Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning folk-pop album
With such classic songs as Scarborough fair / Canticle (a major American hit), Homeward bound (the only UK hit from the album, this was a ten hit on both sides of the Atlantic), For Emily wherever I may find her (sung solo by Art) and the 59th street bridge song - Feeling groovy (a hit for Harper's Bizarre in the UK and USA), this is yet another masterpiece from Paul...
Published on 19 Jan 2005 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The three D's
Depressed, dismayed and disappointed, previous reviews rave about this disk, sadly I am unable to share their views, even though I was desperate to. I listened and hoped to re kindle the many memories I once had of this LP and as each track played I found myself becoming depressed at the engineers failure to capture the original sound of the LP. The remastering has...
Published on 12 Jan 2009 by Mr. Philip Parkinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning folk-pop album, 19 Jan 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
With such classic songs as Scarborough fair / Canticle (a major American hit), Homeward bound (the only UK hit from the album, this was a ten hit on both sides of the Atlantic), For Emily wherever I may find her (sung solo by Art) and the 59th street bridge song - Feeling groovy (a hit for Harper's Bizarre in the UK and USA), this is yet another masterpiece from Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel.
The famous songs already mentioned are available on countless hits compilations of their music, so if you are thinking of buying this, it is because you want to hear the other songs. They are all of a high quality, notably Cloudy (with its incredible imagery), Big bright green pleasure machine (about TV advertising) and Dangling conversation (about cocktail party gossip).
Yet the most notable track of all may be 7 o'clock news / Silent night. With a peaceful Christmas carol as background, this track reflects on the state of the world back then as relayed in news bulletins. Of course, news bulletins generally focus on problems and tragedies, so a piece like this could have been recorded at any time. Despite world progress, news bulletins are always full of despair, never more so than while I am writing this, soon after the Indian Ocean earthquake.
If you are interested in more than just their hits, this Simon and Garfunkel album is definitely worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure pleasure, 7 Jun 2009
I updated my collection of S&G music a couple of years ago, by purchasing the Definitive collection through Amazon ( I had this on tape) and Bridge Over Troubled Water on remastered CD, i read somewhere that Parsley Sage Rosemary & Thyme was an album you had to hear, so I ordered a copy, despite having the 'singles'. The whole album is amazing, i am boring my entire family by raving on about it and playing it to death. I love it all , but particulary at the moment 'Patterns' and 'Flowers Never Bend With the Rainfall' It is pure pleasure, the sixties relaxed folk rock sound in every song and yet another example of Paul Simon's genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry set to music..., 7 Jun 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hugely popular at the time but, as with much of Simon & Garfunkle's work, now increasingly consigned to the "interesting time-piece" category, "Parsley, Sage, Rosemary & Time" is quite simply one of the best albums from the 60's. If you haven't listened to it recently, get out your old copy and prepare to be amazed at the quality of the songs, the complexity and superb metering of their lyrics and the often stunningly beautiful singing - captured at its finest in the breathtakingly poignant "For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her". Sure, a couple of tracks sound pretty dated and a couple fall into the easy-listening "rock-pop" category, but most have a timeless clarity and sincerity that few of their contemporaries and equally few artists since then have mastered. And... if you don't own it but want to discover how good poetry set to music can be, well, it doesn't get much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A season To Remember, 10 May 2002
By A Customer
A Truly wonderful album which just displays a feel for the time and place.From the Opening of Scarborough Fair to the beautiful Joys of Cloudy and the upbeat tempo of The 59th Street bridge song its as if you have been transported back to the sixties.Also included on the album is their top five hit Homeward Bound.A personal Favourite is The Dangling Conversation with its account of a couple drifting apart.The album ends with 7 O clock/Silent night.A grim reminder of the times that were being lived and a big comment on the state of America in 1966.The Bonus tracks of Patterns and A poem on the Underground wall showcase Paul Simons Raw and Personal direction.A great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Re-master!!!, 5 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This is another fine re-master of a classic Simon and Garfunkel album from the mid-sixties.This was S&G's third album and consolidated their position as a most popular performing duo.The marvellous melodies and lyrics of Simon combined with the beautiful harmonies with Garfunkel are instantly likeable even after almost forty years.Garfunkel's talent is hugely evident, particularly in his solo rendition of the beautiful 'For Emily' and the development of Simons song-writing ability stands out in the memorable 'Dangling Conversation'.Simons deep thought runs right through the album and is particularly evident on 'Flowers Never Bend'(with its thoughts on life and inevitable death) and 'Patterns', with its suggestion that all in life is already set out for us.There are also light-hearted tunes, especially 'Feelin, Groovy' and the wonderfully breezy 'Cloudy'.I can't understand why the producers migrated 'Homeward Bound' from the 'Sounds of Silence' album to this as I think it sounds somewhat out of place.This album was always able to stand on its own merit.However all things considered this is a fine buy at the price for anybody interested in S&G and is thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simon & Garfunkle put together their first great album, 19 Jan 2004
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
"Parsley, Sage, Rosemary & Thyme" was the first big breakthrough album for Simon & Garfunkel as artists. Although their first two albums certainly showed promise, there was a big difference with this 1966 album. The difference was that this time Simon & Garfunkel, along with engineer Roy Halee, had total control in the making of the album. Given that their other 1966 album, "The Sounds of Silence," had been thrown together in less than a month to take advantage of the hot single, this makes a big difference. Just compare the horrible overdubbing of "The Songs of Silence" single with basically anything on this album, but especially with the opening track, "Scarborough Fair/Canticle."
This was an album that would appeal to college students, with the literary rock of "Dangling Conversation," the caustic commentary of "A Simple Desultory Philippic (or How I was Robert McNamara'd into Submission)," and the simple juxtaposition of the duo singing "Silent Night" to a piano accompaniment juxtaposed against the headlines from the Nightly News (including the death of Lenny Bruce and the escalation of the war in Vietnam) on the album's final track, "7 O'Clock News/Silent Night." College students would also appreciate the sentiments of "Homeward Bound," the attack on television as "The Big Bright Green Pleasure Machine," one of the decade's great feel-good songs, "59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin' Groovy)," and the drama of "Poem on the Underground Wall."
But as much as I like the opening track and "Homeward Bound," the song that puts this over the top is the simply beautiful "For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her." There was a time in high school when that was my favorite song, and I did not even know a girl named Emily. Along with "Bridge Over Troubled Water" and "All I Know," "Emily" is one of the songs that truly showcase's Garfunkle's soaring vocals, not to mention Simon's poetic sensibilities. As good as this 1966 album was, Simon & Garfunkle's next album, "Bookends," was even better, and the one after that was the best of all. But then discovered the magic formula here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply beautiful, 14 Jan 2002
How I remember this album so well from my youth! Beautiful songs such as Cloudy and Scarborough Fair are hard to come by these days. Art Garfunkel's voice and Paul Simon's harmonies are superb. Feel-good music at its best. Relaxing and reflective (and fun!) - all these songs are glistening rain drops. The album - a pearl beyond price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simon and garfunkel, 9 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a great album to compleat the set of simon and garfunkel cds. fast reliable service and totaly satisfied with product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic and unforgettable., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Definitive S&G. If you could only have 1 album of theirs this would be right up there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eternal, 9 July 2014
By 
N. C. Grace "amazingrace" (leicester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for 20 yr old daughter. She loves it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Parsley, Sage, Rosemary And Thyme
Buy MP3 Album5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews