Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The two cellos really sing together, simply beautiful playing!
They say the cello is the closest instrument to the human voice and it does show in this beautiful collection of 21 arrangements for two cellos and piano/harp (well, four cellos in the case of the Holst piece).
From Monteverdi's haunting "Interrotte Speranze" to the soothing "Estonian Lullaby" by Arvo Part, Julian Lloyd Webber and his wife Jiaxin take us onto a...
Published 17 months ago by Mikicellist1975

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars found it to be quite dirge like.
Was a little disappointing, found it to be quite dirge like.
Published 4 months ago by Wrinkleybozo


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The two cellos really sing together, simply beautiful playing!, 1 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
They say the cello is the closest instrument to the human voice and it does show in this beautiful collection of 21 arrangements for two cellos and piano/harp (well, four cellos in the case of the Holst piece).
From Monteverdi's haunting "Interrotte Speranze" to the soothing "Estonian Lullaby" by Arvo Part, Julian Lloyd Webber and his wife Jiaxin take us onto a fantastic journey through more than 500 years of gorgeous music, including Purcell, Schumann, Dvorak, Saint-Saens, Shostakovich, Rachmaninov, just to mention a few.
I love the Piazzolla and Hahn's pieces (they alone are worth the price of the CD!).
The Ave Maria by Saint-Saens was a very nice change to the more often played Ave Maria by Bach, Gounod, Caccini and Schubert, very nice indeed.
Moon Silver, by Julian Lloyd webber's father Willian Lloyd Webber, also deserves a mention. I heard Julian play live in concert "In the Half Light", also by his father, and I am starting to really like his works.
What impressed me about this CD is that the music flows, Julian and his wife Jiaxin make the playing appear so effortless and totally natural, just like the photo on the cover.
Lovely to see BBC Young Musician of the Year 2012 Laura van der Heijden appear in the Holst piece, well done, a great achievement for such a young cellist! Thumbs up for all the other supportive artists too, Catrin Finch, Guy Johnston and John Lenehan.
Highly recommended, ordering a spare copy for the car now while it stays at this price! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute delight!, 2 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With a fresh and heart warming opening, this disc brings you on a special journey through different periods and style of music. From Monteverdi to Part, Full of favours and fragrant. Two cellos ' rich voices making a intimate conversation,and the harp and piano enhancing the beauty.it is a complete new discovery for me to know these lovely tunes! After listening to the whole disc twice, I immediately ordered some more,what better Christmas presents you could get for your friends and family?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, I am now a convert!!!, 2 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like the sound of the cello but always had reservations about buying a CD of cello music only. However, after listening to an extract from the Piazzolla on a recent radio programme, I decided to give it a go, particularly at this price!!
Wow, what a lovely surprise! From the point of view of an opera nut who loves Bel Canto, I must say this recording is a blending of harmonies and beautiful tunes, very sensitively played, which I think would appeal to any music lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars atmospheric delight, 6 Oct. 2013
A great selection of songs arranged for two cellos. Dolorosa caught my eye being an old favorite but the others don't disappoint. It's a musical education on composers' other works. Other highlights include the Monteverdi and Holst, slow atmospheric and moody. The recording sounds amazing and it's some of the best ensemble cello playing you'll hear - there being a very special musical connection between Julian and Jiaxin's cellos. Twenty one tracks at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding recording, love it!, 3 Oct. 2013
I received Julian Lloyd Webber's 'Evening Songs' CD from a friend for my birthday in April and loved the mellow sound of the cello playing, so I decided to order his new recording. I love it! The sound of two cellos together ( or three or four in some cases) is even better! There is not a single track I would skip, the whole album is truly a delight to listen to. Cannot recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to Cello playing of the very highest order, 5 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb recording and a wonderful selection of tunes and tracks by the producers.
To hear 2 world class cellists on this clever compilation is a real treat.
The piano accompaniment was also of the highest order.
My only tracks slightly less favoured were those containing the harpists but on balance I accept the judgement of the producers whose brief would be to create balance.
All in all a highly recommended cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply stunning, 4 Oct. 2013
This is a gorgeous disc, and the unusual sound created by the 2 cellos is warm, mellifluous and luscious. There's an eclectic mix of tracks which takes the listener on a tour of music spanning over 3 centuries, every one a gem in its own right. The husband-wife team of Julian and Jiaxin Lloyd Webber have created something very special here, and with sterling contributions from the other featured musicians, this is a truly first-rate album. It's approachable, full of good tunes, and it's simply impossible not to love this disc. Buy it for your friends for Christmas - and don't forget to buy one for yourself too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sumptuous CD!, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This cd is packed with lots of beautiful music and will be definitely given as Christmas presents to friends and family. A wonderful selection of songs, delightful supporting musicians and expert playing by all. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music! You can hear it many times and ..., 26 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful music! You can hear it many times and don't get bored. I would certainly recommend it to anyone.Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful playing, 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album was ver enjoyable. Many of the tracks were pieces that had originally been written for other instruments but had been adapted for cello but this had been done very tastefully. Easy listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Tale of Two Cellos
A Tale of Two Cellos by Julian Lloyd Webber
Buy MP3 Album£5.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews