Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific music and lyrics
Very clever lyrics and great melodies. Seeing the show in a fortnight but horrified that it is closing so soon. Very sad.
Published 7 months ago by Mr. Nigel Quiney

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a 'Stephen Bored'
My problem with the title still remains: Stephen Ward is not the title of a musical. It relies on a decent knowledge of the Profumo affair- i.e. knowledge beyond the fact that there was probably someone called Profumo involved. If you're going to use a name, it better have an obvious resonance. There was a musical about the Profumo affair in 2007 actually, called A Model...
Published 2 months ago by Miss Scarlett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Andrew Lloyd Webber's score since Sunset Boulevard, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Ward (Original Cast Recording) (Audio CD)
After seeing the very first performance of this musical, on 3rd December, I was expecting for this Original Cast Recording with much anticipation.
I must give 5 stars because I consider the musical and the score to be the best from composer Andrew Lloyd Webber since his Sunset Boulevard. I strongly recommend going and seeing the musical in London.

As for this score, it contains some of the best songs from Andrew in years. There are reminiscences of Sunset, Cats, Evita and even Starlight Express. There are touchs of The Woman in White and shades of Love Never Dies, in fact, it is the only musical I remember in which you recognize Lloyd Webber music through so many past musicals from him. There are even 2 notes from Memory, from Cats, hidden in one of the duets. But I don't want to be misunderstood: in spite of faint similarities, each song is original on its own. There is a wide variety: catchy songs, ballads, a love duet, strong songs based on rythm, and even more convoluted and nostalgic, like "Mother Russia", waltz-like songs like in Evita...

The first 12 songs (Act One) are very refreshing, happy and of light mood. The Act Two is much more obscure. In fact, IMHO, I would recommend Webber to change this second part, even if the story changes mood too. But I would supress one or two songs, and would write two more songs. Even if it is a lot of work for every one involved, it could extent the lifetime of the show several times, as was the case in Love Never Dies.

The performance from the cast is perfect and the quality of the recording is very high. I strongly recommend it. It is a pitty (and not understandable) that it is not in the first 10 top-selling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Ward (Original Cast Recording) (Audio CD)
I had expected better and, had it continued for a longer run in the West End, would not have been tempted to go and see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars nothing, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Ward (Original Cast Recording) (Audio CD)
Forget about it. The banality of melodies and lyrics is appalling. Where are you , Tim Rice, now that we need you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stephen Ward CD, 8 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Ward (Original Cast Recording) (Audio CD)
This is one of Webbers worst shows althought not actually seen it but read the script and heard the CD. There are only about 3 good songs in it and there were below par for Webber....Thought it would have been better for Tim Rice to have done the lyrics....This is NOT for family listening as some bad language in the lyrics. This is good for theatrical goers and collectors of anything to do with this period. Not the best of singers on the whole and some of the songs I thought were a little tacky. Would rate this show and songs as one of the worst Webber has ever been involved with...Worth a listen or two but will never be a memorable one like Evita, JCS or even Joseph.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1963, 6 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. W. Tatum (Essex Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stephen Ward (Original Cast Recording) (Audio CD)
Track 12.....1963 is fantastic,worth the price of the cd by its self. Would love to see the show,loved P Of The Opera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andrew Lloyd Webber as I like it!, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Ward (Original Cast Recording) (Audio CD)
One of the best Musicals from the Lord, magnificant tunes, interesting story, wonderful voices and a delightful memory of the original performance seen last December in London. A MUST for ALW fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Gift, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Ward (Original Cast Recording) (Audio CD)
Awesome CD! I play it everyday. Am thrilled with my Christmas gift to myself. Thank you for your prompt service!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Ward (Original Cast Recording) (Audio CD)
Nice music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tale of Two Christines, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Ward (Original Cast Recording) (Audio CD)
In all honesty I think that this is a sublime piece of work. I won't deny that in the past few years Lord Lloyd Webber hasn't necessarily been at the top of his game (although I do feel that that has been particularly due to bad lyrics) but 'Stephen Ward' has a beautiful soundtrack. I know that unless this show ends up having a phenomenal run I probably won't get to see it until someone decides to do a revival, but I do feel this show deserves a good run. Not necessarily 27 years like Phantom, but certainly longer than 6 months!

I feel that a lot of people's biggest problem with this musical is that it is non-comparable to any other Lloyd Webber show, except perhaps 'Evita'. Yes, several musical themes and motifs created by Lloyd Webber reappear here, but that is something I've come to expect and love from an Andrew Lloyd Webber show. You cannot, under any circumstances, compare a show set in the very real swinging sixties of London to one set in the mid 1800's in a fictional opera house in Paris inhabited by a murderous phantom. The only point of contact between the two is the fact that the primary female leads share the same name.

However, seeing as people feel it's necessary to compare completely unrelated shows, I would advise them to listen to Lloyd Webber's 'Requiem', because each time I listen to 'Stephen Ward', that is the one piece of his that I am truly musically reminded of. I think this is a brilliant show, and deserves much better press than what it is getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just one word to describe this disc, FABULOUS..., 11 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. Gordon J. Sheppard "GJS" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Ward (Original Cast Recording) (Audio CD)
In my humble opinion: Here, ANDREW LLOYD WEBBER has done it again. Another big success. Yet another great musical and a superb testament to Stephen Ward. The music is great and the lyrics are terrific; cleverly telling the story, of how the 'government and the establishment', so wickedly hounded Stephen Ward to his death, At this price this is a damned good buy. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I feel fully confident that if you buy it. You will enjoy it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stephen Ward (Original Cast Recording)
Stephen Ward (Original Cast Recording) by Stephen Ward (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews