simply is beautiful in every single way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Jan 2000
This review is from: Mezzanine (Audio CD)
Quite simply the darkest, coolest album you're ever likely to wrap your ears around. Rap/Hiphop for those who don't llike either: wonderful and unmissable! Listen and be converted to music's future........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless, 21 Mar 2006
This review is from: Mezzanine (Audio CD)
To label this 'another great chillout album' would be to underestimate the depths of this album and the music within. Its not a an album I would label 'chillout' by any stretch of the imagination. More a soundtrack for nightmares then sweet dreams. Its dark, moody, and atmospheric, certainly not music to chill too.
Its one of those rare albums where every track is good and each stands out from the other. Each is telling its own story even when there are no words. It also dismisses any previous bench mark set for what defines trip-hop and crushes it like a bug.
On some tracks your ears a wooed with almost angelic vocals and moved on to more darker, masculine tones, hypnotizing, beautiful and menacing all in one package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gargantuan legacy., 23 Jun 2007
This review is from: Mezzanine (Audio CD)
this album has had more power over and more influence over British music than 99% of material produced since the beatles. every track gets a full 5 stars, nothing about it is hurried or below standard, the best album they ever released, dont bother with 'collected' just get this, its all you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No words can truly describe it, 15 Dec 2003
This review is from: Mezzanine (Audio CD)
Back when I lived in France, I saw this band I had never heard of before be the main guests of the best french programme ever, Nulle Part Ailleurs, and they performed a couple of songs. Well, for the first time in my life, and the only time so far, I rushed to the shop the following day to buy the record. That's how good they were. To this day, it still ranks as one of my all time favorites. From Dissolved Girl to Tear drop, the Cocteau twins lady will tear your soul from your heart and nurture it gently with her soft voice. From Inertia Creeps to Rising Son, you will feel anger but also warmth. If you are not moved by this music, you cannot be not human, you must be a pile of rock or something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roll a fat one and warn the neighbours....., 31 Dec 2001
This review is from: Mezzanine (Audio CD)
It is very hard to pigeon hole this album, not really hip-hop, certainly not dance, pretty much unique in the contrast of the tracks, which to me encapsulates Massive Attack's approach. If you have a good cd player this album will bring it alive. With powerful engaging bass lines, smooth vocals, this has a much harder edge than Blue Lines, with a touch of Portishead thrown in.
Moody and Atmospheric, this album is not background music and your mum will probably not like it, but for me this album will not be bettered for a decade. If your into your wacki backi, this album will be more welcome than a tube of Pringles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mezzanine [VINYL]
Mezzanine [VINYL] by Massive Attack (Vinyl - 2013)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews