Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting and informative
This is the two volumes story of British Parliamentary history from uncertain beginnings almost 800 years ago to the present day.
It is well written and incredibly well researched with fine and interesting details.
Occasionally it becomes heavy sailing and sometimes i had to refer back a few pages because it was a little confusing.
However these are...
Published 10 months ago by S. Broadbent

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining for a while.
Starts off in an entertaining manner which becomes somewhat tedious in the middle to late sections. Would still recommend though for it's good passages which are numerous.
Published 7 months ago by Daryl Haire


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting and informative, 25 Aug. 2014
By 
S. Broadbent "cyberspaceexpress" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parliament: The Biography (Volume I - Ancestral Voices) (Kindle Edition)
This is the two volumes story of British Parliamentary history from uncertain beginnings almost 800 years ago to the present day.
It is well written and incredibly well researched with fine and interesting details.
Occasionally it becomes heavy sailing and sometimes i had to refer back a few pages because it was a little confusing.
However these are personal and minor niggles, if like me you want to understand our parliamentary history then stay with it.
There is so much to learn, not just in terms of laws and bureaucracy, but the colourful characters that litter our history, expressions and words that have entered the English language, all from the British Parliament.
Volume 1 takes you from the early days of the first meetings that were the forerunner of a structured system to 1800.
Volume 2 completes the history.
There is a lot of myth and misconceptions about our parliament and this book puts those to bed.
Remember this great institution affects every aspect of our lives, and will affect the lives of your children and grand children.
I do not know of any other books that are so specialised and comprehensive.
A permanent reference tome of immense usefulness that is also great value. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent effort, 5 May 2014
By 
johann28 (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The best thing about Bryant's approach to this important subject is that he doesn't subscribe to any grand theories about the development of Parliament over the ages. MPs came to London, outlawed crows, foreign hats, or whatever else bothered their constituents, and went home. They assembled infrequently, rarely aware of having parts in a great play whose final act would see the creation of a democracy, which of course is a 'Whig construct' of the 19th century which is still conveniently wheeled out when it suits today for political reasons. The book is a salutary reminder that Parliament didn't accumulate power in a linear fashion; It waxed and waned - and in some ways was not much more powerful under George III than it had been under Edward III.

The problem with this approach is that, in much of the first half at least, the work is a rather dense account that lacks much of a narrative arch. In this “biography”, Parliament emerges as little more than a series of meetings of burgesses, lords, bishops and abbots, all squabbling madly with the King and each other about posts and about the money supply. Another problem is that the stories of the Scottish and Irish parliaments are compressed into a few pages. However, the story gains pace and direction in the second half, when Bryant lets go of the fine detail and delivers some witty, sympathetic sketches of the great figures of the 18th century.

All in all, a decent effort - I look forward to the 2nd volume which continues the story after 1800.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining for a while., 12 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parliament: The Biography (Volume I - Ancestral Voices) (Kindle Edition)
Starts off in an entertaining manner which becomes somewhat tedious in the middle to late sections. Would still recommend though for it's good passages which are numerous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, engaging, and well written, 5 Jan. 2015
By 
M. Malthouse (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parliament: The Biography (Volume I - Ancestral Voices) (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent, engaging, and well written primer to the English and later British parliament. Possibly the best starting place for anyone interested in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It started well...., 2 Jun. 2014
I saw good reviews for this and it started well, the early years of parliament seem well written and reasonably balanced but by the 17th century the authors list of rouges grows to anyone who disagrees with 'progress' as he defines it.

Two bits particularly annoyed me. I'm not a fan of Edmund Burke but to describe "Reflections...." as "asserting the priority of established rights such as that to private property over what he considered the entirely speculative rights to food or medicine espoused by the revolution" deliberately missing the point of "'What is the use of discussing a man's abstract right to food or to medicine? The question is upon the method of procuring and administering them. In this deliberation I shall always advise to call in the aid of the farmer and the physician, rather than the professor" that Burke was making about abstract theories lead to disaster. I suspect the author may admire more Abbe Sieyes a fellow priest turned politician and master of impractical constitution who apparently considered his greatest achievement was to survive the havoc he played a large part in creating. He even manages to make me sympathetic to Lord Cardigan who wasn't tried for killing a man in duel but for attempted murder and its hardly one law for the rich when the Earl is tried and acquitted when his equally guilty (still living) opponent isn't even indicted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth transaction, item well packed & arrived safely, A+++ Many Thanks recommend, 7 Mar. 2015
By 
I. Longhurst "DTD" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Smooth transaction, item well packed & arrived safely, A+++ Many Thanks recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parliament: The Biography (Volume I - Ancestral Voices) (Kindle Edition)
A fascinating, well researched and written insight into Parliament
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Dec. 2014
Beautiful book. Fascinating topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing. The writer has not managed his material well ..., 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parliament: The Biography (Volume I - Ancestral Voices) (Kindle Edition)
Disappointing. The writer has not managed his material well and provides a superficial view of the development of our legislative body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Feb. 2015
By 
Ferial Rogers (Woodbridge, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm delighted. I didn't think that I was going to find a copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews