Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the best of the 4 but still very good.
I agree with the other reviewers that the film editing of this event is poor and at times irritating, not good at all. There are enough superb high spots in the performances themselves though to warrant 5 stars for me. There are some real gems here, Gary Clarks Next door neighbour blues for one. Keith Urban is good addition to this years festival, a shame that Susan...
Published 11 months ago by billy b damned

versus
31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great..in parts
After the previous Crossroads DVD's I was eagerly looking forward to this years performances however apart from some gems in between I am disappointed.
First the continuity is poor, the acts are scattered all over the place, why not show the event and musicians in order they appear? The camera work is shoddy at times and downright awful in places. For instance...
Published 11 months ago by Richard


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great..in parts, 23 Nov 2013
By 
Richard (Axminster, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After the previous Crossroads DVD's I was eagerly looking forward to this years performances however apart from some gems in between I am disappointed.
First the continuity is poor, the acts are scattered all over the place, why not show the event and musicians in order they appear? The camera work is shoddy at times and downright awful in places. For instance Booker T's marvellous rendition of "Green Onions" is interrupted by a shot of someone walking in the auditorium showing his ticket to a steward. The camera shakes during other sessions and during one number it is focused on a microphone stand and the artists feet!
Much of the time there are no intorductions so we do not know who is playing in the band. There is a jam session including BB King but you don't know it until a way through. Earl Klugh suffers the most with the shortest performance of all just a few minutes and must have been cut as it only shows his last two numbers, no introduction either.
There is too much of the same style of playing dominated by Doyle Bramhall, so much it becomes monotinous.
However there are moments of inspiration-"Born under a bad sign" with Keb Mo (later to play with Taj Mahal) and Booker T's band including Matt "guitar" Murphy is raunchy as hell and there is a fast paced rendition of the classic "Green Onions".
One man band Gary Clark Jr jaunts through "Next Door Neighbour blues" to the delight of the audience.
The appearance of Keith Richards is a signal for rapturous applause as he plays with Eric on the Key to the Highway.
Its a DVD that you have to dip into to get the best out of, there are moments of magnificent guitar playing and music but it lacks the festival atmosphere of 2007, the sunshine, the quality of camera work and variety of performances.
Crossroads needs a rethink.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a mess - but some good music., 24 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I've bought all the previous Crossroads Festival releases, but this one had me scratching my head from the beginning.

You just don't get the sense of it being a music festival. Being done indoors at Madison Square Garden seems take something away from what we have come to expect. All you get are a mishmash of tracks and artists with no real continuity. Half the time you don't know who is playing as there is no introductions and there is no MC to give any details.

The camera work is awful. Half the time you are looking at the wrong musician. It just doesn't feel connected and there is no sense of the festival atmosphere we have come to expect. It's just put together from a jumble of tracks and you don't really feel like you've watched a festival from beginning to end. Doyle Bramhall seems to have been involved in the mixing of the DVD and he also seemed to be on an awful lot of the performances. He doesn't exactly have a broad range, and this seems to make a lot of it sound the same.

Bad though the technical aspects of the production, continuity and camera work are, you do get some brilliant performances throughout. If you forget this is supposed to be a festival, you get some great tracks. So for the music, I will give it 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Music...shame about the production quality!, 15 Dec 2013
By 
M. Barker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013 [Blu-ray]Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013 [DVD]
As a huge Clapton fan, I looked forward to this release for months, and bought all 3 formats; Blu-Ray, DVD and CD.
The quality of the BD/DVD is quite appalling and is simply 'not fit for purpose'. On initial viewing I honestly thought that I had a defective disc, but alas, having read the other reviews soon realised it was all down to the sub-standard production.
I realise the profits go to the Crossroads Charity, but this is seriously taking the p***. The picture quality is more like an 80s VHS, with horizontal interference like 'ghosting' lines running across the screen. The camera work is also somewhat suspect at times, but the artistic licence can be forgiven to some extent, whereas the overall lack of 'high definition' on the Blu-ray in particular cannot. Judging by the number of poor reviews on here, this release should be pulled and re-produced, however I doubt if that would be possible as the problem probably lies with the master film. By way of some compensation, the audio is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the best of the 4 but still very good., 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I agree with the other reviewers that the film editing of this event is poor and at times irritating, not good at all. There are enough superb high spots in the performances themselves though to warrant 5 stars for me. There are some real gems here, Gary Clarks Next door neighbour blues for one. Keith Urban is good addition to this years festival, a shame that Susan Tedeschi doesn't appear though, in fact women are in short supply this year. All in all some great playing and good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The music is great, the video quality is poor, 23 Nov 2013
By 
J. W. Worth - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nearly 5 hours of the 2013 Crossroads concert recorded over 2 nights in New York earlier this year. I bought the standard DVD and like the Bluray reviewers have already said the video image quality is very poor, extremely 'grainy'. Sure its indoors and and the light levels are not great but the team that recorded Joe Bonamassa's Tour de Force 4 DVDs this year in for different venues in London did a much better job.

As has been the case in the 3 previous Crossroad concert releases Eric Clapton has assembled some new or less well know faces and showcased some remarkable talent so the content is good, I only listen to stuff in stereo and have to say that some of the audio quality is nothing to write home about either, It's hard to recommend this double DVD set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better mix of artists this time., 13 Dec 2013
By 
J. Hale (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think by now people have got the message that this is nt the best of the Crossroads concerts by some margin but I put that partly down to the others being open-air gigs which give a better atmosphere and the changing light make them much more photogenic. Also this one seems a bit more corporate and the artists seem some how restained in some cases. As already mentioned this DVD is certainly not as crisp as previous concerts and in particular the 2007 event. Sound quality seems a bit dull on some tracks.

But hell lets not compare too much with the others because over-all I am pleased to see a better mix of artists than 2011 which had the old timers doing their stuff but quite frankly some of them were on their last legs( literally )Welcome new acts to 2013 are Keith Urban, who does two great covers, Allman Brothers, Gary Clarke, Beth Hart and a great appearance by Keith, who looks to be enjoying himself ! Nice to see Andy Fairweather Low back doing some tasteful acoustic numbers wth EC.

Although there are less stand-out moments than previous concerts there are still a few great bits including John Mayer doing a cover of "Dont Let me Down", Allman's "Whipping Post" is pure class so is Gregg's, "Midnight Rider" -Jeff Beck, Derek Trucks, Keb Mo and Sonny landreth all put in good performances.

This is a great stocking filler for anyone who likes nostalgic guitar rock and if it was nt compared with the previous 3 concerts would stand out as being a great DVD and certainly worth 4 stars:
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sound fantastic' picture terrible!!!!, 20 Nov 2013
By 
chris nichols (leeds, yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Just got the Blu-Ray of this years "Crossroads" festival and I have to admit I'm a little disappointed' the sound quality is DTS- Master Audio and is superb' but the picture quality is 1989 VHS! yes it was filmed in low light but this is very bad' I have all the previous festivals on DVD/Blu-Ray and this has the worst production values' but on a positive note the two day concert is top notch and the musicianship is impeccable as always' my advice stick to the DVD or CD release and forget about forking out for the "High-Def"????? Blu Ray .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tired and limited in scope, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I've got all the previous Crossroads releases and this one from Madison Square Garden is essentially 'more of the same'. Many of the songs appear on the earlier releases and the majority of the musicians performing also appear on previous releases. There are some highpoints - Jeff Beck is particularly good for example (note: not playing blues!) and the Allmans are on fine form.

The audio and video quality are OK but not great - one gets the sense that this was thrown together with minimal thought. Essentially it's Eric with his mates rehashing lots of old material; like a re-heated meal, not as good as the first time round.

A good concept and worthy cause but how about some other world class blues-influenced artists who have not yet appeared? Robben Ford, Peter Frampton, Robin Trower, Pat Travers, Jimmy Page, Joe Satriani, Mark Knopfler, Dave Gilmour, Carlos Santana, Angus Young, Richie Kotzen and Steve Lukather are just a few names who immediately spring to mind.

Essentially the whole Crossroads concept needs a shot in the arm (nothing addictive obviously!) in order to revitalize the franchise and broaden the appeal beyond the fairly limited standard blues repertoire.

Overall: disappointing, tired and limited in scope when compared to the earlier concerts in the 'Crossroads' series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good concert, poor video quality, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Echoing what some of the others have said- not the best of the series but still a lot of great performances to be seen.

Drops a star though as there's really no excuse for the grainy picture quality in 2013, especially given the size and budget of the event. A gig like this (especially with a pre planed dvd/blu-ray) should be filmed and produced with top quality equipment that can deal with the low lighting levels. Sections of this end up looking like a pub gig filmed on an iphone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The indoor Crossroads gig, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Love the line up, Eric, you have done it again, the third guitar fest, great line up, B.B. and Buddy awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013 [Blu-ray]
Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013 [Blu-ray] by Eric Clapton (Blu-ray - 2013)
£18.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews