Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love the album
It's totally unbelievable, considering the fact that Blue is now working in a high pressure environment with so many other boy bands who are attracting a lot of fans, this album is actually one of the best from blue. The top track will be Hurt Lovers and Break my heart.
Published on 10 April 2013 by Thach Pham Vu

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Problems of pressing !!!
Hi all , I bought this double CD edition thinking it would be a "nearly" complete remixes edition...
Then was the surprise : When you take a look at the back cover, it says that CD 2 runs 17 tracks including remixes and radio /single mixes; When you put your CD2 in your player, it says... 13 tracks only ! 4 are missing from the official tracklisting...
Published 19 months ago by C. Moreau


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love the album, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roulette (Audio CD)
It's totally unbelievable, considering the fact that Blue is now working in a high pressure environment with so many other boy bands who are attracting a lot of fans, this album is actually one of the best from blue. The top track will be Hurt Lovers and Break my heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roulette - Blue Spin the Wheel and See Where it Lands!, 16 Feb. 2013
By 
This review is from: Roulette (Audio CD)
So it's been ten years since Blue last recorded a studio album. Many things have changed since then, and i was worried that the band's comeback wouldn't be able to amend to the changing musical tastes of many of us nowadays. But, despite all of my worries, Blue have managed to evolve just enough to both stay true to their origins, yet fulfill the purpose of a modern boyband in today's industry.

HURT LOVERS: The band provide proof that they still withhold the ability to pull off the power ballad with succinct style and sophistication. They recreate the beauty of such classics as 'Guilty' and 'If You Come Back' with a pumping bass line fixed alongside a perfect harmony and a thumping drum beat. A perfect choice for the band's comeback single. (5/5) WITHOUT YOU: The band display the colours of their modern evolution with this chart-friendly anthem that has a universal appeal, and has just as much as chance of scoring a #1 record on the chart as today's fiercest competitors, One Direction and The Wanted. Simon's haunting vocals on the chorus are perhaps one of the band's finest, and most overlooked, moments. (5/5) BREAK YOUR HEART: Universal hitmaker RedOne hooks up with the band for their next effort, which makes use of some of his finest production successes, such as Lady Gaga, to produce a rip-roaring club anthem against a backdrop of pumping synths and and perfectly harmonised vocals, which in turn, is enough to deem this track a roaring success. (5/5) AYO: The band take a lyrical step in the wrong direction with this disaster, which relies too much on the heavy bassline rather than the quality of the lyrics, and destroying the vocals in the process. The band have produced much better efforts than this, and for me it's one of the two main downsides to the album. (3/5) RISK IT ALL: A fine example of an umtempo ballad, which is easily earmarked as one of the album's highlights through the easily mesmorising piano riff and soulful vocal arrangement, making this a track that will easily go down in history as one of the band's finest hours. (5/5) HEART ON MY SLEEVE: The band twist together elements of electronic, R&B and soul to create this dark, moody ballad which relies heavily on an amazing vocal partnership between Webbe and Costa. It's deep, and much different to the more mainstream area of the band's spectrum, but it works extremely well. (5/5)

WE'VE GOT TONIGHT: A sophisticated electric guitar riff kicks off this pumping club banger which sounds to be a smart mix of David Guetta and Slash. A raw, heavy dance number that provides the ideal hit that the band are so obviously looking for. (5/5) PARADISE: Tiny influences of Jamacian reggae, pumping synths and a pounding club bassline are the ingredients for this sensible, yet stylish uptempo number about taking the girl of your dreams to paradise. Intelligent, crafted and well thought out. (5/5) BLACK BOX: Webbe leads a stripped back, piano led anthem that, by using the sensitivity within the vocal range of each of the band members, allows us to paint a picture of a stricken love in the middle of the ocean. A perfect example of refined and simple, yet utterly perfect. (5/5) BROKEN: The band each enjoy a well crafted solo outing on this meeting of minds, that is designed to be as breathtaking as 'Hurt Lovers', but also has that little extra ingredient to round off the perfect track. Ideal choice for the band's next single. (5/5) BREAK YOU DOWN: An Asian influenced attempt at dubstep, combined with an out of this world guitar riff, are not enough to save this track from being so lyrically unadvanced that it completely drops it off the radar. Don't get me wrong, it's not awful, but there's nothing about it that makes it stand out either. (3/5) ALL I NEED: Stripped back to nothing but a piano riff, the band prove that they don't need to stand behind an array of pumping synths and manufactured beats to make good music, and that they all actually have very good powerful voices behind the facade. (5/5) I CAN: The highlight of the entire record, but maybe that's because in my opinion, it's the band's best track ever, without a doubt. How they didn't win eurovision with it, i'll never know. An anthem for the times, for the people. And an excellent idea to place it at the end of the album. (5/5)

So despite "Ayo" and "Break You Down" possibly being the weakest tracks on the record, the remainder is actually a fine example of Blue's musical evolution into the modern day industry that we all know and love. They stick firmly to their roots, but also prove that they have an ability to follow - and stick out - from the crowd. An excellent effort guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to have them back, 3 May 2013
I have always enjoyed Blue's music, each member has a great voice. When I heard "Hurt Lovers" on Radio 2 I loved it, this CD is brilliant, each song is different and a great CD to have in your collection. Unbelievable they have to release this in Germany first, they deserve to be on top of the CD charts and seeing out concerts !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, 6 May 2013
This review is from: Roulette [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
Wonderful album, I have always loved Blue and am certainly not disappointed and have been listening to it over and over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab album, 1 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roulette (Audio CD)
Love this album its continually playing.... all the songs are good...and a different sound to the older stuff, although simons rapping is a bit annoying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great to hear Blue again, great album, very current. They do not go out of date. Have been too long away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Problems of pressing !!!, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roulette Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Hi all , I bought this double CD edition thinking it would be a "nearly" complete remixes edition...
Then was the surprise : When you take a look at the back cover, it says that CD 2 runs 17 tracks including remixes and radio /single mixes; When you put your CD2 in your player, it says... 13 tracks only ! 4 are missing from the official tracklisting !
Can someone explain to me what happened? is thiis a CD production problem ?

This, as ususally, totally ruins the image of the music industry, which is nowadays totally inept....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Stop Listening, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roulette (Audio CD)
Blue should be very proud of themselves with this album. I first heard this album on mp3, and when I like an album I purchase the cd hard copy as the sound is far superior to my ears. I'm 42 and I wasn't a fan of Blue the first time round, except I loved Breathe Easy and I Can as heard them as singles.

I ordered the import version by mistake, however I am glad I did as the only difference is song 13 which is I Can on the import version which I love. I haven't stopped listening and there isn't a song that I don't like. Sorry that I'm rubbish at reviewing music, I just know that I love it and wanted others to hopefully be encouraged to give it a try, even if they weren't an "original" Blue fan. It's melodic and catchy. My fifteen year old son also likes it.

.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant cd, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of Blues finest cds..a great mixture of dance and ballard songs...I love every song on this new release...very good price...A must buy for any Blue fan out there...It certainly deserves to be high up in the charts..Songs are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a terrific album, bar one or two tracks. I think it's their best album to date. My favourite tracks are Hurt Lovers, Without You, Break my Heart, Risk it All and Broken. Paradise is very catchy and keeps going round in my head!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roulette Deluxe Edition
Roulette Deluxe Edition by Blue (Audio CD - 2013)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews