Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, enjoyable and quite brilliant
Quite simply, this is the best leadership book I've ever read. And I've read quite a few.

Its easy to read style takes you behind the scenes of the All Blacks, one of the worlds' most consistently high performing teams. It takes you into the pitches, locker rooms, practice sessions, selection panels and brutally honest `bunker' room conversations. It gives you...
Published 20 months ago by Neil

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good read
An interesting look at the connections between a great rugby team and the lessons of life and business. Simple messages but cleverly construed. Interesting anecdotes from players. It also explains why the All Blacks have so much belief in their abilities. Although a small nation, you sense this creates the feeling that the country owns the team who in turn feel the...
Published 18 months ago by Jon Gardiner


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, enjoyable and quite brilliant, 29 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Legacy (Paperback)
Quite simply, this is the best leadership book I've ever read. And I've read quite a few.

Its easy to read style takes you behind the scenes of the All Blacks, one of the worlds' most consistently high performing teams. It takes you into the pitches, locker rooms, practice sessions, selection panels and brutally honest `bunker' room conversations. It gives you pages packed with candid insights, fabulous quotes and powerful wisdoms shared by players and coaches. And then blends these beautifully with work by other leaders and leadership writers.

With some books you get the feeling that it can be condensed to 2 or three sides of A4, and has been expanded to fill a book. Not so this one. 15 sections each pick a theme that are simply packed with good stuff. I'm one of those readers who likes to mark pages and sections of particular interest. Hardly a page of this one was unmarked.

The book shows just how much goes into a great performing team, and how much it goes beyond simply 'winning'. The people speaking have been unflinching in discussing the setbacks and losing, and what they did in those times too. Throughout there's real heart and soul and greater purpose in here.

For me, this is not just a book for sports lovers (though I'm sure they'll love it - loads of stories and insights to share with your mates). In fact I've shown it to people who have little or no interest in sport whatsoever and they wanted a copy too. It goes deeper. I'm imagining it's for anyone who wants to be part of a team that itself wants to create, well, a Legacy through their work in some way.

I love it.

Inspiring, enjoyable, and quite brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody brilliant, 14 Jan. 2014
By 
This review is from: Legacy (Paperback)
This is no ordinary management handbook. It's also a compelling story, an inspirational text, an anthropological survey, and a philosophical treatise. This excellent book works brilliantly on many levels to help leaders manage teams, deliver change, and leave a lasting legacy. Full of fascinating anecdotes and profound wisdom, it's sure to be a future classic. A highly satisfying read that inspires you practical change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legacy (Paperback)
This book provides amazing insight and presents ideas that make so much sense without being overly complicated. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legacy (Kindle Edition)
You don't have to like sport to learn from and enjoy this book.it is about courage and meaning. Finding your strength and creating your story are the central challenges of this book.be a good ancestor.plant a tree who's shade you will not see.an antidote to secular materialism and a shout towards something more ancient and more free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 26 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legacy (Paperback)
Must say this is one of my favourite books, its one that I buy for friends when taking up new jobs.
It is full of interesting lessons from the All blacks.
I really enjoyed reading this it made jury service at least tolerable, and it was one that I didn't want to finish
I am not a big rugby fan so didn't recognise some of the situations described in terms of the big games and some of the personalities. I tis however well written and the author keeps relating back to to the core of the book.
If you are looking for some inspiration or a new way of looking at how to lead your team then I would definitely look at this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legacy, 19 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Legacy (Paperback)
This is one of the best connection books I have ever read. It evokes great visual and kinaesthetic emotions. I get why the All Black get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A dynamite read, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legacy (Kindle Edition)
As a millennial who grew up during the epicurean capitalist epoch of the 90s and 00s, the financial crisis was probably the beginning of a shift in a deeply embedded belief that more is always better. I've read a lot of books on personal development, business and leadership and have to say that this is certainly one of the best and really any person at any stage of life could benefit from reading it.

I think it's especially important for my generation because, speaking personally, I believe that the root cause of 'inequality' popularised by the left leaning media is largely the outcome of different mind sets. I can already see a divergence with my peers - those studying and working hard, who will no doubt enjoy successful careers and as a likely consequence successful lives. And there are others who expect everything today, right now and are unwilling to work towards anything. The future certainly belongs to the former and this book encapsulates the reason why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Make Footballers Read it, 10 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legacy (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting read. I read it from both a business & rugby fan perspective. A lot of the principles in this book that could be adapted into the commercial world are straightforward (although not necessarily evident in many businesse) - but seeing how a whole rugby fraternity has enaged in a common goal for the betterment of both individual, collective & national gains in an eye-opener.
Its refreshing to see how the All Blacks rugby set up has built on years of its tradition, taken an open view of the changing world, and still managed to sublimely combine the best of the amateur ethos and professional methods.
I suggest every football manager in England slips a copy into the kit bag of every player on his excessively expanding payroll who can read, and ask for their views. I think they'd have a hissy fit at having the sweep the changing rooms after an International at Wembley - but what a leveller it would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Concise book on a winning formula, 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legacy (Kindle Edition)
This is a no nonsense management book on how to lead a group or turn an under performing group. It is based on the primarily on the All Blacks being a recognisable high performing results achieving team.
But Kerr also extracts supporting arguments from a number of numerous popular leadership and management sources as not all have books about them the managing pressure was very insightful to me..
Some of his points maybe found by some a little too brief as the book is based on 15 principles over only 225 pages (but personally I read Richie McCaw's and Graham Henry's books straight after for supporting insight), though you get enough of an understanding to work with the principles in this book.
I don't feel you can't be inspired by reading this (or at the very least looking for Haka videos on the internet)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're leading big change, read this book, 29 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Legacy (Paperback)
I agree with everything Neil has said in his review.

Unusually for me, I couldn't put this book down and read it in 24 hours. By the end I was reeling from the effect of a book that is like a home-coming for leaders who lead for something inspiring and challenging beyond self and beyond profit.

It will be a timeless companion for those committed to creating a Legacy - simple ideas to grasp but not easy to live by, somehow both familiar but also new, and enormously affirming.

One of the most delightful aspects is the way it highlights the importance of heart, soul and humility. It's not called `Winning'. It's called `Legacy'.

So many leadership books go "down and in", helping people to achieve _their_ aims without seemingly a first thought for the wider picture beyond self or their organisation. This is a leadership book that instead comes "up and out", giving people a much bigger view of what their leadership might be like beyond self, beyond their organisation, beyond profit. And from a surprising direction - the super Alpha male environment of the world's top rugby team. What a brilliant mix.

Simply the best leadership book in the field and genuinely a fascinating read for anyone leading big change, whether you are interested in sport or not.

Alister
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews