Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally diggin' this rerelease from La Honda and Rumer
Downloaded this gem last night and have been listening nonstop!
Retro, fun, inspiring, sweet rockin' 60s - 70s singer songwriter sounding material all wrapped up in that voice of a lifetime!
Don't miss this one!
Published 8 months ago by William Faure

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Dated but kinda` cute in places.
Only Rumer fans will be buying this album, but a bit of a let down. The voice is great but the songs vary from immature to cringeworthy. A collectors item only.
Published 7 months ago by Wickerman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally diggin' this rerelease from La Honda and Rumer, 8 Nov 2013
By 
William Faure (San Francisco, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I See Stars (Audio CD)
Downloaded this gem last night and have been listening nonstop!
Retro, fun, inspiring, sweet rockin' 60s - 70s singer songwriter sounding material all wrapped up in that voice of a lifetime!
Don't miss this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As good as her later material ?, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I See Stars (Audio CD)
I really liked this album. I listened to it first of course on Spotify so I knew what I was getting. Sarah's voice is not quite as strong as it is now but it still captivates. If the band reformed I would be happy to support them.

If you like Rumer you will like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dated but kinda` cute in places., 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I See Stars [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Only Rumer fans will be buying this album, but a bit of a let down. The voice is great but the songs vary from immature to cringeworthy. A collectors item only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another kind of Rumer, 10 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. L. M. Hobbs (Birmingham. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I See Stars (Audio CD)
Great to hear the early sounds of Rumer. Great to listen to and you see how Rumer has developed into her current sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars How it all started, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I See Stars [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Although this album has sat in the vaults for 10 years, it's a fascinating listen for fans of Rumer. Back then, plain Sarah Joyce was in a band with her current boyfriend and two others. Things went wrong, the relationship folded and their album was not released. Now, it can be heard. It's very Sixties in an acoustic Bread style and a pleasant listen. It doesn't set the World alight with inspirational musicianship or insightful lyrics. In short. it's a pleasant listen.
The vinyl packaging is a very basic, single sleeve with very little info and no extras. The pressing itself is good and the sound quality is fine. At a reasonable price of around 11, it's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the brilliant light shone early for Rumer, 16 Nov 2013
By 
John Belvedere "theBelvedere" (Toronto, ON. Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I See Stars (Audio CD)
a fine collection of early work, that just proved some talent is born into us and just gets better and better as time passes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I See Stars (Audio CD)
The amazing variety of genres that 'Rumer/ Sarah has never ceases to amaze me. This 'old' recording of 12 years ago is just superb. Different to anything else. Every track encompass her voice just beautifully. A real sing along CD... You can't help it! Can't chose a fav track yet... May a few more plays and I will. So far it's Maybe Sunshine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful: Music for Girls *and* Boys!, 10 Nov 2013
By 
Jeff Cooper (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: I See Stars (Audio CD)
Having lived with this album for a while now after ordering the CD, vinyl (and download) from the official La Honda website all I can say is 'I See Stars' is an absolute joy.

Cool tunes, sweet melodies and gorgeous voice of Rumer. This is a mellow, yet fun record chock full of musical delights.

It's hard to pick a favourite, but for me, special mention must go to the track 'Music For Girls'. With a totally charming and engaging lyric, like so many tunes here. It's worth the price of admission alone.

Ditto 'Tokyo Ladyboy'. Also simply brilliant. Like everything herewith ...as catchy as a very catchy thing indeed.

This record has certainly been worth the 'wait' from inception to it's eventual release 12 years on. And worth it's 'weight' in gold.

Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I See Stars
I See Stars by La Honda (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews