Customer Reviews


9 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good way of having PSB videos in one place., 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Public Service Broadcasting - Inform Educate Entertain [DVD] (DVD)
In some ways the notion of a music video collection seems redundant now in the age of You Tube.
However, given the importance of imagery in the music of Public Service Broadcasting and in their sensational live shows it does make sense to collect them in one place.
This is essential the album Inform - Educate - Entertain but presented as a short film. Now you can see the backing videos seen at gigs and pay proper attention to them.
And PSB's backing videos are sensational. Cut and pasted from old war movies, public service announcements, news, documentaries they make the songs come alive.
If you own the album it will be down to personal preference as to whether you want to pay for the album again but with the video's but personally I feel it is as audio is just one part of the PSB package.
Note - the extras is rather disingenuous as "Live @ The Village Underground" is a 10 minute compilation! All in all the extra's are about 30 mins worth.
As it stands PSB are one of the hottest bands of 2013 and this DVD is better representation than their studio album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back To The Future, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Public Service Broadcasting - Inform Educate Entertain [DVD] (DVD)
PSB are surely one of the most significant acts of the 21st century thus far, exploring their own tangent and taking in influences from eighties electronica, funk, punk, bluegrass and avant garde but mixing the brew with an originality which marks them out from the current herd. This DVD gives the opportunity to those who missed out on tickets due to overwhelming demand (as I did at the Southampton date last month) to check out their famed live transmissions. Lots of interesting extras such as the 'on the road' diary with J Willgoose Esq and drummer Wrigglesworth, live exerpts from recent shows and promo videos for several of the tracks as well as an absorbing interview about the BFI involvement in their music. The visual journey through their startlingly fresh debut album Inform Educate Entertain adds a further dimension to the music and I particularly enjoyed the commentary on each track by J Willgoose Esq, laced with a liberal dose of his engagingly dry humour - right up my street! Not since Roxy Music's debut in 1972 has a band so successfully explored the nexus where the past and future collide, I think we may have a surprise or two to come from PSB in the near future and I heartily recommend this release. The true sound of now - back to the future indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great band, great disc, 30 Nov. 2013
By 
J.R.Hartley (Sadly not in Portmeirion) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Public Service Broadcasting - Inform Educate Entertain [DVD] (DVD)
One of the main problems with PSB (No, not Pet Shop Boys) is that their act is an extremely visual one, given how much they sample old propaganda and public information films, along with a number of "real" films for sounds to mingle into their works. However, it does lose some of its impact without the live experience where those very films are projected up on stage. How to solve this problem? I know... release a DVD version of the album. And here it is.

This is a cracking disc by a great band. If I had to fault it for anything, it would be the lack of a DTS soundtrack and that its' not on blu-ray, but that's being ultra-picky. If you like their style, don't forget to check out the blu-rays of the original files released by the BFI etc.

The Complete Humphrey Jennings Volume One: The First Days (DVD + Blu-ray) [1939]
The Complete Humphrey Jennings Volume Two: Fires Were Started (DVD & Blu-ray) [1941]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking forward to new material, 27 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Public Service Broadcasting - Inform Educate Entertain [DVD] (DVD)
Public Service Broadcasting - the very term itself refers to an interesting concept that is struggling to redefine itself in the digital age.

Much of the material produced here by the duo draws heavily on wartime and post-war era film archives. As the post-war era went on into the sixties and the concept of new towns and rebuilding Britain the immediate material would seem to be the Jet Age.

Global concerns centred on the Cold War, and the Nuclear Arms race and Space race to the Moon. Plenty of great inspiration there.

I think beyond that it depends on whether or not the duo want to send or make a political message as party political propaganda would be the only continuation beyond this period. Failed wars in many territories across the world post Vietnam would be the only backdrop of conflict.

Maybe something whimsical or kitschy based on the series of Public Information films of the 1970s would be amusing, but not of the same gravity of the stuff found here. But notwithstanding these questions, for 2013 it was my find album of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage samples and modern music ideas in perfect harmony, 16 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Public Service Broadcasting - Inform Educate Entertain [DVD] (DVD)
I love the way PSB mix their music with and around vintage audio and film clips. Although not a new thing (Eat Static did it years back too, and probably others before them), I love the way the songs/music fit the samples so well. I don't often hear work by new bands that hooks me, but so far everything PSB have done has ended up on my playlist and I'm enjoying listening to them and I look forward to hearing what comes next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The future awaits..., 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Public Service Broadcasting - Inform Educate Entertain [DVD] (DVD)
Just excellent. When I first heared them I described them as The Orb in suits, but that was way off the mark. I really can't wait to see where they're going to take their sound in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational history lesson, 13 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Public Service Broadcasting - Inform Educate Entertain [DVD] (DVD)
Delicate and thoughtful. Left wanting more, but respectful of the subject interpretation and history lesson. These guys care and it makes the difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Dec. 2014
By 
K. A. Mcintosh "kenmac2u" (Livingston, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Public Service Broadcasting - Inform Educate Entertain [DVD] (DVD)
Very good DVD, excellent value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Public Service Broadcasting - Inform Educate Entertain [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Public Service Broadcasting - Inform Educate Entertain [DVD]
Public Service Broadcasting - Inform Educate Entertain [DVD] by Public Service Broadcasting (DVD - 2013)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews