Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars20
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 February 2014
Beautiful film about an unassuming but interesting woman, lonely and wishing to find love, strong, brave, making an effort to enjoy her life. Fantastic performance by a great actress, Paulina Garcia. Gloria loves to sing along in her car and to go out dancing so there is a delicious music soundtrack. A true and honest movie.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 25 February 2015
Gloria is a name to live up to, and by the end of this film the character played by Paulina Garcia has surely done so. She is an engaging screen presence who is the main focus throughout, appearing in every scene. The marvel of her performance is the way she makes an essentially ordinary person so compelling, without any recourse to obvious drama, except that we see her nude twice; however this isn't at all dramatic except in the way we possibly see it, and reflects the film's honest gaze. It is the revelation of a modern fifty-something woman who could be living in any metropolis, here Santiago. She has an office job, two grown-up children and a grandchild, and is divorced. The plot arises out of her dating a man somewhat older than she is, whose circumstances seem less than clearcut. How all this develops is very subtly shown, and the nuances that govern her feelings at different points are well integrated. She also has two gay neighbours whose relationship doesn't seem to be going well - it emphasises her being alone, and also the difficulty, often, of being with someone else. The man whose flat the disturbances occur in, above hers, has a hairless cat that provides a certain unexpected interest. Sometimes the film comes close to being slightly banal, but it has other surprising moments - a street artist with a marionnette recalls the Mexican Day of the Dead, while near the end she chances on a most extraordinary bird in the garden of some kind of dance venue. Gloria loves dancing, and this bird is surely there to remind us of her, her beauty in the way she stands tall, never gives up, and dances at one point to the disco tune that has her name - a great song of its type, a moment of affirmation, and an encouragement to the rest of us to stop carping and get on out there and live ...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 23 December 2014
Gloria (Paulina Garcia) is a divorced fifty something year old. Her children are long grown up and she is very much young at heart. She goes out to clubs, dances etc. She is basically looking for love in Santiago. Then she meets an ex naval officer Rodolfo. He too is divorced and they hit it off straight away.

He is captivated by her lust for life and easy passion which seems to have been missing from his. Whilst she is quick to embrace him to the bosom of her family - he is rather more reluctant to allow her any where near his. Inequalities in any relationship will cause problems and so the scene is set.

This film is carried by Paulina Garcia's performance. She is a whirlwind and depicts the character of Gloria perfectly, a woman who drinks, smokes, loves and is let down. This is from director Sebastian Leilo who also brought us the rather good `La Sagrada Famila' in 2005. This is one for real fans of World cinema
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2014
i was very moved by it
it rang true
-the man was only divorced one year and was not ready for a new relationship
he seemed in very good shape for someone who had only recently had a gastric band
no flabby excess skin seen in the lovemaking !!
two disinterested children also seemed 'par for course '
her courage to keep going was quite inspiring
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
A wow of a movie recommended buy friends and ordered with effortless speed.....enjoyed every minute! I urge everyone to see it!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2015
Although there was nothing particularly wrong with this film, I can't say that there is much right with it either. We watched it to the end hoping that something vaguely interesting would happen to create more of a story line but we were left thinking it was just a story about a middle aged woman behaving a bit like a lush. It's harmless but pretty lifeless - yes she does sing along to some songs whilst driving a car, but that is about as interesting as it gets to your average viewer - and I freely admit to being an average viewer. I don't need special effects or violence - in fact I tend to avoid films soaked in such things - but I wouldn't recommend this - keep your money in your pocket and look for something else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
I love Gloria. What a woman. Really feel like you are getting to know here, with all her faults, as she continues to get to know herself. Uplifting, funny, poignant and spunky as hell.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
Great film happy, sad, happy what do you do when life seem to be passing you by. You go out and try to make new friends, its not easy because not everyone is what they seem to be.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2015
The film is not without directorial and actor ability, but the central character is so dull and self-obsessed it makes for dull viewing. She never manages a grown up conversation with anyone, and apparently has no interests other than clubbing. Life seems to have taught her little. We were glad when the film ended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
I rate this film highly. Beautifully made and acted, with a strong central performance by Paulina Garcia, as Gloria, a divorcee in late middle-age who is seeking love and happiness. Although Gloria's journey ends in disappointment, the film celebrates her resilience and capacity to recover.
33 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.08
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)