Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars16
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 October 2013
I don't wholly agree with the previous review, although the legendary Mr Howard's earlier review is spot on. Being culled from sound board recordings you don't expect multi-track quality but it's still highly listenable and the one thing that stands out is the energy of the band. The youthful Trower band pack a punch that you had to be there to believe ... I was at his UK shows.
The sound quality is mixed, from reasonable to very good, but never poor. Trower is on fire, just listen to the version of Daydream from Illinois 1976. And Jimmy Dewar shows was a great, great vocalist he was ... up there with blues rock's best including Paul Rodgers ... as showcased on his forte I Can't Wait Much Longer.
The Hendrix comparisons continue to rage even in press reviews for this CD, but I don't get it and it is unfair to say the least. Yes some early tracks hinted towards Hendrix, but anyone with a sustained guitar, using heavy vibrato, a univibe and wah wah will have a bit of Hendrix about them. Even the Satrian's and Van Halens of this world have admitted to a bit of a nod towards Jimi.
However, Trower is more than that. Great songs, great feel and excellent phrasing, he should just be ackowledged as a Master of his trade, even if that trade sticks mainly to the blues rock vein.
Overall, a great CD and a real must have for any true Trower fan.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
Brilliant. As others have noted, the studio recordings don't always catch this band at their best.
This is their best. The sound quality is generally excellent, with a few exceptions, but the playing, and, especially for me, the singing are superb. James Dewar what a voice! If you like Robin Trower, you won't mind too much that there are duplicate songs on this, each of the performances is different.
Overall glad to see something from an artist I have enjoyed for many years..
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
buy it, then put on at full volume, you will not regret it, superb. typical rt, live stuff, got all the live work, always find time to put his superb albums on at the weekend, fab
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
Trower live in the era that this was recorded is almost always great and this set doesn't disappoint. I could have done without hearing the cover of 'sailing' again I've always hated that song and this version is even worse than the Rod Stewart one. Leaving that aside the band are on fire throughout. Jimmy Dewar is one of the great rock voices although sadly he doesn't often get the credit he deserved.
One minor gripe is with the sleeve notes 'Victims of the future' FFS? Does nobody proof read things nowadays? Maybe they think that anyone buying this will be too old to be capable of reading the small print.
33 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
Thank you Amazon! My copy of 'State to State' arrived today and I must say, having just listened to it (a double CD set), it's been well worth the wait. The music is live! There are some excellent versions of classic tracks from Robin Trower's early studio albums such as 'Bridge of Sighs' and 'In City Dreams'. All the performances were recorded in America during the period 1974-1980. Wonderful to hear the luscious sound of James Dewar's velvet vocals. Absolutely gorgeous!State To State: Live Across America 1974-1980
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2015
I've been lucky enough to see Robin a number of times - even in the States! What a supreme talent. If you like the guitar, you'll love wht he does.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
This won't win any new fans (although RT seems to be undergoing a critical revival and the tiresome Hendrix comparisons are on the wane). But for existing fans who might be wondering whether yet another live recording is an essential purchase, then take the plunge. This covers the post City To City / Caravanserai funk period and includes tracks from Victims Of The Fury. It also has items from the last pre-funk album, Long Misty Days, which also haven't been much documented in previous live issues. An absolute gem is Sailing (from LMD). RT has previously confided that covering it was a bit of an aberration. Now, hearing the late great Jim Dewar singing it live, you can see why RT chose to do it all along. Even live staples like Daydream are well worth hearing all over again. Some reviewers have questioned the sound quality. RT has said he had reservations. But if you assume it's not soundboard then you may be pleasantly surprised.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2016
this cd shows robin trower at his best highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2015
Always. Good great music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
Thanks !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)