Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars to the top of your reading list, 11 Mar. 2014
Using real life experiences, tells the story of one of the greatest tragedies of mankind. Moving, thought provoking and extremely well written and researched....

More than anything the personal accounts show just how strong the human spirit can be.... and how remarkable a country Rwanda is to be functioning today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I hope this book finds the wider audience it deserves. I found it compelling and deeply involving. David Belton has managed to construct an entirely authentic and gripping account of one of humanity's darkest moments, without ever leaving us devoid of hope and dignity as a species. This is no mean feat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When The Hills Ask For Your Blood: A Personal Story of Genocide and Rwanda (Kindle Edition)
A fascinating read that gives clarity and insight into the Rwandan massacre. Bewildering, compelling, this book has stayed with me for weeks after finishing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A insight first hand of the hard to understand genocide in Rwanda, in the blur,speed and confusion at the time, it was hard to grasp the reason,s behind the Genocide, this book makes it a bit easier for the layman to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this book, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When The Hills Ask For Your Blood: A Personal Story of Genocide and Rwanda (Kindle Edition)
Beautifully written, wonderfully descriptive and moving. It's informative, inspiring and thought provoking. I felt it ended on a note of optimism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Eye opening, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When The Hills Ask For Your Blood: A Personal Story of Genocide and Rwanda (Kindle Edition)
Although I lived through this period of time. I did not realise the full horror of the Rwandan crisis. This book fills all the gaps. Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A scenic, stimulating and thought provoking historical account exquisitely told., 5 April 2014
Even the cover of this book drew me to read it. I loved it and want everyone to read it. It records the horrors of the days of massacre and genocide in Rwanda interwoven with David's personal journey in the most poetical and lyrical way. The depth of the descriptions he used brought to my senses all the smells and sounds, heat and colours. I will never look at morning dew again without thinking of it as a muslin cover. It challenges you to look at the world around you in more than just a seeing sense. He uses an expressive quality that calmly pulls you into the country itself and has you empathising with the characters and their struggle for survival and justice. Risk, hope and a frenzied venomous fuelled hatred run alongside that inimitable African ability to survive. It is a wonderful story and an educational history of a beautiful country.
I did not want to put this book down; at the same time I did not want to finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing, 17 Mar. 2014
You should read this book if you know nothing of the genocide in Rwanda

You should read this book if you think you know about the genocide in Rwanda

This book is an incredibly powerful account of the atrocities that took place in Rwanda in 1994 and the subsequent aftermath. It reads as much like a novel as a historical account and draws you in from the very first page. Thought provoking and shocking in equal measure the true horror of the genocide is painstakingly told through the lives of 3 people and through the experiences of David himself. The human spirit and inherent instinct for survival is clear, as are the weaknesses and flaws of every human being from the most courageous to the most humble and inhumane. I can't recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling., 11 Mar. 2014
If you read only one account of Rwanda’s genocide make it this one. Belton’s narrative, enriched by his instinctive journalist’s eye, describes that country’s blood bath with the sure touch of personal experience and gifted authorship. You will finish the book overwhelmed by man’s inhumanity to man, but remain uplifted by the individual accounts of his main protagonists and their subsequent capacity for forgiveness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is an account of recent history - most compellingly written by a very competant author., 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book gives a very graphic feeling of the atmosphere- the fear & the disbelief of what was happening to ordinary people in Rwanda only twenty years ago. I found it intensely moving - I have not read such a compelling book for a very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews