Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brains down, Beers up
This is a band which I initially shrugged off because whenever I heard them all I could think was; "that's a bit overly generic" and you know what? they are. However just because they are a bit middle of the road doesn't mean that you shouldn't like them. They are not especially heavy or clever but they are a very good listen in a rocking, grooving radio friendly...
Published 11 months ago by Anoosh Falak Rafat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid but not Spectacular
This a a respectable metal album but while it is fairly consistent non of the songs are outstanding and this holds it back. I like the Pantera-grove metal sound and Ivan Moody proves what a great vocalist he is and there is plenty of head banging to be had. There is some variety with the piano intro on Cold and the acoustic riff on The Agony of Regret . However I would...
Published 3 days ago by H.E.Cox


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brains down, Beers up, 4 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Wrong Side Of Heaven And The Righteous Side Of Hell, Vol. 2 (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
This is a band which I initially shrugged off because whenever I heard them all I could think was; "that's a bit overly generic" and you know what? they are. However just because they are a bit middle of the road doesn't mean that you shouldn't like them. They are not especially heavy or clever but they are a very good listen in a rocking, grooving radio friendly way.

The songs groove in the same way that Pantera used to and give you a nice life affirming lift in the way that Hatebreed also have that quality, but aside from these similarities Five Finger Death Punch are of quite a different sonic variety to the aforementioned bands in that Pantera and Hatebreed are good for angry drinking and lifting weights and Five Finger Death Punch are good for happy drinking and lifting weights, if you follow the laboured and overly clichéd metaphor.

As it is they deserve a good deal of success, thanks to an excellent collection of songs, if there is any justice this album should launch them into the stratosphere.

If you're not sure whether to get this album check out the brilliant `Battle Born' and `Matter of Time' which should be enough to convince you to buy this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Five Finger Death Punch - The Wrong Side Of Heaven And The Righteous Side Of Hell Vol. 2, 19 Nov 2013
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Side Of Heaven And The Righteous Side Of Hell, Vol. 2 (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
2013's The Wrong Side Of Heaven And The Righteous Side Of Hell Vol. 2 is the fifth full-length studio album by the American Metal band Five Finger Death Punch. It was produced by Kevin Churko (who you may remember produced and played bass on their third album, American Capitalist) and is the second part of a two-album set; following up Vol.1, which was released a couple of months earlier.

There's no clear and easy way to describe this album within the context of their discography; its not clearly better or worse, its not clearly faster or slower, its not clearly more experimental or more simplistic and there isn't even a noticeable shift in the number of loud or soft bits compared to previous albums. Its more of the same thing that the band have always done. If you don't mind that, then you'll get a lot out of this record. If not, then it may not be the record for you.

Sometimes you'll notice a lyrical idea, or a guitar part that is reminiscent of one of their old songs, which may cause a few raised eyebrows, but for the most part, the band manage to write things you haven't heard before in a formula you've heard a hundred times already... rather clever really.

If you like big meaty riffs, guitar solos and plenty of rhythmic double kick patterns being mixed with radio friendly choruses, power ballads and plenty of crowd-ready parts designed to be chanted along with, that's all still as present on this album as on any of their previous efforts. Basically; Everything you could like about American Capitalist is also represented well here.

Highlights include the brief instrumental `The Agony Of Regret' and its accompanying piano-led ballad `Cold' (which apparently is a remake of a song by Moody's old band Black Blood Orchestra) as well as the punchy `Weight Beneath My Sin' and `Matter Of Time' which see the band mixing in types of riffs you aren't used to in with their usual sound.

As with the previous album having an unusual cover (`Momma Said Knock You Out') this album ends with a version of `House Of The Rising Sun' which sounds exactly like you'd expect based on their cover of `Bad Company' and is quite good fun.

All things considered; this album is an absolutely solid, well-made and consistent album with a big, clear production job and a lot of guitar solos. I really enjoy it on its own merits and there are some very enjoyable songs here. I don't think it would ever become my favourite album of theirs, but its not a disappointment by any means.

It may gain some complaints over `staleness' or `riff recycling' from longer-time listeners, but if this was your first Five Finger Death Punch album there's no reason that you wouldn't love it. The only problems I can find with the album are that the formula has been well established by this stage. Its worth remembering that if they changed their style drastically though, people would complain about that too.

Overall; `Volume 2 is a very good record and if you like the band, but aren't sick of them yet, then I recommend that you try it out.

**** The special edition comes with a Live DVD version of the "Purgatory:Tales From The Pit" Live CD that accompanied the previous album's special edition. It's a very welcome extra, although not good enough to be released as a stand-alone feature. I can understand why they kept it as a bonus feature.

There are editing, DVD-authoring and sound & picture-quality standards for a Live DVD that this doesn't meet, and on some tracks the visuals for an outdoor show are played over the audio for an indoor show, making it feel more like a music video than a live concert, but as an extra, not having to be judged on the same standards as a an official concert release, it is worth a watch. Its enjoyable watching the band's big budget stage show and confident live performance. My advice is that if you see the special version for a reasonable price and don't own the album yet then pick it up, but don't buy two copies just to get this. ****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Solid but not Spectacular, 24 Nov 2014
This a a respectable metal album but while it is fairly consistent non of the songs are outstanding and this holds it back. I like the Pantera-grove metal sound and Ivan Moody proves what a great vocalist he is and there is plenty of head banging to be had. There is some variety with the piano intro on Cold and the acoustic riff on The Agony of Regret . However I would struggle to name my favorite song or sing any back as many of the songs sound the same. The majority of songs lack hooks to stay it your head.

It get 3 starts as there is nothing wrong this album however I can't see people talking about it in 10 years time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
This review is from: The Wrong Side Of Heaven And The Righteous Side Of Hell, Vol. 2 (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
Love metal & rock still at 51, keeps getting better FFDP awsome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Side Of Heaven And The Righteous Side Of Hell, Vol. 2 (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
great album perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars FFDP Vol 2, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Side Of Heaven And The Righteous Side Of Hell, Vol. 2 (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
If you liked Vol 1 then you'll like Vol 2, introduced to the band by my sister-in-law recently and will be looking to get their back catalogue - must be played loud!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Wrong Side Of Heaven And The Righteous Side Of Hell, Vol. 2 (Deluxe), 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Side Of Heaven And The Righteous Side Of Hell, Vol. 2 (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
Yep loved this album well maybe a tiny little less than than volume 1 as i liked the songs better overall on volume1
but buying the deluxe version here you get a free live dvd for little more than the cost of just buying the cd so if i was to choose i would for certain always buy the deluxe versions of anything 5fdp as they always offer a second disc full of goodies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous!, 2 May 2014
This review is from: The Wrong Side Of Heaven And The Righteous Side Of Hell, Vol. 2 (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
One of the best bands out there! Thumping good tunes to get you through the day.
My favourite band and album....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FFDP, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album. Couple of low points but overall there back to their best. Catch them live even better. J r
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Album, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Side Of Heaven And The Righteous Side Of Hell, Vol. 2 (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
Yet again FFDP have don't what they do best. Good album & well worth getting. Would recommend this to others...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews