Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful souvenir or a great Victorian city
The image of Glasgow, Scotland's largest city, is historically grim. Violence, sectarianism and post-industrial decline. However, little media attention is given to the city's extraordinary Victorian architectural heritage, possible the best - or certainly some of the best - in Europe. This book focuses on architectural detail - sculpture, ornament and the like - which is...
Published 14 months ago by B.B.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better
I was a little disappointed that the name of the building was not under the photograph of the carving/gargoile etc., and not even on the same page,and that I had to go to the end of the chapter or district to get the number of the photograph and try to match it to the description. Too much like hard work! This spoiled my enjoyment of discovering some unknown architectural...
Published 13 months ago by lotty


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful souvenir or a great Victorian city, 23 Nov. 2013
By 
This review is from: Look Up Glasgow (Hardcover)
The image of Glasgow, Scotland's largest city, is historically grim. Violence, sectarianism and post-industrial decline. However, little media attention is given to the city's extraordinary Victorian architectural heritage, possible the best - or certainly some of the best - in Europe. This book focuses on architectural detail - sculpture, ornament and the like - which is often easily missed since it is invariably at the tops of buildings. There are lots and lots of great photographs, taken by architectural photographer David Barbour and others, which shine a light on this treasure trove of craftsmanship. The handy captions, gathered at the end of each chapter, cover not only the basic detail but also include interesting history about many of the buildings. And occasional poems inspired by the photos adds an extra dimension. At 270-odd pages its a handsome volume with high production values. A great book to buy and keep - or give as a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely stunning, 23 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Look Up Glasgow: World class architectural heritage that's hidden in plain sight (Kindle Edition)
I've lived in Glasgow all my life, and have always said it's one of the most beautiful cities in the world...if you look up. Well, I have to say, this book is a real triumph, capturing the character of Glasgow in all of the nooks and crannies you'd never think to look. I've recommended it to my foreign friends from University, but also to my local friends from home, because whether you're a tourist or a native, this book will definitely point you in the right direction for some beautiful sights. I recommend bringing along a pair of binoculars to really pick up on the detail of some of the statues and figures depicted, in real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, 26 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look Up Glasgow (Hardcover)
I was a little disappointed that the name of the building was not under the photograph of the carving/gargoile etc., and not even on the same page,and that I had to go to the end of the chapter or district to get the number of the photograph and try to match it to the description. Too much like hard work! This spoiled my enjoyment of discovering some unknown architectural delights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, if only people and visitors to Glasgow ..., 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look Up Glasgow (Hardcover)
Great book, if only people and visitors to Glasgow would stop looking at their boots and look up they would see the fascinating and rich historical architecture Glasgow has. Would have preferred the details of the images on the page, rather than to look up the index at the back of each area of section. The book is neatly divided into areas of the city so a walking tour/ reference can be made whist walking in these areas. Recommended coffee table book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Glasgow Book, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look Up Glasgow (Hardcover)
Arrived earlier than expected and neatly protected in its package.
A fantastic book and more detailed than I thought and looked more expensive than purchase price. Therefore I am giving this a 5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good little book this but try the titles below, 23 April 2014
By 
John (Charleston, USA) - See all my reviews
If you want a REAL insight into Glasgow, its places an people, read Colin MacFarlane's fantastic trilogy and best sellers The Real Gorbals Story, No Mean Glasgow and Gorbals Diehards...great stuff and absolutely amazing!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring!, 9 April 2014
Look Up Glasgow with its beautiful photographs is a brilliant and unique guide book for both Glasgow insiders and tourists! It really inspires the reader to see Glasgow from a different point of view – especially the pocket version is perfect for taking it with you when exploring the city's architecture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars facinating, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look Up Glasgow (Hardcover)
only criticism that you had to turn to the back of the book to identify the picture, would have been better had the picture been named on the page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry Frozen in Stone, 3 April 2014
By 
Thomas Milne (Strathaven, Lanarkshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look Up Glasgow (Hardcover)
I've lived in or near Glasgow for well over 70 years. Always, like anyone who knows the city well and loves much of what he knows, I've been aware that its vast heritage of handsome Victorian buildings, including many before and after, represents one of the world's most visually impressive cityscapes. But in cities, we hurry and bustle, looking to our next urgent destinations, rarely pausing to let the cityscape snatch our breath away with form, proportion, elegance and, frequently, sheer virtuosity. What Adrian Searle and David Barbour do is to stop us in our tracks and make us look up and observe with a precise beauty and sharpness the sculptural detail that adorns so many of these buildings. They make me go back to many familiar buildings and see them for the first time. They present a stunning tour de force of the "statues, gargoyles and ornament on the walls and roofs of its grand buildings…[and] the city's residents seemed oblivious to their existence".
The photography is sublime (not a word I ever thought I would put in print), precise, evocative, and perfectly lit. It is a wonder that this has been achieved with subjects that are extremely inaccessible. But, further, the images are embellished by a selection of poems that add their commentary to the theme, perhaps especially Look Up Glasgow! by Colin Begg that takes no prisoners in its acid commentary on the merchants who patronised these wonderful architects and sculptors
I love just leafing through this volume in idle moments, picking up snippets wherever the page falls open, but it is organised in seven district covering all parts of the city containing notable sculpture, so it can be used to track down buildings district by district, and each site is accompanied by beautifully written very short notes that tell the reader why the authors thought merited inclusion. So it is a very sensible book, modern and precision built, but overall I just find it a fantastic delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent exploration of Glasgow's hidden architectural beauty, 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look Up Glasgow: World class architectural heritage that's hidden in plain sight (Kindle Edition)
It's so easy to compare Glasgow to Edinburgh and call Edinburgh the fairer city. There is a more obvious beauty about Edinburgh, with its cobbled streets and new tram system, but Glasgow is certainly up there when it comes to architecture and ornamental features. Literally, up there. The book asks you to look up at the features above eye level, adorning rooftops and buildings all around the city, and shows you how beautiful Glasgow really is. There are some real treats in here, most of which you never even knew existed. It's a good book to take out on a sunny day for an adventure around Scotland's most bustling city. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews