Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a cracking little tale
As ever with a patrick mercer tale you get well rounded well created characters, in this case the rounding is already there, Holmes and watson are iconic, but for me the standout character in this series is always bowler, he adds that element of humour that makes these short stories worth reading. They bring the tale to life.
As with the other shorts there is no...
Published 20 months ago by Parm

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dr Watson's Bluster
This was another book that I have found long winded. It did not seem to keep pace with the stories of Sherlock Holmes. Would not buy any more books in this series.
Published 17 months ago by Pamela Adams


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a cracking little tale, 1 Nov. 2013
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Watson's Charge (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
As ever with a patrick mercer tale you get well rounded well created characters, in this case the rounding is already there, Holmes and watson are iconic, but for me the standout character in this series is always bowler, he adds that element of humour that makes these short stories worth reading. They bring the tale to life.
As with the other shorts there is no great suprise in the tale, you can pick out who did it fairly early, Holmes pretty much spells it out, its all the back story, and the how and why that the fun bit, and the getting there thats the tale.
once again a bargain story, and well worth triple the price.

(Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable historical crime., 30 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Watson's Charge (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable crime fiction, which is written with a fondness and knowledge of original Conan Doyle stories. Plot cleverly brings in Disraeli and the Earl of Cardigan and there is nice portrait of the Charge of the Light Brigade at the beginning of story. The author brings Dr Watson's military background to the fore - and Watson has his own sidekick in the form of the rough diamond Bowler, a former soldier. Holmes fans may find some of the language too colourful and I would have liked the villain of piece to be fleshed out more but can recommend and will take a look at other books in series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Watson's Charge (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
A good read but its only a short story, Watsons life pre Holmes has great possibilities. Look forward to a full size story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking story., 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Watson's Charge (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this tale. Having read some of Mercer's previous stories this one didn't disappoint; the world of Watson and Holmes is mingled with fascinating facts and insights from the Victorian Age. It's well-paced and entertaining with a good mix of humour and excitement . Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dr Watson's Bluster, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Watson's Charge (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This was another book that I have found long winded. It did not seem to keep pace with the stories of Sherlock Holmes. Would not buy any more books in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Watson's Charge, 4 Jan. 2014
By 
Jillian Campbell (Newark, Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Watson's Charge (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Haven't started this yet, and am really looking forward to reading it on my Kindle. Ideal book for holidays, or just to read anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Watson goes it alone, 26 Dec. 2013
By 
I. Tattersall (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Watson's Charge (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Interesting take on Sherlock Holmes with Watson and his sidekick bumbling through with a certain amount of humour and impending disaster. Hope there is another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 20 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Doctor Watson's Charge (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
The best short book I have read for a very long time. In fact, since the last Mercer. Highly entertaining, beautifully written and really takes you back into that period in history, a skill possessed by so few other writers of historical fiction. I frequently found myself chuckling at the dry and subtle humour. My only complaint is that it was not longer... much longer. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle would have been proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 20 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Doctor Watson's Charge (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Mercer's done it again! I've read three of his Dr Watson short books and this is by far and away the best! I just love the feel of Victorian times that are drawn upon and all the amazing detail that is brought out about historical characters that we know and love. I just love the relationships that are described between Adeline de Horsey and both Holmes and Watson - you can just see what a saucy piece she is!

The best bit for me though is the excitement of the chase at the end. I won't spoil it for other readers, but this really is a nail biter of a cliff hanger that will not only make you feel that you were there but will, in places, have you roaring with laughter!

More please and longer next time. I can't say how much I enjoyed it. It was completely impossible to put down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mercer hits the mark again, 11 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Doctor Watson's Charge (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This didn't just enthral me,it made me laugh too! Patrick Mercer has got this take on Conan Doyle absolutely right and I have loved every page of his three stories so far.

My only criticism is that the short length of these stories doesn't do justice to the writing style. The characters are superb but they need more room to develop. Another triumph!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Watson's Charge (Kindle Single)
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews