Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CATCHING THE WOLF
"I read that book from cover to cover - 698 pages in a single day - and I laughed out loud the entire time. I was blown away. Mesmerised. Not only was it the most brilliant book I had ever read but also there was something about the writing style that resonated with my soul...."

So says the Wolf Jordan Belfort, referring to Tom Wolfe's book "The Bonfire of the...
Published 10 months ago by Jet Lagged

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow to start but still couldn't put it down
I read this immediately after the Wolf of Wall Street and so was slightly disappointed to hear some of the same stories & a lot of explanation before getting into how the Wolf was caught. It was definitely worth reading to the end!
Published 7 months ago by Twickers mummy


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CATCHING THE WOLF, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"I read that book from cover to cover - 698 pages in a single day - and I laughed out loud the entire time. I was blown away. Mesmerised. Not only was it the most brilliant book I had ever read but also there was something about the writing style that resonated with my soul...."

So says the Wolf Jordan Belfort, referring to Tom Wolfe's book "The Bonfire of the Vanities".

This "Catching the Wolf of Wall Street" book is the follow-up to his original "The Wolf of Wall Street". There is inevitable duplication with the first book - but enough new material here to keep us interested all over again.

What I find impressive is just how well written this book is. I enjoyed reading it so much that I began to suspect a ghostwriter had been hired to do the job. After all, this guy was not a writer. He was too busy with certain other activities to have any time left for writing.

I would have probably come away with that ghostwriter belief intact - except for what Belfort reveals at the end of the book:-

"... I must have read that book two dozen times, until I knew every word by heart. And then I read it again, to learn grammar. Then I paid my trusty laundry man, Mark the meth dealer ( who happened to be an avid reader), ten cans of tuna to go through the book with a fine-tooth comb and write down every simile and analogy on a separate piece of paper. Then I read it over and over again until I could recite them in my sleep. And before I knew it, a voice popped into my head: my writers voice. It was ironic, glib, obnoxious, self-serving, and often despicable, but, as Tommy explained it, it was funny as all hell."

The "Tommy" he is referring to is Tommy Chong (Of Cheech and Chong fame). Someone with a sense of humour placed Belfort in the same cell as Chong. Tommy Chong encouraged Belfort to get his exploits down on paper.

So what is Belfort up to nowadays? As indicated in the DiCaprio movie, he is now a motivational speaker or "power of persuasion" type of mentor. And he has his own website at jordanbelfort.com. Watching an "interview" he gives on the site, he seems to be morphing into a clone of Anthony Robbins.

One thing is for sure. This guy will never be dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book., 19 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant and in depth insight into the real workings of the wolf of Wall Street. If you have seen the film and read the first book this book is a must read as it completes the whole story. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking good read, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catching the Wolf of Wall Street: More Incredible True Stories of Fortunes, Schemes, Parties, and Prison (Kindle Edition)
If you have read The Wolf of Wall Street then this is a must, a very good follow up and closes the circle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catching the Wolf of Wall Street: More Incredible True Stories of Fortunes, Schemes, Parties, and Prison (Kindle Edition)
Remarkable story. If it wasn't true and written by the man himself; one would not believe it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
EXCELLENT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Catching the Wolf, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catching the Wolf of Wall Street: More Incredible True Stories of Fortunes, Schemes, Parties, and Prison (Kindle Edition)
A great read for those who enjoyed the first book. More insight into his character and a chance to fully understand this man's brilliance and depravity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compellingly brilliant, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catching the Wolf of Wall Street: More Incredible True Stories of Fortunes, Schemes, Parties, and Prison (Kindle Edition)
Ethics and morals aside, what an amazing life story. Very funny account of getting, then losing, everything. Will have to read again soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting take on the 90's stock market, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catching the Wolf of Wall Street: More Incredible True Stories of Fortunes, Schemes, Parties, and Prison (Kindle Edition)
Brutally honest and an enjoyable read. Much more detailed than the film (obviously) but very interesting and a lot of genuine laugh out loud content
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top buy, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
after watching the film I found out their are books available and bought both which are well written and very entertaining a VERY GOOD read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Duller than the film, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like many people I saw the film with all the hookers and the drugs. This book is the same as that but also so much more. It's a pretty hefty read but it shows you another side to the story you don't see in the film. It shows you the true depth of Jordan Belfort and no matter how you feel about what he did, you can't help but admire him and feel sorry for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews