Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars67
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 January 2002
I would firstly have to agree with the previous reviewer and say that this is a remarkable re-master.I did have this album on vinyl and cassette many year's ago but the quality of sound here is a huge improvment and the best re-master I have ever heard.
The album itself, is of course classic S&G fare, with some of the song's appearing to be full of youthful energy and exuberance.Behind this is of course the typical deep meaning and thought of Simon, with the beautiful 'Kathy's Song' and 'Leave's that are Green' real stand out tune's.That said there is not one bad track here and anybody who like's S&G will not be dissapointed if they purchase this.The more well known tracks like 'I Am A Rock' and the title track are all well complemented with the remainder gem's on this album.The original album contained 'Homeward Bound' but for some strange reason its been migrated to the 'Parsley Sage....' album.Still an excellent album though.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2012
If, like me you've got the LP, track 7, the first track on side 2 is 'Homeward Bound', which, in the days of 8-track cartridges, appeared on: 'Parsley Sage, Rosemary and Thyme', in order to balance up the 4 parts of the 8-track. Odd then, since this is a continuous single sided disc, and what with there being 4 bonus tracks, they failed to include 'Homeward Bound'.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2005
One of the first LP's I bought as a schoolboy in the sixties and virtually unplayable after all this time. Great to have it on CD except for one major downer......it doesn't include Homeward Bound !!!!!! This CD has identical artwork to my original vinyl copy so it should have Homeward Bound. A glaring omission by some penny pinching record exec has flawed this masterpiece.
Carey, Pontypridd, May 05
33 comments|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 January 2012
This is the album that marked the real emergence of Simon and Garfunkel and it is ageless. The title track is a remarkable reworking of Simon's solo composition, beatifully sung and arranged.

There is no weak track on this album and it would be easy to comment on the tracks that are commonly regarded as the 'classic' S&G offer. But the strength of this album is its consistency and some of the less-frequently mentioned songs bear a few words of commentary.

'Richard Cory' is a soft-rocker telling the story of a man who apparently has everything but still goes home one night and puts a bullet through his head.

'A most peculiar man' has possibly the saddest lyrics of any song on record. The story of a lonely man and how his neighbours fail to spot his plight and to help him ... it is poetry set to music. Rarely does a song tell a story better. It still moves me, decades after I first heard it.

This is a brilliant recording: beautiful, sad, uplifting, ageless. Five stars.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
I have this album on vinyle from an original pressing so I bought the cd to play in the car but when I received it found the track listing was different and two of the best tracks on the album had been replaced with different tracks making the expierance of listening to it not as enjoyable
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2012
Ok, everybody knows how great this album is. Great songs, fantastic ambient, and those voices. You know...
Some of the reviewers, complain about this edition,doesn't include 'Homeward Bound', but let me tell you, some of the first editions on LP didn't include it too. In fact the first LP editions of 'Parsley Sage Rosemary & Thyme' were the ones to include it.
So, for the price of those CDs, buy both and don't forget 'Bookends', and enjoy them.Sounds Of Silence
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2011
We saw a documentary on TV about the making of this album and of the other famous one, 'Bridge Over Troubled Water', & it brought back so many memories of years ago when we were both (a little!) younger. Found that we must have thrown out our old tape version of the albums, and decided to treat ourselves to the CDs - have throughly enjoyed them all over again, they really stand the test of time and are some of the all time classics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2006
Forget what the critics write, this is Simon & Garfunkel's finest hour, far superior to the over-rated 'Bridge over troubled water' (a 4-track wonder) - trust your ears.
The critics always make a big deal of the fact that:
a) the individual tracks were not conceived as part of an album,
b) the whole was hastily assembled (to cash in on the single success of the title track) at various American studios,
c) the duo themselves were not involved in the production process, and
d) the instrumental accompaniment is sometimes messy & unsympathetic.
To a) and b), I would respond, 'So what - it doesn't show'. To c), I would say, 'good job, too' (it could have proved disastrous). As for d), I disagree.
As with New Musik's 'From A to B', the fact that the songs were not written with an album in mind does not mean they do not sit together easily. On the contrary, I can think of no other album which has such consistency of imagery, for example, running throughout it. Consider the following extracts:
'I turned my collar to the cold & damp', 'the leaves that are green turn to brown', 'reflecting the glow of the winter moonlight', 'the autumn winds blow chilly & cold', 'gazing...on a freshly fallen, silent shroud of snow.' These images paint a picture of coldness, darkness, bleakness that perfectly matches the overwhelming mood of loneliness & isolation, but - & here's where Paul Simon's genius comes into play - with beautiful, original melodies that really stay with you.
This 'wintry' feel is almost certainly influenced by Simon's two trips to England in 1964/65 - 4 of the tracks were composed in this country (5, if you count 'Homeward Bound', 6, if you include 'Kathy's Song', which alludes to England).
To the reviewer who was puzzled by the omission of 'Homeward Bound' - this is probably because this track never appeared on the original US version of the album (it was on 'Parsley, Sage Rosemary & Thyme).
The bonus tracks are O.K., but, in some ways, diminish the impact of what, for me. is a WINTERTIME CLASSIC.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
Catching up buying CDs to replace LPs I played and loved 40 odd years ago. This set of songs still spectacular with memorable lyrics, production and sound quality.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
Bought for 20 yr old daughter. She loves it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.49
£5.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)