Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A story with which every bibliophile and true lover of books will identify.
First Sentence: Let us begin with this: to those looking at his life from without, it would have seemed that Mr. Berger led a dull existence.

Mr. Berger leads a quiet, uneventful life. An inheritance has allowed him to retire young and move to a small English village, spending most of his time reading and walking. On one walk, he sees a woman who reminds...
Published 3 months ago by L. J. Roberts

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gentle, charming tale of latter day writers and an intriguing library.
Original short story by John Connolly and about as far from the brutal and surreal Charlie Parker series as it's possible to get.

Connolly has taken a simple idea, a man and his relationship with books, and created a gentle, slow, traditional short story that's not at all what I expected.

The main character, Mr Berger, is an eccentric man completely...
Published 13 months ago by JK


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gentle, charming tale of latter day writers and an intriguing library., 20 Jan. 2014
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Museum of Literary Souls (A Short Story) (Kindle Edition)
Original short story by John Connolly and about as far from the brutal and surreal Charlie Parker series as it's possible to get.

Connolly has taken a simple idea, a man and his relationship with books, and created a gentle, slow, traditional short story that's not at all what I expected.

The main character, Mr Berger, is an eccentric man completely unremarkable and wanting little more out of life than to spend his time with his books. Berger has some good luck and retires to the countryside only to be catapulted from his solitude right into the heart of a mystery surrounding what appears to be a suicide. His research into exactly what happened leads Berger to the doors of a weird and wonderful library where he discovers absolutely nothing is as it seems.

There are a great many references to famous authors, their works and their characters along with various insights into the world of publishing and printing from a bygone era.

Once the initial mystery is revealed very little happens and I had no problem in working out how the story would end and how the fate of Mr Berger would pan out long before the final chapters.

With this story John Connolly has offered his fans an opportunity to see him as an author capable of more than 'the dark side' but; it's just so bland despite the literary class.

I've read everything this particular writer has published but this is such a mellow offering I really don't have any feelings about it one way or another. It's 'a nice little story' but I don't want 'nice little stories' from John Connolly. Disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A story with which every bibliophile and true lover of books will identify., 4 Dec. 2014
By 
L. J. Roberts (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Museum of Literary Souls (A Short Story) (Kindle Edition)
First Sentence: Let us begin with this: to those looking at his life from without, it would have seemed that Mr. Berger led a dull existence.

Mr. Berger leads a quiet, uneventful life. An inheritance has allowed him to retire young and move to a small English village, spending most of his time reading and walking. On one walk, he sees a woman who reminds him greatly of a classic fictional character. She throws herself in front of a train, but no body, of any evidence of the event, is found. When Berger encounters her again, he follows her to a place where fiction and reality intermingle.

Connolly has employed a voice reminiscent of “once upon a time.” From the moment you start reading, you know you are in for a good story. He has wonderful, subtle humor, irony and dialogue; great repartee. ““You may think me mad.” “My dear fellow, we hardly know each other. I wouldn’t dare to make such a judgment until we were better acquainted.” Which seemed fair enough to Mr. Berger.”

“The Museum of Literary Souls” is a story with which every bibliophile and true lover of books will identify. There’s even a slight nod to Doctor Who. What a wonderful story.

THE MUSEUM OF LITERARY SOULS (Fantasy/Mystery-Mr. Berger-England-Contemp) – Ex
Connolly, John – Standalone Novelette - ebook
Storyfront, 2013
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars WEAK STORY, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Museum of Literary Souls (A Short Story) (Kindle Edition)
Not very interesting. The title is very enticing but the story didn't live up to it. In fact, I can't even remember what the book was about, apart from its being to do with books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, original, funny, memorable., 13 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Museum of Literary Souls (A Short Story) (Kindle Edition)
What a marvellous story-I've read it three times so far and recommended it to everyone I know.Must buy a hard copy for my bookshelves -all my life I've wanted to change book endings to suit my own ends and here's an author who's worked out how to do it! How very satisfying. I always thought that some book characters really could live off their pages-and in my imagination they always have. It's great to read and re read and enjoy all the nuances. How clever, and funny and original. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars unusual story, 12 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Museum of Literary Souls (A Short Story) (Kindle Edition)
very atmospheric unusual story. Even though it was a novella, i would have liked it to develop a bit more and to get to know the characters better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Museum of Literary Souls, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Museum of Literary Souls (A Short Story) (Kindle Edition)
Once again John Connolly has written a wonderful fantasy about books. In the Caxton Lending Library the characters from first editions happily reside, and it's librarian awaits his successor. This is an interesting premise and Connolly is just the man to breathe life into it. I loved this book, as I have loved all of John Connolly's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Museum of Literary Souls (A Short Story) (Kindle Edition)
A lovely piece of literary fantasy which left me with a warm feeling of satisfaction that all my favourite characters are leading happy existences somewhere in the world, if only I knew where to look for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Museum of Literacy Souls by John Connolly, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Museum of Literary Souls (A Short Story) (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting unusual story line. I found this book very interesting and its well worth reading by anyone who enjoys the unusual. I liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charming and delightful literary story, 8 May 2014
By 
RM RIACH (Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Museum of Literary Souls (A Short Story) (Kindle Edition)
What a delightful proposition that characters from beloved novels can take on a quiet existence in the real world. I thoroughly recommend this short story to literature lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The master of storytelling, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Museum of Literary Souls (A Short Story) (Kindle Edition)
John Connolly excels in the telling of stories. This short story is captivating in its originality and opens up another world to the reader. The humour is gentle and the reader's mind is encouraged to run wild at the end in the consideration of other books they have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews