Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simon and Garfunkel's REAL debut!!
I would firstly have to agree with the previous reviewer and say that this is a remarkable re-master.I did have this album on vinyl and cassette many year's ago but the quality of sound here is a huge improvment and the best re-master I have ever heard.
The album itself, is of course classic S&G fare, with some of the song's appearing to be full of youthful energy...
Published on 14 Jan 2002

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sounds of Silence - totally not the original CD
I ordered this a long time ago to replace one I lost. However, I found the original and never played this one I got on Amazon until yesterday. Even though the CD tells you that the songs were recorded in the 60s, every track listing has another 1990s date next to it and none of the tracks are original. I absolutely hate this CD for that reason. I have been totally...
Published 11 months ago by Twig Hall


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simon and Garfunkel's REAL debut!!, 14 Jan 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sounds Of Silence (Audio CD)
I would firstly have to agree with the previous reviewer and say that this is a remarkable re-master.I did have this album on vinyl and cassette many year's ago but the quality of sound here is a huge improvment and the best re-master I have ever heard.
The album itself, is of course classic S&G fare, with some of the song's appearing to be full of youthful energy and exuberance.Behind this is of course the typical deep meaning and thought of Simon, with the beautiful 'Kathy's Song' and 'Leave's that are Green' real stand out tune's.That said there is not one bad track here and anybody who like's S&G will not be dissapointed if they purchase this.The more well known tracks like 'I Am A Rock' and the title track are all well complemented with the remainder gem's on this album.The original album contained 'Homeward Bound' but for some strange reason its been migrated to the 'Parsley Sage....' album.Still an excellent album though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant but no 'Homeward Bound'!, 20 May 2005
This review is from: Sounds Of Silence (Audio CD)
One of the first LP's I bought as a schoolboy in the sixties and virtually unplayable after all this time. Great to have it on CD except for one major downer......it doesn't include Homeward Bound !!!!!! This CD has identical artwork to my original vinyl copy so it should have Homeward Bound. A glaring omission by some penny pinching record exec has flawed this masterpiece.
Carey, Pontypridd, May 05
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still amazing after all these years, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sounds of Silence (Audio CD)
Catching up buying CDs to replace LPs I played and loved 40 odd years ago. This set of songs still spectacular with memorable lyrics, production and sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Memories, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sounds Of Silence (Audio CD)
I am sure so much has been written about these two expert singers and writers, all of which I can only confirm. Sheer brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Possibly my favourite album of all time, not a bad song or even any fillers! Favourites are The Sound of Silence (obviously) and I am a Rock. Vinyl arrived within 5 days, very good condition, only slight creases on cover, unscratched and plays perfectly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars S & G At their best!, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sounds of Silence (Audio CD)
Buy it! It's Simon and Garfunkel at their best. My personal favourite is Richard Cory. I play it all the time if you buy it I think you will too. A true classic of it's time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eternal, 9 July 2014
By 
N. C. Grace "amazingrace" (leicester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sounds Of Silence (Audio CD)
Bought for 20 yr old daughter. She loves it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sounds of Silence - totally not the original CD, 15 Oct 2013
By 
Twig Hall (NEWHAVEN, E Sussex, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sounds Of Silence (Audio CD)
I ordered this a long time ago to replace one I lost. However, I found the original and never played this one I got on Amazon until yesterday. Even though the CD tells you that the songs were recorded in the 60s, every track listing has another 1990s date next to it and none of the tracks are original. I absolutely hate this CD for that reason. I have been totally tricked. The songs are all recorded by Simon in the 1990s and are not the recordings from the 60s that I know and love. What a waste of money and how deceitful to sell it in this way without telling the buyer - indeed maybe the seller didn't check?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sounds Of Silence (Audio CD)
good music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sounds Of Silence (Audio CD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sounds Of Silence
Sounds Of Silence by Simon & Garfunkel
Buy MP3 Album£5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews