Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant.
The idea that love lives on after death has always appealed to the imaginations of cinema-goers as has been shown, in recent years especially, by the success of such movies as Ghost and Truly, Madly, Deeply, but fifty- odd years before these supernatural love stories were released, there was The Ghost and Mrs Muir.
Released in May 1947, and based quite closely on...
Published on 3 Dec 2005 by Miss Magee

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars George Sanders and Bernard Herrmann
Despite the fact that George Sanders appears in this film, and Bernard Herrmann provides the scores, it still does not lift it to an engaging and entertaining film. I was bored.
Published 5 months ago by Samuel Barber


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 3 Dec 2005
By 
This review is from: The Ghost And Mrs Muir [DVD] (DVD)
The idea that love lives on after death has always appealed to the imaginations of cinema-goers as has been shown, in recent years especially, by the success of such movies as Ghost and Truly, Madly, Deeply, but fifty- odd years before these supernatural love stories were released, there was The Ghost and Mrs Muir.
Released in May 1947, and based quite closely on the 1945 book of the same name, The Ghost and Mrs Muir tells the story of Lucy Muir a young widow who decides she's had enough of having her life led for her by other people and sets off to make her own way in the world. Choosing the Cornish coastline as the location in which to begin her new life Lucy rents the charming Gull Cottage claiming the stories of its being haunted to be nonsense. However, when the ghost of Captain Daniel Gregg manifests itself in her kitchen Lucy is forced to start believing in the supernatural and, despite their differences, she and Captain Greg strike up a friendship which eventually turns to love.
The Ghost and Mrs Muir is an utterly enchanting film with much of its magic lying in the stunning performances given by its top-notch cast. Rex Harrison's plays the surly and argumentative Captain Gregg whose temper and demeanour softens as his friendship with Lucy grows. Harrison is wonderful as the Captain playing him as a strong masculine figure, a genuine man's man and man of the world, although his seaman's accent is a little over the top at times. Gene Tierney's Lucy Muir is beautiful and headstrong yet gentle and naive; the perfect foil to Harrison's Captain Gregg and the chemistry between the two is a joy to behold. George Sanders, too, is ideally cast as Lucy's smarmy suitor Miles Fairley.
However, despite their excellent performances, the actors take second place in this film to Charles Lang's gorgeous cinematography which earned him a well deserved Oscar nomination. The views of the foam topped waves crashing against cliffs which marks the passage of time in the film and the shots of the countryside surrounding Gull Cottage are given a moody, eerie beauty by the two colour Technicolor in which The Ghost and Mrs Muir is filmed and it is scene like these which make this film truly special. Together with Bernard Herrmann's haunting score, which echoes the sound of the waves crashing against the cliffs, these scenes give the movie a wonderfully atmospheric feel.
The Ghost and Mrs Muir is by turns comic and tragic; comic because of characters like Mr Coombe the superstitious estate agent and tragic because we watch the relationship between the Captain and Lucy grow into something more than friendship, yet all the while we are aware that nothing can come of their relationship for, as the Captain himself says, he 'is spirit' and the scene in which he leaves his Lucia (his pet name for Lucy) is heartbreakingly poignant. Ultimately, however, The Ghost and Mrs Muir is romantic, though the romance is beautifully understated as the love between the two protagonists is never confessed or confirmed but merely implied through glances and gestures.
Despite it's few minor flaws such as the fact that it does not follow the book on which it is based quite as closely as it could have, Rex Harrison's rather grating accent and the long drawn out sea metaphors sometimes used by the Captain, The Ghost and Mrs Muir is a touching romance, lovingly made, which tells the story of two people perfect for each other who were never given the chance to be together in this world. It is a tale of impossible love, a love which can never be consummated and it is this which makes that final scene all the more moving and The Ghost and Mrs Muir a true classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A ghostly love story, 7 Oct 2000
By 
Lynette Baines (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I love movies about impossible love, and this is one of my favourites. Lucy Muir, a young widow with a daughter, moves into Gull Cottage by the sea, and encounters the ghost of the former owner, Captain Gregg. He tries to frighten her into leaving, but she stays, and they fall in love. The beautiful soundtrack is full of the sounds of the sea, the seagulls and the melancholy of a love story which can't be resolved. Rex Harrison and Gene Tierney are perfect in their roles, and the supporting cast are wonderful, particularly Edna Best as Martha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What is life but love?, 26 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: The Ghost And Mrs Muir [DVD] (DVD)
I challenge anyone to engage fully with this movie and not be moved to tears. Forget George Sanders in his trademark cad role - wonderful though he is. The real heart of this movie is the relationship between Gene Tierney's determined widow and Rex Harrison as the ghostly sea Captain. There's something about this etheral love that simply transcends description and touches the immortal nature of love as a meaning for life. Watch it. Get involved. But keep the tissues to hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Triumph of love over death, 25 Oct 2005
This review is from: The Ghost And Mrs Muir [DVD] (DVD)
This is a beautiful movie that works on many fronts. Lucie is a a strong independent lady living in an age where such women are not accepted by society.
Despite this she follows her true heart in first rejecting the inferior position her in-laws would have her accept, and then betraying all conventional wisdom by falling in love with a Ghost. The Ghost (Rex Harrison) is the only person who really understands her, but in his own way is really also a reflexion of her.
The Moral: be true to yourself.
The Story: A beatiful love story - for true romantics only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romantic Comedies Don't Come Better Than This., 5 Jun 2005
By 
D. P. Cunningham "Darryl Cunningham" (Yorkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Edwardian widow, Gene Tierney, flees her overbearing in-laws to buy a small cottage by the sea. With small daughter and maid in tow, the formidable Mrs Muir sets up home in this idyllic setting. However, the house is haunted by the ghost of a sea captain, who doesn't much care for women invading, what he still sees, as his home.
At first, the uncouth captain (played with bearded handsomeness by Rex Harrison) tries to scare off the beautiful widow, but to no avail. She is tough and unmoving. A bickering friendship then begins to develop between the prim lady and the worldly-wise sailor. She agrees to write the captain's memoirs for him (a great success). Gradually unspoken feelings begin to deepen between the two, despite the obvious impossibility of their relationship.
Eventually Mrs. Muir meets a charming writer who manages to seduce her. You know this guy is no good, because he's played by George Sanders (the arch cad of many Hollywood films).
What I love about this film is that it starts off as a light comedy, but as the film progresses, the mood darkens, and then darkens again. The years roll by, while Bernard Herrman's romantic and doom-laiden music, crashes like waves on a beach.
The ending is tragic, uplifting and very, very moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-warming ghost story, guaranteed (with a tear) to cheer a bleak winter evening., 9 May 2010
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost And Mrs Muir [DVD] (DVD)
Gene Tierney and Rex Harrison capture our hearts, George Sanders tries to steal them away, but Rex Harrison is a ghost, slowly fading into non-existence. This is an impossible love story that cannot fail to move us.

The stunningly beautiful photography from Charles Lang was nominated for the 1947 Academy Award, and the outstanding score by Bernard Hermann should also have been. The direction by Joseph L Mankiewicz is excellent and the characters and their actions seem entirely natural, especially the abrasive sea captain who cannot quite control his coarseness in the presence of a genteel lady.

The Amazon summary and synopsis almost tell us too much, but having watched the film on TV a couple of times, we knew the story and still bought our own copy to be able to continue to enjoy it, especially since there is less and less worth watching on any TV these days.

The print is only B&W and shown in 4:3 with 2.0 `Stereo' sound, but the quality is as good as one might expect from 35mm, and one soon forgets this as the story and characters come to life and take a firm grip on our attention.

We find that a dark and wet and windy winter's night makes the perfect backdrop to watching this in the snug of our living room, and we always have tears in our eyes at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic romantic delight, 11 Mar 2009
By 
D. Edwards "Bookworm" (New York USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ghost And Mrs Muir [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this film years ago and it always stuck in my mind. I bought this disc becasue it was offered at such a low price. Also, I was curious to see if the film was as good as I remembered, bearing in mind that I was around 9 when I first saw it on the television as a kid. I'm pleased to say that I absolutely loved the film and shed a little tear or two at the end. In fact I think it is a better film then I remembered, but as an adult I probabaly just appreciate it in different way. This film is very of its era, so if you don't like black and white movies, you are not going to like this one. I think this film has somethig for pretty much everyone though and if you are a fan of old films this really is one for you. Rex Harrison is wonderful and George Sanders is a usual the perfect cad. What a wonderful voice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice gentle yarn, 23 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. Derek R. Osbourne (New Malden, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ghost And Mrs Muir [DVD] (DVD)
A lovely gentle way to spend the evening. Rex Harrison is marvellous as the ghost with his deep and expressive voice. George Sanders is splendidly caddish with the voice that my 11 year old daughter immediately recognised as Shere Khan. Gene Tierney was very decorative but put into the shade by the other two leads.

The cinematography was lovely and deserved its oscar nomination.

A nice gentle story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hopelessly romantic, but a marvellous film, 22 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost And Mrs Muir [DVD] (DVD)
A long-neglected but magnificent little masterpiece of the late 1940s cinema, with some superb black-and-white photography, excellent performances by Rex Harrison and Gene Tierney, and first-rate direction from Joseph Mankiewicz. Hopelessly romantic it may be, but it has a timelessness about it, transcending the date when it was made, and it speaks to us all, as fresh today as it was when it was made over fifty years ago. I defy anyone to watch the closing scene with dry eyes. Marvellous stuff, and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quiet, quite charming romantic comedy, 2 Aug 2004
By 
Miguel M. Santos "miguelmsantos" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
A quiet, quite charming romantic comedy from director Joseph L Mankiewicz, who later directed "All About Eve". A widow (Gene Tierney) decides to leave her husband's family and move to the sea side. There she moves to a house where a captain (Rex Harrison) had live and die and she falls in love with his ghost. Although not much happens in the film, you still can't help falling in love with it. Gene Tierney is lovely, Rex Harrison is close to top form, George Sanders is at his slimy best and look for a very young Natalie Wood as Gene Tierney's daughter. The DVD looks very good and sounds quite good as well, doing justice to one of Bernard Herrmann's best and most famous scores. Let yourself fall in love with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghost & Mrs Muir [Blu-ray] [1947] [US Import]
Ghost & Mrs Muir [Blu-ray] [1947] [US Import] by Joseph L. Mankiewicz (Blu-ray - 2013)
£11.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews