Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What is it with Clapton ?
Something has been bothering me of late, concerning EC's studio albums. From Back Home to Old Sock has revealed that EC's studio recordings currently have serious feet of clay. There's something missing, that you cannot really put your finger on: it's as if a yearning is there, but the execution is pointless, or wrong-headed.

That's not to say, however, that...
Published 7 months ago by T. C. Casagranda

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very average
Must say this was disappointing, quite mediocre in fact, one or two very good tracks but mostly artists seemed to be going through the motions
Published 3 months ago by P. M. G.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What is it with Clapton ?, 7 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013 (Audio CD)
Something has been bothering me of late, concerning EC's studio albums. From Back Home to Old Sock has revealed that EC's studio recordings currently have serious feet of clay. There's something missing, that you cannot really put your finger on: it's as if a yearning is there, but the execution is pointless, or wrong-headed.

That's not to say, however, that his collaborations, and other live albums, lack something: far from it. EC has worked wonders with Wynton Marsalis, reunited with Cream for some excellent concerts in 2005, and given us an amazing live album with Steve Winwood. He's also cut the mustard with the late JJ Cale on The Road to Escondido, and this various artists, EC curated, album shows that the live and collaborative material is what EC currently does best.

It opens with a great Tears In Heaven, and follows that with a nod to the Tulsa sound, with Vince Gill, on Lay Down Sally. Then the guests take over, with an amazing Green Onions by Booker T, Steve Cropper, Albert Lee etc. I have an obscure ferocious take on Green Onions on a Stax 4cd set, and this version summons up that ghost. John Mayer also channels an inner Brothers & Sisters / Harvest mellow rock feel on Queen of California, and what he does with Keith Urban on Don't Let Me Down is amazing. Urban is excellent in recent collaborations with Jimmy Webb and John Fogerty, and this only highlights his brilliance.

I am also fond of Gary Clark Jnr, who also appears on the recent Buddy Guy album, and was a guest on some of the Rolling Stones 50th anniversary gigs. He's a revelation on this album, whether it be with Doyle Bramhall, electric blues, or acoustic blues. Additionally, he's the younger blues in contrast to the fiery older blues of Buddy Guy, represented here on Damn Right I Got The Blues, and shows the blues to be in safe hands.

I would add too that EC's revisitation of Derek-era material with Derek Trucks and the rest of the curremt Allman Brothers Band is brilliant, and maybe that could be, or should be, the roots of a great live collaboration. Bobby Whitlock is still alive, and it could be worthwhile.

Furthermore, Jeff Beck on Women Of Ireland is far better than he was with the Corrs doing the same track. It's not a patch on The Chieftains original version, but it's still good.

I would add, finally, that EC really knows what to do with his back catalogue: his live archives are coming to light with a recent 2 disc Unplugged reissue, a 1977 concert as a bonus on Slowhand, and highlights from the Johnny Cash show on a deluxe Layla. Unlike the Stones, he's really giving the fans what they want, in the last year, be it a new studio album, Old Sock, the live concert with Wynton Marsalis, and the deluxe Slowhand, in addition to the deluxe Unplugges. We, in the forthcoming week, will also be expecting Give Me Strength; the 1974-75 Sessions, and , hopefully, there'll be more in 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some Great Music., 24 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013 (Audio CD)
Despite all the problems with the DVD/Bluray, you can't really get away from the fact that there are some really great performances on this CD/download. You don't get all the tracks that are on the DVD, but you get most of them. I still prefer to have a physical disk rather than just downloading the tracks.

I like that they have published a CD/download this time. It will save me time ripping the tracks off the DVD so I can add them to my MP3 collection.

There are quite a few artists new to the Crossroads series as well as many of the old favourites. If you're a fan of the Crossroads franchise, I don't think you'll be disappointed.

I'm sure this collection of tracks will give me many hours of happy listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great concert!, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013 (Audio CD)
A beautiful double CD with a superb cast and really enjoyable performances, with ragged vocals and shining traded solos. One of the best blues releases of 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crossroads 1st cd, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013 (Audio CD)
Yet another fabulous line up. I have all the previous DVDs and they are brilliant but this time I can actually listen to it in the car!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013 (Audio CD)
Eric Clapton is always worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great blend of Guitarists, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013 (Audio CD)
Can't quite justify the five stars as it should be good anyway for a live performance of greats, bought it because of Gary Clark Jnr an emerging talent and the legendary Buddy Guy which then made me buy his latest album Rhythm and Blues which is definitely five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
By 
Mrs. B. Mckay - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013 (Audio CD)
great cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Crossroads Guitar Festival, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013 (Audio CD)
Excellent guitar blues CD with Eric Clapton and friends at their best - well worth a listen and a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius at wsork and play, 7 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013 (Audio CD)
Do you like guitar music? Do you like blues? Then why isn't this in your collection already? It is? I apologise...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very average, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013 (Audio CD)
Must say this was disappointing, quite mediocre in fact, one or two very good tracks but mostly artists seemed to be going through the motions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013
Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013 by Eric Clapton (Audio CD - 2013)
Click for more info
In stock on July 15, 2014
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews