Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully written book, on an awful situation, by a man who was there., 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I met David Belton at kids cricket. He mentioned he had been to Rwanda. I wanted to ask him questions, but genocide isn't exactly light, village green conversation.

Thank goodness for this wonderfully written book. What David covers and expresses so eloquently is beyond any conversation we could possibly have had. The personal stories of others involved in the dark days of Rwanda's genocide works brilliantly with David's own experiences as a BBC reporter there in 1994. The horror of what happened, why it happened and the future, is explored in a way that is accessible, riveting, vivid, brutal and shocking. I think this book will be appreciated by those who know the story well, and also to those like myself who remember the Rwanda genocide as just a passing news item in the mid 1990's.

I couldn't recommend this book enough and also the film 'Shooting Dogs' which was written by David. The combination of the two gives an incredible insight into what happened in Rwanda, and also the potential of us human beings to be be both barbaric and incredibly selfless and brave.

Definitely puts cricket in perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very special, touching and humbling account of a country in turmoil written with skill and compassion., 28 Feb 2014
I did not expect such a powerful and personal account of the survivors of genocide to be such a riveting read. This account weaves individual stories with the author's own experiences of visits to Rwanda and addresses every facet of the terrible times the country experienced together with how the people subsequently emerged and dealt with their traumatic past. Very touching and humbling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping..., 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
David Belton has written a very powerful and gripping book. It reads like a novel. I was turning the pages wanting to find out what was going to happen to the characters. It is beautifully written too - the country and the people really came alive to me - and I found myself very moved by his descriptions of the characters who populate the story. The book takes the story up to the present day which I was really glad about. I didn't want to read a story just about the genocide - I wanted to know what's happened in Rwanda since and the second half of the book answers that in a fascinating way and intriguing way. I highly recommend this book for people who want a page-turning read about a story that is as important today as it was twenty years ago
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An important book., 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When The Hills Ask For Your Blood: A Personal Story of Genocide and Rwanda (Kindle Edition)
A harrowing story well told through the eyes of a compassionate observer. The observer clearly became more than just a professional recorder of this genocide, returning to find the brave and holy men who sacrificed so much for their fellow man. Within this account of Man's inhumanity to Man, is a transcendent story of Man's equal capacity for goodness and compassion. It's an important book which, along with other accounts of tragic episodes in 20th century history, should be compulsory reading for all students around the world. Perhaps then one could entertain a slight hope that the Rwandan tragedy might be a genocide to end all genocides. Peter F.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, intelligent, humbling., 18 Feb 2014
Captures the full horror of the genocide with incredible sensitivity. Shows us just how far normal people can be pushed - into both savage cruelty and selfless heroism - by situations beyond their control. This book, and the people and stories within it will stay with me for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love of Africa, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If anyone is interested in Rwanda and Africa then buy this book. This book is not written to shock but to follow the lives of a few in a country wide drama. It makes me want to go back and explores the social history and present state of the country.

Definitely worth buying and reading more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When The Hills Ask For Your Blood: A Personal Story of Genocide and Rwanda (Kindle Edition)
A fascinating read that gives clarity and insight into the Rwandan massacre. Bewildering, compelling, this book has stayed with me for weeks after finishing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I hope this book finds the wider audience it deserves. I found it compelling and deeply involving. David Belton has managed to construct an entirely authentic and gripping account of one of humanity's darkest moments, without ever leaving us devoid of hope and dignity as a species. This is no mean feat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A insight first hand of the hard to understand genocide in Rwanda, in the blur,speed and confusion at the time, it was hard to grasp the reason,s behind the Genocide, this book makes it a bit easier for the layman to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best book about the Rwandan genocide, 12 May 2014
I've read a fair bit about the Rwandan genocide. Many books focus on the failure of the Rwandan state, the preparation for genocide and the failure of the international community. Often, the stories of ordinary Rwandans are largely ignored, which is perverse because it is they who suffered and continue to suffer as a result of 100 extraordinary, tragic days in 1994. Which makes David Belton's book so welcome. David was the BBC's man in Kigali during and after the genocide and I'm guessing it would have been very easy for him to capitalise on that fact and write an account of his experiences in the months after the event. But his book is all the richer precisely because he did not do that. His time there - during the genocide and during the 20 years since - has clearly left a lasting impression on him (indeed it seems to have shaped much of his working life). This book is about people: some who gave their lives to help others, others who fought desperately for their lives, all of whom showed unbelievable spirit and courage. It's a fascinating insight into the stories of people David met in 1994 and some of whom he has got to know since. It's a riveting read that gives a voice to ordinary Rwandans. I read it in about 4 sittings...I could not put it down. Recommended reading for anyone who wants an inspirational read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews